THIS IS NOT WHAT I ASKED FOR!

in #community6 years ago

Seriously... a watermelon?


There we were, hanging out with @shalomacres. While their garden overall may not be doing that well, some plants are still producing rather well. I guess you wouldn't think about a watermelon doing well during a time of drought, when there is very little water, but still...

ABOVE AND BEYOND WHAT I ASKED FOR

While we were enjoying some time together, @shalomacres mentioned the great variety of watermelon that they grow. Supposedly, it was a beautiful orange on the inside. Always one to enjoy a new garden crop, I requested that when harvest time came, they save us a few seeds so that we could try growing them too. That's really all that I wanted.

As things would have it, @shalomacres suggested that we just take a whole watermelon home with us. That way, we'd have plenty of seeds for next year. Not being one to stiff a giver by preventing them from giving a gift, we humbly accepted this wonderful gift.

Sure enough, this variety is a wondrous orange on the inside. Moreover, it looks like it is full of seeds that we can save and plant next year! Oh, I forgot to mention that it tasted amazing! Absolutely wonderful and delicious!

Today was the perfect day to enjoy the watermelon, since we decided to enjoy a nice picnic outside with some little beef tacos. Those @little-peppers raced through the tacos to get to that interesting orange watermelon, which was our dessert!

Thanks so much for your generosity @shalomacres, and thanks to steemit for introducing us to one another!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-watermelon

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

That’s the first of an organ he watermelon that I’ve seen ! I usually prefer cantaloupe

I've had the orange watermelon before. To me it tasted exactly the same as the normal pink watermelon but it looked scary....your mind can play tricks on you...lol

hi,
seen orange water melon for the first time.
Its always red from inside. Looks like orange is stuffed in water melon shell..:-)
thanks for sharing

Looks like orange is stuffed in water melon shell..:-)

LOL! I like that!

Hi,

Water melons are so delicious.

In my province we are big consumers of watermelon, without thier I must admit that never saw a watermelon equal to that color.
Many thanks dear friend @ papa-pepper for showing us
I wish you a prosperous week

Wow!!!
It's so big and fresh, and the orange, first time to see this breed... Am only trying to imagine what it will taste like...
@papa-pepper, this is really nice.. Thanks for always sharing...

It tasted sooooo good! We can't wait to grow our own!

Hmmmmm, it's really great to know...

Very cool! All around. What an awesome edition you'll have in your garden next year 🍉🍉🍉

Nice place to eat.

Pretty cool. That looks like one happy bunch right there. I've never seen a watermelon quite like that before. Definite score. Great addition to add to next year's garden.

Are you still up for a bit?

I don't think I have seen an orange watermelon before, I've seen yellow, but never orange. Watermelon is probably my wifes favorite fruit. We ended up with a bad on the other day. It actually popped sitting on the kitchen counter. I got a little video of it and some pics for a post when I get time.
One questions though, the hot sauce was for the tacos and not the watermelon, right? lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76