Is Steemit a platform only for people without a fulltime job?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #community5 years ago

Weekends and holidays

I'm a lucky person. My job involves a lot of writing. Means that when I come home after a day of work, there's not a whole lot of writing inspiration left. I started my fulltime job at the end of August, and since then my number of posts in Steemit went down. Because the two days of the week that I'm not at work, there is so much else to do. Like playing Ultimate Frisbee, my favourite sport ever, with my lovely team. Which I also attend trainings for three evenings in the week, so that's where a lot of hours go.

IMG-20181209-WA0008.jpg

Me and my team after a Sunday competition day of playing Ultimate Frisbee. I'm the closest to blond second to the left.

When I do find time to post on Steemit, it's typically somewhere in the weekend. Or else, during holidays. I was at work the days between Christmas and now, but had a few extra days off also. And as soon as I'm writing less for work reasons, I feel itchy and want to write or make something and really enjoy Steemit as a place where I can always go to share a story.

What's our population like?

I think many people with a regular job would have the same experience - time to write a post is in the weekends and during holidays. However, Steemit seems to be most quiet exactly on those days! This raises a question - what kind of population do we mostly have here on Steemit? People with a job who also like writing a blog now and then? Or professional bloggers who blog on multiple platforms, also Steemit? Or people who have alternative income sources and have a lot of time on their hands?

Other social media

In other social media, activity also drops in the weekend. So maybe I shouldn't be surprised. But with other social media, being active and creating content doesn't require the same amount of time as here on Steemit. I'm not around so much on Facebook these days, but when I was, posts were shorter and faster than here. Same for Instagram. When I'm at work, I personally don't spend time on social media, but I can imagine other people do. Still, writing a Steemit post at the office during working hours - I don't think many people would be doing that (correct me if I'm wrong).

page break small.png

More people active on Steemit

A lot of the worlds population has a fulltime job with regular 9 to 5 hours. To make them feel welcome on this platform, engagement and activity in the non-office hours could help. Could it be true that at the moment, we have a population of Steemit users who typically don't have regular jobs? And if that is true, what can we do to increase engagement in the non-office hours, so there's more activity and involvement to welcome people with regular jobs to be active on Steemit?

In my opinion, having more activity in the weekends would help attract people with regular working hours to this platform. I'd love to hear what you think. When are you most active on Steemit, and what is your income situation like? Do you think more regular job people on Steemit could attract even more regular job people, and are there other ways to create the same effect?

The last day of the year

I'll go back to preparing our New Year's party in a bit. I do really enjoy finding some time in between to write a quick post. For the new year, I hope I'll keep finding those in between moments to write something here. And I hope you'll do too. And I hope many more people, yet to discover Steemit, will join and become active members in the ways that suit them best.

Have fun with your own celebration preparations! Happy new year!

DQmdQnN7LAnyvqSavjUcLV6LxKrbXSdT5iz6ctYUrPnEaC3.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @amritadeva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I have a full time job. Steemit is like my second full time job HAHAHAHAHAH

You look like you had a lot of fun with your team !!!

Congratulations @amritadeva! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95