DISTRIBUTION OF STEEM POWERED NOTEBOOKS TO 30 SCHOOL PUPILS: the second phase of POHI project, a steem powered project with @lordjames

in #community6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180301_223612_375.jpg

Even if I do not have enough, I am doing what I need to do. I want to know what I can do for someone. -@sochul

Tears kept rolling down, from my eyes as I keep reminiscing on the memories of today, the joy and happiness that radiated from the faces of school children of ages between 8-10 as they received free notebooks from us.

This is the second phase of a steem project I started with @lordjames tagged "Products of Help Initiative" (POHI). You can read about what it's all about and its first phase here.
After sharing the exercise books, as we return home, I felt privileged and grateful for having another opportunity to touch lives in a very direct, different way. This was the first time in my entire life I ever got to share something to a good number of kids at a time. Then the words of @sochul started sinking in, and I saw the possibility of becoming someone's energy through steem.
IMG_20180301_133702.jpg
on my way with @lordjames to make findings about the next school of our target

Honestly, you don't know how I happy I am, yet I feel so unsatisfied, I want to do more. I feel great about today, yet I want to be emptied. We were only able to cover a class today. And after having a one hour talk with the Head of the school, Champions Academy, we found out that the school library had insufficient texts. We would love to supply additional texts to the school. We also had interactions with the pupils in class from the little time we were alotted. The response from both the pupils and teachers was amazing, we were asked to come back if possible as other classes wished to benefit from it too.
IMG_20180301_130451.jpg
with some of the students and one of their teachers

Our next target is Government Secondary School, Akwanga where we have over 100 students in some classes. There are so many challenges there, some of their school uniforms are completely worn out, some don't have footwears, as they trek bare foots to school. The school library is virtually empty. There's so much to be done but we have limited resources. We'll take it one after the other, step by step.
But currently, we don't have enough resources and we're opened to support in other to achieve these and more.
There's nothing beautiful in seeing these children suffer!

Some school libraries in the rural communities are virtually empty, there are no books or sufficient books. How do we encourage students to read without giving them books? How do we improve the educational system without quality books?
I also feel we can donate books from our personal libraries that we don't need any longer or that are not useful to us. Well, I consider this a long-term project.

Back to our next target, a notebook is equivalent to 0.1SBD, a class would therefore be 0.1 ×100 which equals 10SBD. We will be able to cover a class with just 10SBD. But with 50SBD, we'll be able to cover 5 classes. 5 classes would be premium! However, this can only be possible if we have the needed support and help as I don't have the capacity now. That's why I named this project, "Products of Help", as we all grew up with one form of help or the other at a certain time. We are products of different forms of help.

Meanwhile, let me thank everyone who reacted to our first post through votes, comments and resteems.
Special thanks to @snrm, @cryptoclick and @mitneb for their undeserved support and love, and for resteeming our first post to increase visibility.

For today, I am as happy as a little child who just got an unexpected Christmas gift from Santa, I am glad that we were able to give back to the community through steem, that we are able to add value to a child who is not ours, no matter how little or big it might seem.
IMG_20180301_130410.jpg

From getting Ishack, a young promising boy off the streets to learn tailoring, to distribution of notebooks to school children, I've been left in tears. It feels like life is making more sense now!
I won't give up, if this is all I could do, then no regrets. But I need energy, I need you to become my energy, to become their energy!

I've been equally inspired by the works of @surfyogi, @bleepcoin and @ackza and every other person on the steem platform who is doing something worthwhile to become someone's energy, to give back to the society!

We must be anxiously engaged in doing so much good.

Image Source: All images were extracted from my phone's gallery

Thank you for reading.

DQmcN2oVGdrmfBpxJC5LLhs68jY8QRS9oCjsSzWnH25cB78.gif

Sort:  

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with Kings—nor lose the common touch - Rudyard Kipling

We will never lose the common touch.

Soon those notebooks will be actual laptops or tablet computers and we will also get them 1 month of MTN mobile money credits for like a few Gigabytes of data and Steem accounts setup wit steepshot and at SCHOOL (like the school promised by @steem4depoor ) we teach the kids to use social media and how to create a compelling story and how to post pictures with a journal entry everyday and these kids could receive enough money from their post to pay for the rest of their lives, especially if they get on steem now and start saving steempower, these children will stat earning steem tokens which could be worth $100s or $1000s of dollars just like Bitcoin... We will see the same FOMO train develop with Steem as people around the wild RACE to get on steemit and really compete for the free steem tokens just being handed out to the most hard working among us!

Wow, this is really a big dream and am glad to see someone too have a great vision for the less privileged. Yes, we are planning to move up with our work to the community but we don't want to wait till we have so much before we start giving back to the society. With the little we have, we'll contribute our part till we are strong enough to do more. Thank you @ackza for all the great work that you and @surfyogi are doing in Africa. We are really grateful.

I admire your vision and commitment @ackza, and I'm totally in support of it. We'll not relent in our efforts, step by step, energy by energy, we'll give back our little and when we have more, we will do even more.

Absolutely, thank you for your support and partnership.

I like your courage and may the good lord continue to see you through.

This is an amazing thing that you and @lordjames are doing, I really love what you're doing here and I'm glad that you're doing so much good! Thank you for doing this and please keep it up!

It has always been my desire to offer as much and as little help as I can whenever I can. I was just so glad to meet a friend who shares the same feeling as I do. It's little but it made a difference to those ones.

Thank you @khaleelkazi for your kind words and encouragement. We're encouraged.

YES! This is amazing news! First Ishack and now such an amazing deed like this! I hope you may only continue to do even bigger things, and I will be behind you both every step. I've been quite busy recently, but I'll be messaging you soon about an idea I had that could help further give back through Steem earnings.

Alright, I'll be looking forward to receiving your messages. Thank you for your kind words and assured support, I appreciate.

Wow!!! This is a good one 👍🏽....affecting lives

Always remember that......

there’s more blessings to giving than receiving

Keep it up dear 💪🏽

I feel encouraged, thank you dear

Well done! Of course you get an upvote!

Wooooow am amazed, its a bold step.
Its good we all are finding a reason to help people.

Thank you for your kind words, I appreciate.

Amazing great work bro

Thank you bro

Great work!! Keep it up

This is an amazing work bro

Thank you dear for your kind words.

@Joshuaetim.

You are not just a natural passionate writer and steemian, rather you have seek means to impact your world, making it a better place.
You have greatness embedded in the inside of you and it is in my desire that you go places.
Nicely written.... Good job weldone.

Thank you so much @Peterwrites, you've always been a huge inspiration. You're one of the most resourceful persons have ever met on Steemit. Thank you for being there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20