Steemit Ultra marathon – Game two signup post

in #competition6 years ago

It’s on again. Steemit’s own ultra marathon is back. You have until Monday morning (NZ time) to register to play the game.

steemit-signup-post-logo.png

To register simply tell me in the comments that you want to play. Nothing could be simpler.

There is prize money up for grabs!

  • 1st place – 20SBD
  • 2nd place – 10SBD
  • 3rd place – 5SBD

Do you fancy grabbing a piece of that cash?

Here is how it works

Each day the players will tell me:

  • How fast they intend to run – a number from 1-15 (you can use decimal places if you like e.g. 5.5)
  • How many hours they intend to run for – a number from 1-2 (you can use a decimal for partial hours e.g. 1.5)
  • How many energy gels you will consume – a number from 0 – however many gels you have (whole numbers only)
  • Or, if you want to rest, how long you intend to rest (in hours) – a number from 1-2 (you can use a decimal for partial hours e.g. 1.5)

I input those values into the game engine and it determines how FAR along the course your choices will take you.

The first one across the finish line wins.

Anyone who does not give me their choices before the cutoff time (which will be specified on the post) will be classed as DNF (Did Not Finish) and will be cut from the game.

Simple right? But wait, there’s more…

The course for this race is based on a real ultra marathon course – the Wellington Urban Ultra. Each kilometre of the course is graded with a value from 1-15.

  • 1 = very steep and / or rough so you can only go slowly.
  • 15 = smooth flat running

If you chose a speed higher than the value set for the kilometre you will suffer health damage. The more health damage you suffer, the slower you will run on the next turn.
If you chose to rest, you will effectively be made to walk. You will only cover 3kms for the turn, but your health damage will be cut in half for each full hour that you rest.
E.g. if your health damage is 10 and you rest for 2 hours, the first hour cuts your damage I half (10 / 2 = 5). For the second full hour your health damage is cut in two e,g, (5 / 2 = 2.5).
If you run slower than the graded amount, your health will improve, slightly.

This game is all about managing your damage – just like in a real live ultra!

The grades are based on the terrain, the type of track and my own experience running the race.

If you want to win, a good idea is to do some research. Check Strava for a course profile, read blogs about the race and get a good feel for when it is good to run hard, and when it is good to take it easy.

2 hours is the maximum time you can have for each turn

For this round of the game you can EITHER run or rest, and you only get to have one entry per turn. You can’t split the time up like you could in Game one. (This will hopefully ensure I don’t make mistakes entering your numbers)

So if you think you have what it takes to out-think, out-plan and out-perform the rest on Steemit, then tell me in the comments below that you want to play, and then keep an eye out for the first round on Monday.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments below and I’ll do my best to answer them.


Check out my stories here on Steemit

Running Deer

Running Deer - part 1
Running Deer - How legends are born

Charlie Rabbit

Meet Charlie Rabbit
Charlie tides up
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse make music

Little Peppers Adventures

Runaway Rabbit and the hungry fox
Maybe and the land of purple rainbows – A Little Peppers adventure
How Pappa Pepper and Monster Truck the Pepper got their wild hogs - a Little Peppers Adeventure

Dark Angel Regiment of the Space Marines - Mission Files

First Squad Sniper Elite - Zaresith mission

Other stories

Stranded
The Lady Of The Lake


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

Watch out 'skymaiden', here I come.
you are older this time so I can catch you easier

ok you're in. Check the change in rules for this game. You can only run OR rest each turn. You can't do both.
We'll see how that affects the strategy ;-)

how about 'legionnaires march'? run 100 yards, walk a 100yards, cover 7.5 miles an hour without getting tired?
[you can change them into metric]

yeah I tend to go into that mode when I can't run any more. If I'm well rested and the body is working well, I should be fine. I just need to get past that first cutoff in under 3 hours.

I think I can do it ok. But it will depend on the weather a lot. I'm finding that I really struggle when it is hot. Which is a big surprise to me.

I want to enter as well :)
Super pumped that I can participate instead of spectate this time.

woohoo! You're in ;-)

Me.... I'm in.

Cool. Glad to have you on board ;-)

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

Looks fun, I'm in.

Glad you have you on board. ;-)

I’m in! 🤦‍♂️ . That just felt like the time I signed up for an Ironman :)

woohoo we have an ironman playing. This will be interesting ;-)

It’s been a few years :)

Count me in. This time I hope to avoid logs on the course lol

You're in. Make sure you check the rule changes for this game ;-)

Im ready for round two, I'm in

woohoo the champion returns to defend his crown!
Make sure you check the change of rules for this game.

I checked, Ill try my best

Why yes, yes you are ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66205.77
ETH 3304.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72