You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Everything-- Even Charity-- Is Basically a Commercial Enterprise

in #commerce7 years ago (edited)

I share your opinion about most big charities. I understand they have staffing, cost, etc, and that part of the money that we donate has to go to keeping the costs covered; however, when I start looking at the actual percentage that makes it out to the people who I thought I was helping with my donation, I'm usually alarmed. It takes a lot of research to find a charity that I'm comfortable with, and those are usually local and small. Trying to help on a global scale usually finds me back in the hands of those super huge "nonprofit" organizations. Sigh. I do agree that Steemit has great potential to help people around the world, though if someone were to try and create a Steemit based charity to help more than just an individual, it could easily become similar to the charity organizations that we already see. I'm thinking that we'll never see a time when, as individuals, we can sidestep having to do due diligence on any organization or individual whom we wish to offer our help.

Sort:  

The argument I hear people make (about bigger organizations) sounds like so much rationalization to me: "Yeah, but even if just a small percentage goes to actual benefits, it's still a lot more than those needy people would have without the organization."

I find that a bit lame... you sell people on the idea that they are donating to-- let's say-- curing children's cancer, but for every $1 I donate, 73 cents goes to expenses. To someone's salary, and a shiny office building. Why not just be more honest and say you "have a business" and donate part of your profitst o charity?

Alas, that's not how the world works.

Yes! And the thing is, even if I were filthy rich, I would not like the idea of my money being used so inefficiently. That's as bad a government! And don't get me started on how many people will sign up for a charity, and then post on social media for everyone else to sponsor them. I've yet to see one of these charities not have huge overheads, and tiny percentages actually going to those they purport to assist. Alas, the world indeed. There are some charities that are getting it right though. They exist in the world too, and of course, we have Steemit. That's an encouraging thought, since we can "be the change" by focusing on the good organizations and refusing to fund the bloated ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43