Discovering the Value of New Passions with Travelgirl

in #community6 years ago

travelgirl_thumbnail.png

Hi Everyone,


It’s Travelgirl here. I started Steemit on the last day of June 2017 and have been sharing my content every day since then. Its been a really great journey and stumbling onto Steemit was one of the best thing that happened in 2017. I was introduced to cryptocurrency by my other half but I never got to understand all the different coins out there. As I was doing some reading, I read that there was a blogging platform where you can earn a type of crypto - ie Steem.

 

travelgirl.jpg

 

This picture has been my Steemit photo since the beginning.


 

I was never great with writing so I wasn’t sure if it was right for me. I was ‘lurking’ the platform for 2 weeks while my account was getting created and realised that there were so many talents out there. I got nervous thinking I won’t be able to do anything near as good as some of the articles on the platform but I thought I had to give it a go. The reason why I gave it a go was that I had nothing to loose. I was never good at investing. So this is a way to try it without taking something from my pocket. I wrote my first introduction post but the feedback wasn’t as great as what I expected. I continued sharing what I thought was good content and what I enjoyed most and by the 1st week, I had some feedback with some votes. I actually had a sense of achievement because somebody out there was actually reading my work, they enjoyed it and gave me feedback. This has continued to give me the drive to keep sharing my work on this platform until today. From my Steemit name, you would have realised I love to travel so my initial sharing was mainly about my travel adventures. As I started getting comfortable on the platform, I shared about my food hunts, life, family and so on.

 

colour.jpg

 

Steemit is not just a blogging platform but also a community. I was very fortunate to be part of different projects including OCD, Dlive, Fundition, Dpet and now Sndbox. In the last 6-9 months, the amount of change on the platform have changed the way many people use Steemit. When I first started, I focused purely on writing but now, I can extend my content creation to videos, music and so on. I am not restricted anymore. Because of these new DApps, I realised that I am confident in front of the camera and can be myself when making video content which I never thought I could do.

 

fundition.jpg

IMG_6438 copy.jpg

拉麺しるし @ Hamamatsu, Japan (6).jpg

 

Apart from the way I use Steemit have changed over the past year, I was very fortunate to make many friends from around the world. This was something I didn’t expect and is something that I value a lot. As I have mentioned above, I am never great at writing so probably this is one of the longest post I’ve written in a very long time (excluding my travel blogs).

In the next few months, I look forward to enhancing my existing skills to create better content for Steemit. Although I am comfortable with what I am doing at the moment, I want to strive for higher and better. I want to learn and see what can improve. This something that I am continuing to achieve while I am in Sndbox and I hope in the next few months, I am able to do better. From the conversations with some of the Sndbox members and also working with many of them during summer camp, there are a lot of talented and passionate people on the platform and I am sure I can learn something from each of them. I am also hoping to people can learn something from me. I know it does sound weird but that will help me learn about myself. It could be giving people courage to try something out of their comfort zone like making a short video about themselves or just out shopping as I know people are not keen to be looking at themselves on screen.

 

That's it for now. Thanks for reading!


 

Travelgirl


This post was authored by @travelgirl, a member of the sndbox incubator. Learn more, follow @travelgirl or begin a conversation in the comment section below.


Footer_travelgirl.png


Empower artists, writers, musicians, non-profits and community initiatives - delegate Steem Power to @sndbox (using the links below) or follow our curation trail. Learn more about Sndbox - watch our introduction, here.

arrow-01.png
arrow-02.png
arrow-03.png
arrow-04.png
arrow-05.png
arrow-06.png
arrow-07.png
100
250
500
1k
2k
5k
10k
Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and our magazine The Creative Crypto / @creativecrypto

---

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sndbox.blog/discovering-the-value-of-new-passions-with-travelgirl/
Sort:  

Your experience is similar to that of many of us around here, @travelgirl . We entered this platform without having more knowledge of what it was, what we could do and especially what we could achieve. For some, the path has been made easier than for others, but we must not give up or give up. You are the sign that with perseverance and good work, you can go far. From what you have said, diversifying your work has brought you very pleasant experiences. That's good. @sndbox and its projects has become a good showcase to advertise people and their work. I wish you all the success in the world!

thank you so much for your comment. see you around :)

Good job with sticking with the platform, the beginning is tough for most of us. I think that will soon change for the better.

yes, in the beginning, it was the hardest but if you have a vision and not give up, it may eventually work out.

We all (well many me included) seem to have arrived at Steemit not really knowing what it was, For me I didn't even know such a thing COULD exist, and then happily found ourselves in a great new supportive world of others online. I'm glad you came.

I'm always amazed by the travel bloggers as I love to travel but for me I have to be in one place for months so it's incredible how many places such travelers can go in a year! And it allows us to go along in the comfort of our homes, so glad we have another to follow who allows us that pleasure.

Thats what i like about Steemit. there are an enormous about of talent and people have different strengths and we can learn from each other. Thanks for coming by :)

Hi @sndbox!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.485 which ranks you at #152 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 373 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

INSPIRATIONAL POST LOVED IT HOPING TO SEE MORE
GUYSSS DO FOLLOW ME TO GET AMAMZING FOOD BENEFITS I AM A FOOD BLOGGER AND GET UNKNOWN FACTS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84