Cross Promoting Steemit on Facebook

in #community6 years ago

I did it.

I've been spending so much time traveling between client accounts on the social media circuit - (and nurturing my own while I was there) - that I decided to create a Facebook Group called

Meredith Loughran blogs on Steemit

SteemMate

Partly inspired by @timcliff's idea for a Steem Social Media Blast Day, I thought, "Facebook is still a necessary evil simply because of the sheer amount of people who congregate on that platform."

Why should an investor consider STEEM for their portfolio? And how is this little group going to help?

If you know me at all then you know that I love online communities.

COMMUNITIES being the operative word.

  • Will an investor throw money at a project if NO ONE knows or talks about it? Probably not.
  • Will an investor throw money at a thriving community who loves a platform so much they branch out to create fun, integrated apps? More than likely!

I think we have enough people that when we combine our voices, we will create an echo so glorious that it will resonate with anybody within earshot.

So about this Facebook thing...


image source

SteemMate intro

SteemMate is a Facebook Group created to support new and active Steemit members across multiple platforms and grow our social media communities.

Non-Steemians are welcome too! Let us show you that it's community-based and the crypto part of it isn't as scary as it sounds.

Meh! If you can't beat 'em, JOIN 'EM.
Then be all like stealth mode and bring 'em in.

image source

Obviously, if you are reading this, you are probably active on on Steemit already.

Yes! I would love it if you joined the Facebook group (the more the merrier!), but a large part of this project is to onboard new people; the ones who think words like crypto, blockchain, and digital wallets are scary, unfathomable concepts.

That being said, I would love to have some community-oriented people who can jump in and help with the group.
Invite your non-crypto friends to start a dialogue and get a feel for this amazing community.

I can't guarantee it will work, but I can actively participate and try.

What would you like to see in an ultimate FB Group?

Share your ideas. The group is very sparse right now. It needs people and lots more links for tools and cool Steemit apps. And if you want to help out in the group, please let me know!

See you there!


all images are my own unless otherwise cited



Sort:  

How's this group going so far? I've heard around Discord that fb are shadowbanning steem posts :S

I am in a small UK one which members post their links in and it all works fine. Don't know if it depends on the user or group

I wonder if it might be keywords or hashtags too?

Could be, I have never seen anyone use hashtags in that group before

I meant, when I try to promote anything related to Steemit, crypto or blockchain on my personal feed, it's like NO ONE responds, which makes me think they don't ever see them - or I could be paranoid and nobody loves me. LOL

Hahahaha!! Ah, now I get you. There's a thing, they do weight their algorithm so it wouldn't surprise me at all if they just hid it deep down

I figure it's probably going to be slow going to start, just from the perspective of getting new members to the group, especially since there are already quite a few groups already.

I've heard about FB shadowbanning Steem posts. It makes me wonder... It seems that whenever I post crypto and Steemit topics it's crickets. Anything else gets traffic and interaction.

Hi @merej99 this is an amazing idea to flourish the growth of social circle in an effective yet in a very simple way. This is so true that FB is still important for many communities and people are attached to it, we should bring them all to this platform #steemit.
PS: It would be more easy for me if you put the link of the group here :)

Stay blessed and have a good day :)

Hi @salmanbukhari54
Here's the link to the group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/2251489391804532
Hope to see you there! I've posted a DAILY POST thread to share or curate your favorites from around Steemit.

So kind of you, I have submitted all those questions too to join the group :)

Thank you for joining the group! I'm also following you on Steemit now too :)

Let's make the steemit a place worth living for all through mutual efforts, Cheers Meredith :)

Hi @merej99! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, computing UserAuthority for all accounts on Steem. Starting from the witnesses, UA propagates from user to user based on its followers until equilibirum is reached. We are currently in test modus upvoting quality contributions with a high UA value (UA_author + UA_post)! Your UA_post value is 9.082.

That's really cool! I hope that's a 9.082 out of a possible 10 score! :D

Haha! Almost! ;-)
And you are partially correct even, the highest UA value for an author (an account) is indeed 10.00 but UA_Post takes into account all the Post voters' UA values (instead of SP).

Good effort...

I don't get it, but it seems like it almost takes an A-Bomb to move anyone over...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Right!? I'm working on a short series of blog posts on Medium to try and get people excited about Steemit. Seriously, with DTube, we should be getting the YouTubers. With DLive, we should be getting all the Periscope and FBLive people. Steepshot caters to the Instagram folks... I don't get it.

I've been a member here for 2 years and still find those words scary :)

I think it was maybe six months in with Steemit when those words weren't so scary. I kind of refer to it as my in-betweeny phase; where I was still in the FB world but I had a solid foot in the door with this blockchain stuff. LOL There's still so much to learn! The rabbit hole is deep.

I think I'm a lot dimmer than you, these words are scary and still are after years, i do know more about them but not everything but I'm slowly getting there :)

Just now remembered to resteem this...

Yep..i just used a cat meme to describe how i felt towards myself. lol. Keep up the good work Mer.

I'm going at it like... MEOW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99