Scammers on Steemit! - How I Got Scammed by @newhope

in #community7 years ago (edited)

Upvotes!

We'll literally do anything to get an upvote from a major account here on Steemit

Who wouldn't kill to get an upvote from an account with 200,954 Steem Power? Well, I would.

It was just a normal day, having concluded writing a poem about one of my favourite musical artiste. My next task was to try hard in promoting my new post, I went to the usual post-promoting discord channels to drop my link; then I ventured to Steem Chat, drop my link in several channels. And then, the usual Dm from an unknown fellow, other minnows like myself, hoping to offer the usual upvote for upvote deal - so I thought.

But this individual wasn't asking for an upvote, he was asking for straight out cash, in exchange for an upvote. And when I got his account details and peeped his wallet, mans got a whopping 200,954 Steem Power. At this point, I stopped thinking and started calculating how much my post will be worth after he upvotes it. He demanded 1 SBD, which I didn't have because I had just made a withdrawal, so I couldn't give what he was asking for.

He then demanded every penny I had left in my wallet, which was 0.811 SBD, pocket change right? - I thought so too. But currently, that's worth $8, about 3,132 Naira, my exact monthly electricity bill. But it was a risk, a gamble I was willing to take - which I did

I wired the funds to a bittrex account he provided. But I didn't get my upvote, and he closed the line of communication. A gamble, which I lost.

Here are screenshots of the entire dealings

NH 1.PNG

Very obscure in communicating at first

NH 2.PNG

Then, he blatantly asks for cash for an upvote

NH 3.PNG

Told him I don't have up to the amount he demanded

NH 4.PNG

Then he asked for everything I had in my wallet

NH 5.PNG

Which I obliged and sent to him

NH 6.PNG

After sending the money to a bittrex account, he closed the line of communication between us. Hence, a successfully closed deal for him. But, I never got my upvote.

What Happens now.

I can't go about crying to people about how I got scammed, they'll just sympathize with me and advice I become more careful in future dealings, and everyone will go about their normal dealings. And @newhope will go about scamming people. Secondly, he ensured I had nothing left in my wallet, so I can't call him out on the memo when I transfer him 0.001sbd in other to get to him - smart move.

So, I decided to make a post about the experience to warn people about him, and hopefully, make some SBD from the post.

Please SAY NO TO SCAMMERS BY UPVOTING AND RESTEEMING THIS POST!

Sort:  

You got a 0.13% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @agbona!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @agbona to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hi @agbona
I don arrive gidigbamly to seal the deal, with my tiny upvote. @agbona don ascertain you to get the koko. (Yes, you have been seen and acknowledge by a human, to possess attributes of talent!)

Shey e matter, if periwinkle butt na your thing or whether you drink 'garri and garri' as in, 'soaked garri' and 'dry garri' as support (when there is no kuli kuli). Shey e matter?

Or whether you like your nkwobi in an actual giant-size mortar or you like ogunfe without ewedu. Shey e matter?

Shey e matter if you like to mix your alomo with gulder & shekpe? (Don't get drunk)

#untalented family, there is no longer need to stress. Wetin matter be say:

'Jehovah made you in his image' and these words have weight and occupy space: 'heavy matter'.
So join in, me on the steemgigs community (https://discord.gg/7UUQeJX) on discord. Hang out there, till we get fully functional.
'These are the best times on steemit and its yours'.
If you have an expertise, before the interface is full-blown, hone and offer in under #steemgigs.
If you want to tap into yourself in newer untold ways, express your awesomeness freely under #untalented.
'I tell you, give yourself a chance and see if we will not push and displace mount Kilimanjaro by 20km at 20km/hr' (signed @surpassinggoogle)

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on 'steemgigs' for witness. Simply click here (https://steemit.com/~witnesses) and type 'steemgigs' in the first search box.

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by!
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or '#untalented family' to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.
Learn More! (https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers)

I fell for a similar scam a few weeks ago. Similar in almost all the steps; except for 1 critical and brilliant difference. I was contacted by a whale, glitterfart, or so I thought in Steemit Chat. The brilliant difference was that the scammer in chat had swapped the letter 'L' (capitalised to make it obvious) for a numerical '1' (one) and it was nearly impossible to spot. I sent him (Poloniex account) my entire SBD balance (all of about 1.814). He did his homework & requested for that exact sum! You live - you learn. Note to self - be more discerning in the future.

By the way, I did not get his upvotes.

Wow!
Thanks for coming out to share your experience.
These fraudulent guys need to be stopped.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by agbona from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

One has to tread with caution. All that glitter are not gold.

Absolutely!

Well if you are to make a quick buck, sorry but that is not what steemit is for. Its for technology and cool shit. Not to say that we are all stoked when we get .40 here, .30 there, but here is what i need..... image

Sorry man, that sucks. I have been waiting for 2 weeks to use that. Sorry it was you. But hey you live and you learn.

I am literally trying so hard to understand what you are saying.

Well than i cannot help you. Just as in life, nothing is free and they got scammed

@agbona, I've found your post to be worthy of a resteem and upvote from me. I'm an actual person and I am doing this on behalf of the Resteem - Upvote movement. Join the movement, read about it here: https://steemit.com/movement/@jackmiller/the-resteem-and-upvote-movement

Thanks for this, will write about how I can help in the movement

Hey dude, thats a pitty!
That guy should be shamed himself to the ground. There must be a report button...
Everybody must be careful, even here are bad people :( Find and kick them, block their accounts, ip´s and bank accounts.

You're absolutely right.
But hey, you live, you learn. There are always bad eggs in every system. Weeding them is a task everyone should be willing to engage in, for the greater good of the platform.

That's about approx 5 steems right? @steem-lagos will refund you in steem...No whale or Dolphin is that petty to ask for upvote funds BTW!

Wow!
That is great - Big thanks to steem-Lagos.

You're absolutely right. No Whale or Dolphin askes for upvote funds from a minnow- just tricksters and scammers.

A big shout out to Steem-Lagos again!
I really appreciate this support.

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54