Everything-- Even Charity-- Is Basically a Commercial Enterprise

in #commerce7 years ago

When you have a business-- especially a retail store-- it's inevitable that you'll get hit up for all sorts of things. People always want to sell you something. Here at our gallery, it's typically donations for all manners of "do good" organizations.

ChetzemokaView
The view from the park

For whatever reason, I'm in a bit of an ornery mood today... somewhat lacking in kindness and grace towards a certain segment of human endeavors... or rather, how they gloss over their true nature.

Volunteering. Donations. Philanthropy. On the surface, we think of these things as being part of "charities" and what activities those undertake is typically organized by "volunteers." We're sold the idea that our giving "for good," and somehow transcends the machinery of daily commerce.

And yet?

They typically have substantial "fundraising budgets," and much of what they collect doesn't actually end up in the hands of the intended beneficiaries, but in the pockets of a variety of staff members and service providers.

Maybe this just makes sense, because we live in a world where "things cost money."

Can We Truly Be Altruistic?

Seems to me that as long as food, transportation, energy and other things cost money, it is all but impossible to be truly altruistic. 

Sunset
Northern sunset

Until we actually live in the moneyless universe envisioned by Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry there can be no such thing as "pure" philanthropic efforts. Everything remains locked in some form of commercial enterprise.

What's more, when we look at the "core" of things, everything has an opportunity cost, as well as a real cost.

I was thinking about that, this morning. 

Even though it's not "charity," because I am here on Steemit, putting effort into this blog... I also have the "opportunity cost" of not having time to keep up with my other niche blogs as well. So there's a "cost" to earning rewards on Steemit... called declining revenues from AdSense, which is where I previously earned a few cents for blogging.

Similarly, when someone volunteers to do charitable work, they are typically giving up hours they would otherwise be at work getting paid... as a result of which there's a hidden implication that out of the $100 they collect from a well-meaning donor, something will be paid towards their lunch and transportation. And maybe other expenses.

The Uniqueness of Steemit

YellowFlowers
Yellow desert flowers

Interestingly enough, one of the closest things I have seen to a true "giving economy" is what we have here on Steemit. 

When we upvote someone's post or comment, it is actually without cost or opportunity cost to us. The other person is simply better off. Because my nature does tend towards the idealistic, that is one of the most attractive features about our community.

Which is one of the reasons I can't help but think that Steemit would be an excellent venue for for fundraising.

What do YOU think? What's your approach to charities? Do you see them as altruistic, or largely commercial enterprises? Is that always true? What are your thoughts on Steemit as a venue for charities? Leave a comment-- share your experiences and feedback-- be part of the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Published 20170814 17:56 PDT

Sort:  

I share your opinion about most big charities. I understand they have staffing, cost, etc, and that part of the money that we donate has to go to keeping the costs covered; however, when I start looking at the actual percentage that makes it out to the people who I thought I was helping with my donation, I'm usually alarmed. It takes a lot of research to find a charity that I'm comfortable with, and those are usually local and small. Trying to help on a global scale usually finds me back in the hands of those super huge "nonprofit" organizations. Sigh. I do agree that Steemit has great potential to help people around the world, though if someone were to try and create a Steemit based charity to help more than just an individual, it could easily become similar to the charity organizations that we already see. I'm thinking that we'll never see a time when, as individuals, we can sidestep having to do due diligence on any organization or individual whom we wish to offer our help.

The argument I hear people make (about bigger organizations) sounds like so much rationalization to me: "Yeah, but even if just a small percentage goes to actual benefits, it's still a lot more than those needy people would have without the organization."

I find that a bit lame... you sell people on the idea that they are donating to-- let's say-- curing children's cancer, but for every $1 I donate, 73 cents goes to expenses. To someone's salary, and a shiny office building. Why not just be more honest and say you "have a business" and donate part of your profitst o charity?

Alas, that's not how the world works.

Yes! And the thing is, even if I were filthy rich, I would not like the idea of my money being used so inefficiently. That's as bad a government! And don't get me started on how many people will sign up for a charity, and then post on social media for everyone else to sponsor them. I've yet to see one of these charities not have huge overheads, and tiny percentages actually going to those they purport to assist. Alas, the world indeed. There are some charities that are getting it right though. They exist in the world too, and of course, we have Steemit. That's an encouraging thought, since we can "be the change" by focusing on the good organizations and refusing to fund the bloated ones.

I've always had issues with organized charities because of the fact that very little money is actually used to help those in need. That's why I stopped giving money to most charities like the Red Cross. I'd rather give my money to a homeless guy on the street so I know it goes to the person and not a business. They only charities I might support would be local ones where I know the money goes to helping my town. And Steemit does seem to be a good venue for fund raising. I've seen the community help a few people now who need it and it's really neat to see.

I seldom donate anything to large organizations anymore... and when I do, I always run it through one of those "charity watchdog" sites first. On the whole, I'm like you and stick to contributing to local things that do "direct" fundraising at events.

You have a point, however there is still some goodness (other than Steemit) in this world, I suppose that it comes down to the true cause not the slap stick spiel that we are ever so often sold. :D

Have a great day!!

Sadly, the thing I so often see is what I have come to think of as "Narcissistic Altruism;" people who get involved in charity work mostly for the reason that it sends a message to the world about "how good they are."

I hear you, and that is very true as well as very sad, and it actually reflects so badly on those who are actually trying to do good from the bottom of their hearts.
It is like in South Africa, people tend to hijack cars by pretending to be stuck with a broken down car next to the side of the road, when you stop to help they will pull you from your vehicle (if you are lucky - you might get away with your life) and then they take your car, so now people rarely stop to help someone next to the side of the road because of that. It is sad, because you have to weigh up the limitations of your safety for a good deed.
It is a vicious cycle, you see the same applies to the concept of your post, people stop being charitible towards organisations that really need help and applies it well because of the Narcissistic Altruism as you put it...

I like the idea, but the organizations I know would not commit to the work involved in creating posts. Giving within the Steemit community for now must be to those who care enough to try.

You're undoubtedly right... the larger scale example of "people wanting the benefits, but not being willing to do the work."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45