Are You New To Steemit? Do You Want More Followers? If So.. Read This

in #community8 years ago (edited)

interview-1018333_960_720.png


Recently, it seems my follower count goes up just about every time I check it, but I still remember how hard it was to acquire them in the beginning. When just starting out, I used to consider it very lucky if I was able to get even one person to follow me from a post I spent the entire day preparing.

I feel that the two main obstacles to gaining followers at the start of your journey, are low visibility, and people not knowing enough about your personality to decide whether to follow you.

I have seen a fair amount of 20 question style interviews posted recently, but those interviews are typically with members of the community that have already established quite a following.

Thanks to @papa-pepper's legendary post from a few days ago, I had the idea to give new members of the community an opportunity to introduce themselves properly. This should allow other users the chance to get to know our newest members a bit better, and figure out whether they would like to give them a follow.

Here's what I'm thinking.

  • The interviews will be conducted over a microphone, using voice. I feel that you can get to know the type of person someone is much quicker when you are able to hear their voice as opposed to merely seeing them type.

  • The interviews would be approximately 30 minutes, and revolve around a predetermined set of questions, with the rest of the conversation being improvised.

  • The aim would be to introduce at least one new member to the community per week, but I'm not against improving on that if there are enough willing participants.

  • All liquid rewards from any of the interviews would go to the interviewee.


If you're interested in being interviewed and gaining the opportunity to earn followers, friends and rewards, let me know in the comments or on steemit.chat at the same username.





Give this post a resteem to give more users the opportunity to get involved, and give me a follow if you are interested in being introduced to our newest members of the community. Have a great night, Steemians.

Sort:  

Good idea but 30 minutes long? They better be a very interesting person. I'd cut it to 5 or 10 minutes.

Nahhhh. I was actually thinking an hour at first. 30 minutes flies by in a conversation.

Probably best not to set a time really, as you're right. Depending on how interesting the person is, and the conversation, it could end up being a few hours. Lol.

I like the interview idea but I agree 30 minutes is a bit long. Yeah, a half hour conversation flies by when you're an active part of said conversation, but if you're just listening in, it could be a little tedious. I think a "speed dating" method of interview might work best, just giving 5-10 minutes to introduce oneself.

if you consider the fact it's a weekly post sure. Maybe multiple introductions. Still, it would be a bit rushed.

Nice idea, unfortunately my english is still poor and im not feel ready for an interview but i really think you have a good idea!!

Thanks. I think it could be great for bringing the community together.

I'm experienced at speaking to people that have English as a second language, so if you change your mind, don't hesitate to get in contact.

Of course , thank you very much!

I'd like to, but I like to remain anonymous, so I wouldn't want to use my actual voice.

That is why the typed interview is a better idea since more people would be able to participate and keep their cover I too gave it a second to think about how I sound in a potential interview.

Anyway's you can act out your voice for the interview if it's short at least.

Maybe a different approach where the main questions are answered in voice or the last one or the improv ones. Who knows, still not everyone has mics and most are shit quality so typing would be good. Still, voice is a good idea since it brings in another layer and I'm sure many funny moments can arise, plus it's an active form of communication and engagement.

I'm thinking both methods should be employed, the important thing is the format and the recognition. Also, it would be good to have a nice theme that doesn't repeat. Maybe get the new users to participate, help with the introduction post, something like that, maybe picture walks or something that shows the colors and the different worlds we live in.

Basically a pumped up introduction post :D with some recurring questions:

Why are you here? How did you get here? What do you like? Where do you go? Who are you?

Having that in typed version will save you the editing.

Now that I gave it some thought it would be better as a community venture.

More interviewers and more interviees we really should talk about that "guild" busniess.

I'm just musing around.

I would be willing to participate, although I think that 30 minutes might be either too much or not enough. We'll see. ;) Hit on the right questions and you won't be able to shut me up. ;) hehehe Unfortunately, not everyone has a "radio personality" and if the beginning of the interview does not almost immediately capture the listeners' attention, they are likely to bypass them rather than spend 30 minutes listening. You'll need a hook at the start, my friend, which will likely require editing the audio to put something very interesting at the start.

What questions would you ask? As a novice here (but a user of BBSes since the late 1980s and the Internet since the mid-1990s), I am not sure what sorts of questions would garner sufficient interest from Steemers (is that an acceptable alternative to Steemians?).

I think it is a great idea to come up with ways to help new members! I joined Fiverr last year but quickly realized that, short of an amazing advertising campaign (which I'm not good at), I would never earn a penny there. Established members crowd out all the new ones. I feel like the odds are somewhat better here, especially if someone "big" latches onto one of my messages for some reason, but there is room for improvement - and help! I try to spend some time each day curating, too, to encourage and give feedback to help others. I've noticed that the idea of curating earnings is sweeter than the reality - I think many people don't bother to read other people's comments on a message, let alone upvote. Have you noticed this as well, or is this just the mistaken observation of a n00b? :)

I have to wonder how you'll keep up with the volume. An alternative to recording voices would be text messages, but you already know that.

You've already been given two reasons why not everyone would want to do an interview: ESL and anonymity. I can add to that list shyness, performance anxiety, social anxiety disorder, fear of failure, stuttering, and stage fright, as well as those who don't use English at all (I'm an American in Indonesian, so you can give me a bilingual interview if you like). There are other reasons as well, mostly psychological. This is not to discourage you but to prepare you so you can figure out ways to help all the people out there who fit into categories like the above.

I'm willing to help you, if you like, although I don't know how much use I'll be. I'm an educator, armchair psychologist, and a bunch of other things, and I'd like this to be a great place (not like some other socmed sites that are full of vitriol and lies).

I certainly wish you success!

Well said, Cheers!

Following :)

Hit on the right questions and you won't be able to shut me up.

I definitely share this trait.:D

I am not really new, but I am willing to be interviewed.
I am probably in the 10% older users of Steemit (67 years old).

This sounds very nice maybe I could participate I am interested in making more followers

Hi, I find this rather interesting as I am new to Steemit! It can be disheartening when you spend a few days preparing a post only to find a handful of people liking it. If you have any suggestions for me, I would really appreciate it.

Comment on more posts, and make more posts for yourself. You only have one post. You need more in order for people to follow you. Be prolific.

Welcome to the platform :)

So yeah make yourself cozy, don't get into arguments, if you don't want problems. Make sure you produce good and uplifting content or at least try your best in whatever field you are in.

Join the chat, find your interests and support the people https://steemit.chat

Markdown is used for formatting, I can answer any questions you have. Or go to the Welcome page for some selected posts.

I will tell you where I like to be :D, normally I'm all over the place but I do return to some places like @krnel (who's blog I would like to read fully, can't seem to be getting there :D ) for some political/scientific/philosophical content
Also, you can visit friendly blogs like @kus-knee (since he provides incentives for comments) and is an awesome person.
There are also other great personalities here, I can't follow everything after all @aksinya if you are into art, many great writers, poets, musicians, dunno what you like :)

anyways feel free to ask away :) I for one have dealt with the same problems

Good initiative, startups need help I feel like, I for one spent months befoe I started posting then I had to face the harsh reality too, but I pulled out a few all-nighters and here I am 150 followers :D Yay :) , I would say go conversing on good posts and good topics, be cool with people and they will love you :)

Don't feel down, 20 people saw your post that at least pays out the invested time, I can't read now :D but will check it tomorrow. some suggestions, get into conversations as stated by @mctiller and save the best for last in a way, my first post made close to nothing but it taught me the value of hard work plus the views I got at least gave me hope at least somebody saw it. Even if no one did the fact that I stood and wrote something was rewarding in it's own right. And on top of that I had 2 months of reading before that :D

I'm trailing off so here is a link if you want to see 80% of the votes are from people who's posts I visited and asked for help and the post promotion chat. I'm not sure if I knew of it back then now that I think about it.

How to be a Master>Play :) Train and Think and repeat :D now I have 12 posts :D and still am missing on the response I would like to receive for the time spent at least. :D

Cheers! Welcome! Good Luck!

It's called the STEEM-EFFECT and it's what happens when you go viral on STEEM. It lasts a whole hell of a lot longer than 15 minutes no?

Now go blog about that, because once you have the momentum of the STEEM-EFFECT on top of your social media rant, then you are UNSTOPPABLE!

NOW GO MY CHILD STEEM LIKE THE ...

and just like that another bot has latched (on to you)

Good initiative, startups need help I feel like, I for one spent months befoe I started posting then I had to face the harsh reality too, but I pulled out a few all-nighters and here I am 150 followers :D Yay :) , I would say go conversing on good posts and good topics, be cool with people and they will love you :)

I feel like there is a greater need for the community and groups, more like conversations to be held, groups is one thing, active participation is another.

I for one have so much followers I can't get anywhere :D

And I'm not sure how much of my followers see my posts or are recurring in my themes/topics. Sure I can't post every day and find it better to comment away and read interesting topics, but still. At a certain point, it just becomes numbers :D, but still great idea

btw is there a chat room for minnowsunit lol minnowsunite for instance or something along those lines <i'm not that acquainted with the steemit chat.

Maybe we can gather the conscripts for the minnow unit :D to combat the whale splash :D we will need around over 9000 :D

Nice idea, I hope you are able to really give some good exposure to new users.

Well that's the plan.. As well as bringing the community closer together.

If I can earn more exposure for myself in the process, then it's a win, win, win situation.

Thanks for the comment.

Putting others first, is always the best way to make a name for your self. Who doesn't enjoy being around someone who fights to help every day? :D

sounds like fun I might do it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78