You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance of Community (yes, even (especially?) for anarchists)

in #community7 years ago

Indeed, the only way to make community a voluntary and truly enjoyable affair, devoid of all constraints imposed by dependence is to make each member an independent and self-sufficient individual; and the only way to make the individual a strong and independent self-sufficient entity, is to ensure that the community is an enjoyable, voluntary and autonomous affair, where all the different members that compose it are allowed to interact freely.

As for my community, as a foreigner working as a farme in rural Nagano prefecture, it's taking time to build. However, other young farmers in the area around me (also practising organic agriculture), former hippies, shiatsu practitioners, chefs, various escapees from city life, incense salesmen and the like are currently the people I meet in my spare time and with whom I have most in common. Once I have land and a house, and am producing as a farmer (organic vegetables, herbs - culinary and medicinal - fruit, honey and grains) the next step will be to extend outwards, contacting other voluntaryists from further afield in Japan, and creating a network of free-flowing ideas, food and freedom!

Sort:  

This is very, very exciting to me. I'm inspired every time I think of it man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64807.94
ETH 3507.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37