The Importance of Community (yes, even (especially?) for anarchists)

in #community7 years ago (edited)

Just a brief talk on tribe-building, self-sufficiency, and private communities/voluntary collectives as a threat to the to the state.

Join me as I talk permaculture, self-defense, unschooling, and more.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Indeed, the only way to make community a voluntary and truly enjoyable affair, devoid of all constraints imposed by dependence is to make each member an independent and self-sufficient individual; and the only way to make the individual a strong and independent self-sufficient entity, is to ensure that the community is an enjoyable, voluntary and autonomous affair, where all the different members that compose it are allowed to interact freely.

As for my community, as a foreigner working as a farme in rural Nagano prefecture, it's taking time to build. However, other young farmers in the area around me (also practising organic agriculture), former hippies, shiatsu practitioners, chefs, various escapees from city life, incense salesmen and the like are currently the people I meet in my spare time and with whom I have most in common. Once I have land and a house, and am producing as a farmer (organic vegetables, herbs - culinary and medicinal - fruit, honey and grains) the next step will be to extend outwards, contacting other voluntaryists from further afield in Japan, and creating a network of free-flowing ideas, food and freedom!

This is very, very exciting to me. I'm inspired every time I think of it man.

Well said, @kafkanarchy84!

Just an off-topic question: Have you met James Corbett @corbettreport? He also lives in Japan, but I don't know how far away you are... Just curious!

Peace

I actually just interviewed James a few weeks ago! It's here on this blog, too, somewhere down there.

I've seen it! Great! Also subscribed to your youtube channel :)

What a great post. I share in your approach in life. Would love a video on advice for building that community of like minded people in small towns. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and following

Enough farm land will shelter several familys from the city and I imagine there are plenty of people in the city that would make that switch. I would farm for shelter and food in a second given the right circumstance. Better hurry though the powers are working hard on forcing people off of ag land and into the metroplace. Its the next big battle.

Well said, and yeah, I agree. The "powers that be" don't like their slaves being connected to the land and growing their own food.

Great post as per usual!

I think one of the most powerful things a person can do is start to grow their own food. Since we started growing our garden the amount of interest in gardening from our neighbors has gone parabolic. Last year it was us and our direct neighbor who grew vegetables. We gave some of the excess harvest to people in our neighborhood. This year there is 20 of us who are growing gardens of various sizes. All of the younger kids are involved and really enjoy it. We are going to have a big block party later in the summer and all put some of our harvest towards the meal.

I think maybe a garden is a good representation of community. Takes time and starts small but grows over time and is really rewarding.

Wise words! Have you been to Anarchapulco? Please come!

I've heard great things about Anarchapulco. Seems like an awesome community.

I would love to. It has been a goal of mine for a couple years now.

These days individualism is overrated. We are social creatures with predator characteristics. So what are we doing wrong nowadays? We are letting every single predator character to shine and do nothing to stop them! Communities are more then important, not racial, social, or any other rule based communities, but normal human feelings based. Internet is great thing, social media too, but they are roadblock for real human interaction. One hug can substitute million words. We can fight against machine over internet, but we will never totally succeed if we don't act within "real world" community.

Without individuals, though, there can be no community. The individual is the primary thing. I think the net does definitely sever and harm human connection in some ways, but in some ways, it is almost a miracle. It all depends upon how the individual uses it.

agree. we can't overlook the smallest minority in the community --- the individual.

@sara21, here on Steemit we usually try to read and comment on other users' posts, and not just ask for votes.

One hug can substitute million words.

Well said.

Thank you for the insight ,thats a good video!!!Yah its very true the internet is a great platform to have a community,and your tribe.BIG up to independent away from state grip.

Hey @kafkanarchy84! I just came across your account randomly. Just in the last year I have started "waking up" and you are right- it can make you become very skeptical and disempowered. I have begun my journey on the path to self-sufficiency and it's a little scary and there is a lot for me to learn. I'm looking forward to reading/hearing more from you. Upvoted, resteemed and followed.

Cheers, @adam.angel. Glad to know ya! Followed back and looking forward to being connected on here.

Oh wow thanks! I've been commenting here and there on Steemit but haven't built up to actually getting an intro post out yet! Soon hopefully though!

Cool. Let me know when it's out. I'll be glad to upvote it.

Thank you, I will!

love me some voluntary collectives 👍 apprec this video

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48