Rewarding Hardwork and Excellence Amongst School Children Through Steem Powered Notebooks And Writing Materials: 3rd Phase of POHI Project

in #community6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180330_191037_603.JPG
Yesterday was a turning point for pupils and staff of Government primary school, Ikot Ese, Southern Nigeria, as myself and @samuelwealth took out time admist all challenges to reward pupils who emerged 1st, 2nd and 3rd positions in their respective classes as they close for the term.

Even if I do not have enough, I am doing what I need to do. I want to know what I can do for someone. -@sochul

The Project

This is the third phase of the project I started with @lordjames in the Northern part of Nigeria named, "PRODUTS OF HELP INITIATIVE" (POHI), a steem powered project that focuses on providing educational support to school children and students in the rural and forgotten corners of Nigeria.

So far

So far we have successfully extended this project to the Southern part of Nigeria after my long journey back to the South. You can read about the first phase here where Ishaq, a 12 year old boy who lost his dad was taken off the street to be sponsored and trained as a tailor. And the second phase here where over 30 notebooks were distributed to school children. With continuous support from the Steemit platform, I hope to extend this project to other parts of the country.
IMG_20180330_203333_492.JPG
A cross section of pupils across all the classes who came Top of their class and their teachers

Emotions welled up in my heart yesterday, as myself and @samuelwealth presented gifts to kids between the ages of 2-12 who came top of their classes from primary 1 to 6 and the preparatory class inclusive. I awarded them with exercise books while @samuelwealth presented writing materials to them.
DSC_1461.JPG
@samuelwealth and myself giving off a steem smile

Before visiting the school yesterday, I faced many challenges that naturally would have been enough for me to give up but I weathered through it all. From the challenge with the fall of SBD and Steem, to that of transportation from town to the village, to that of a clement weather, the rain threatened our movement. But touching children's lives was a greater cause.
DSC_1383.JPG
We arrived admist the bad weather

I'm glad we overcame all of these, putting smiles on the faces of these children was paramount, it became my internal drive.

Where Inspiration Came From

I've been in tears since yesterday, tears of joy. You know why? I'll tell you.....

This is it; there was a time I wanted doing something like this but could not, because of lack of funds. I was frustrated, and all efforts to source for funds ended in futility.

It was during my National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) days, that's about one year ago at a remote village in Delta State, Southern Nigeria. I had a personal CDS (Community Development Service) project I wanted to execute but could not, because I had no financial support. All efforts to get one or two proved abortive. Some days, I would wake up and start crying because nobody cared about the kids, the school children there were suffering, they're still suffering, they lack access to many educational facilities and materials that would enhance their learning process as well as make their educational experience an enjoyable one.
Being able to do something similar now through steem and from my little earnings on Steemit, gives me joy, nothing but joy!

You have no idea how happy I've been from being able to touch the lives of young children. This feeling is ethereal. All thanks to you and steemit, yes, you reading this post.

DSC_1418.JPG
_
The school headmaster told me yesterday that this was the first time ever the pupils were receiving gift prizes on their closing day and that he was particularly impressed that it wasn't coming from a government official or a politician but from a young person.
_

I'm Equally Sad

Why am I sad?
I also felt sad because of what I saw yesterday. Some of these children do not have footwears, they walk long distance covering some kilometers to and fro school bare footed. After school closure in the afternoon, they trek back home from school, getting their feet almost burnt from the scorching heat that emanates from the tarred road.
DSC_1470.JPG
I was left emotionally shattered when she told me that she had to borrow this uniform to wear

Also, many of them do not have school uniforms, they wear rags and something else to school. One of them told me that the uniform she wore yesterday was a borrowed one and that the owner would get it back from her (how heartbreaking). Some are putting on extremely worn-out uniforms with holes and patches. While interacting with them and their teachers, I found out that many of them don't have parents, some are orphans.

I am sad because there's nothing beautiful in seeing little children suffer.

I am sad because I want to do more as soon as possible but do not have sufficient resources.
DSC_1467.JPG
you may think they're not students of the same school, they are! But they're wearing something else as school uniforms

I was able to select just four kids yesterday to sponsor the sewing of new school uniforms for them at the cost of N1500 each in Nigerian naira, making it a total of N6000 which is equivalent to 12 SBDS at the current market value.

I am sad because I wish I could afford 20 pairs of new school sandals to 20 pupils who are desperately in need of it to save their feet from torture and pain. A pair of new school sandals is N2000 X 20 = N40,000 which is equivalent to 80 SBDS.

Intelligent Kids, Victims of Circumstance

After addressing the entire school, I found out that these kids are intelligent and very sound. I encouraged them to keep on working hard and to take their studies seriously. As for those who didn't perform well, I told them to work harder to improve by next term.
DSC_1453.JPG

These kids have dreams just like us, nothing is wrong with them, they are only victims of circumstance, some of them have gone through unprintable things that can never be imagined. I spent one week planning on how I'll visit this particular school to meet with the pupils, I had spoke with the head teacher about the school and the enormous challenges the pupils are facing. I had move from one school to another in rural communities making enquiries about their challenges, there's so much to be done!
DSC_1442.JPG
Beautiful one

These children are future Steemians, who would mount the steem blockchain someday and create value like us. These are future doctors, lawyers, fashion designers, teachers, bankers, programmers, developers, pastors, CEOs etc.

They're in the formative stage of their lives and they deserve the best.

DSC_1444.JPG
future Steemians

Promoting Steemit

DSC_1436.JPG
introducing steemit to the teachers and pupils

While asked by the headmaster to address the school, I seized the opportunity to tell them, both the pupils and teachers about Steemit. Though the kids didn't really get it but the teachers did and one of them indicated deep interest in joining, that he followed us up to ensure that he got further details on it.
DSC_1476.JPG
with the teacher who showed keen interest in joining Steemit

DSC_1481.JPG
a steemit conscious teacher will not leave you an inch

There was a time I was ashamed of myself, that I could not do any of these, steemit came and changed everything. I will not give up, there's more to be done.
DSC_1484.JPG
chatting the way forward

Little by little, we will get there. We don't have to wait for the government any longer. But I cannot do all of these alone, I need energy, I need your support. I need your support in whatever means that it can be offered, for the children. The children needs you to become their energy!

More Photos

DSC_1471.JPG
discusing the cost of sewing uniform for a pupil with one of the teachers

DSC_1468.JPG
He's intelligent but has no shoes

DSC_1455.JPG
@samuelwealth with the kids

DSC_1463.JPG
while getting their report cards for the term while others are playing

DSC_1394.JPG
emerging giants of their class

DSC_1447.JPG
Appreciation speech from the headmaster to us

Appreciation

I wouldn't have been able to push this project this far without the support I got from some persons and without the inspiration I drew from others directly or indirectly. These people made me to keep on holding on until all that was left was just to hold on.

They have become my energy, in no particular order!

@lordjames, the very first person I discussed this project with and he abandoned everything just to give me a ladder to climb on

@mitneb, a woman who commits her life and time on Steemit towards supporting and promoting non-native speakers and writers of English language. She personally promised to send half of the prize of a contest she won to support this project. She has been resteeming and featuring all the posts about this project in her curation trail weekly reports, and her prayers has always been that this project finds favor. Thank you

@jerrybanfield and @gmichelbkk, for the surprise 12 Steem they sent me, this came at a time I needed it most, at a time I had bandwidth issues and needed to power up to keep up with this project updates. Thank you

@futurethinker and the promo-mentors for their selfless contributions to this platform. You give time, attention and support. Thank you

@snrm for his constant support, check ups and ideas on discord on how to take this project to the next level. Thank you

@ackza for your support and beautiful ideas through your previous comments on this project, it was noted and we hope to get there someday soonest.

@cryptolick for resteeming the post about this project for greater visibility, thank you

@surfyogi your works keep inspiring nations, myself inclusive. Your givings and philanthropic nature inspires me. Thank you

@emekasegun the token you sent went a long way, thank you

@sndbox-alpha and @sndbox, each time I submitted posts about this project for curation you showed love and support. Thank you for all your works towards discovering undervalued contents

@khaleelkazi and @damarth, thank you for your undeserved love and support. And for teaching me how to be a ground soldier

@Surpassinggoogle you made me to understand that there's a whale also inside of me, you've inspired me in so many ways through your several innovations on the steem blockchain

@ejemai thank you for shining the light in Nigeria through Stach, you unconsciously gave me the permission to do same

@samstickkz, I discovered Steemit on your facebook timeline, thank you for being a pathfinder

@stephenkendal for all the beautiful works you do towards promoting steemit, I say thank you. I still remember how I felt the first day you resteemed my post, thank you

@samuelwealth, this project wouldn't have been more successful without your participation and support. Thank you also for your ideas and time

@joyce-okpobo for always buying chilled Kunu for me and @lordjames to survive heat while running this project at Northern Nigeria, thank you, you're amazing

@sochul thank you for your love and support. Sometimes, I sleep and wake up with your words. You're inspiring

@tarazkp I saw what you did to people's lives on Steemit through your SP delegation giveaway, even though I wasn't one of the beneficiaries but I learnt through you how to give and touch lives on a different dimension, thank you. You're great

@sircork and @kofpato, thank you so much for all the great and beautiful works you've been doing alongside with your team to help school children. You inspired me too. Indeed, dreams do come true

Thank you @ned and @dan, without giving us a platform as beautiful as steemit, all these wouldn't have come to limelight. Thank you!

Sort:  

@joshuaetim, keep on making Steem/Steemit awesome, and the world a better place to live in. Resteemed, followed, upvoted, & sent 0.4 SBD to @minnowbooster to upvote this post for you. It's people like you that help to provide true value to our global community. I will be adding your handle to an account that periodically upvotes that user's posts automatically.

Thank you much sir. Thats so kind of you

Thank you so much @thelordsharvest, I am extremely grateful for this act of kindness and support. I appreciate, this is a big encouragement coming from you

I loved reading this update, @joshuaetim! These pictures say it all!

I just checked my wallet, and my prize winnings were there, so I transferred my donation of 50 STEEM to you for your ministry to the kids. It's a little more than 50% of the winnings because the price dropped, but I had it in my mind to give you at least 50. I know you will do good with it, and I am looking forward to continuing supporting POHI with future winnings as they happen.

Cheers!

Thank you so much @mitneb, I don't know how to thank you enough, this will go a long way, God bless you.

@joshuaetim, you are most welcome! The prize for the game increased with the participation of many people, so there were actually many people involved with creating this gift. My own payment into the game was substantial, but I still came away with a little profit over my investment. The cool thing was being able to pass the bulk of the profit on to you where you will be able to multiply the impact across many lives. I live in a wealthy land full of opportunity, and Steemit has allowed me to put some of that wealth directly into your hands for distribution and to help your work there grow. I love the fact that we can bypass all of the middlemen that take their cut, and "do business" across the world on our own.

I believe in you, in your heart and in your passion to help others in great need. I love that you are joining and teaming up with like-minded people in your region to be of help and encouragement to one another as you are "boots on the ground" bringing your dream to reality.

I look forward to seeing how you are able to implement some of the great ideas people are suggesting, and watching these kids grow up to be productive, visionary and dynamic contributors to bring about growth, health and prosperity to more people there.

Cheers!

If I never knew how to love, I would have learn all I need to know about love from this great community - Steemit. 50 Steem is way bigger than what we have ever expected but this means that you believe in us, thank you for this and we promised to make sure every inch of it goes a long way in putting a smile on someone's face. Thank you @mitneb

Thanks, @lordjames, for this sweet comment! I do believe in you, and I'll be looking for more opportunities to help you guys!
Cheers!

Thank you so much at @mitneb for your kind gesture.
More power to your elbow

Another beautiful update @joshuaetim, you're doing a great thing and I love to see the progress on your mission. The kids seem really happy that you're there and I hope that teacher gets more involved on steemit - it would be a great idea for him to start a "class page" for his class (or the whole school) and post lessons and interactions with the students and talk about the fundraising they would need to expand the school and provide the proper materials to all the children. Hopefully, we can see something like that from him! Keep up the good work!

Thank you @khaleelkazi for your supports on this. And this great idea, if effected will go a long way in building the school to standard. I hope @joshuaetim will get your suggestion to the teacher involve and hopefully, we can see something come out of it. Thank you

You've shared a detailed and wise idea in the above comment @khaleelkazi, thank you so much. I'll do well to pass this to the teacher when next I meet or contact him.

Thank you for your support and beautiful idea. This means a lot to me.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 39 SBD worth and should receive 161 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you @trufflepig for finding this post worthy as well as enlisting it on your list. I appreciate

This is the coolest thing I'v seen or read this month.

These kids have dreams just like us, nothing is wrong with them, they are only victims of circumstance, some of them have gone through unprintable things that can never be imagined.

My heart goes out to all the kids who could do better at life if they were given a chance. God reward bruther

Amen. Thank you @abeludotu, I appreciate

@joshuaetim wow, thanks for this opportunity to be a part your project. And am sure the community will partake of #steemiteducational project you carried upon you shoulder, to promote steemit and reward the community....
Brotherly keep up the good work....

Thank you so much for being there for the kids, I really appreciate.

Just had to take time to read your post again and again. A big thumb up to you @joshuaetim. Your work will not go unrewarded. You have given hope to the hopeless and put a smile on the faces of those little stars. Believe me,you just invested in potential CEOs.
I love this initiative. I hope to meet you one of these days

Thank you so much @sammynathaniels for the beautiful comment and encouragement. I'll look forward to meeting you someday too. And you can equally be part of this

The emotions are obvious on your face; next time the Bank of Attat would gladly support this. Do let us know when next your doing this.

Alright, I will definitely. The emotions were undeniable. Thank you so much @joshuaattat for your pledged support through "Bank of Attat". I appreciate

I'm really glad and proud of this. I felt tears when I read about those children without shoes and fitting uniforms. I remember the stories very well for I have grown alongside many of such children in my days in school. Keep doing the good work over there in the south, together we will move mountains one inch at a time.

Anyone with compassion would be moved reading about these kids. Some of us have no idea what if feels like to walk bare footed to school or wear torn uniforms.

Thank you so much @lordjames for your constant support and love. The kids will get to know more about you.

@lordjames it was mixed emotions for me too. I was moved to tears with what i saw.

Those children deserve more

Keep up the good work!

I will, thank you so much for the encouragement

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53