Michael's Long Box: Announcing The Great Gen13 Re-Read!

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

"Hi there. I'm Michael. And I'm a 90's comics addict."

(Pssst...this is the part where you all say, "Hi, Michael!")

I've been spitballing out comic-themed posts here and there for the last two years. Usually these are things I take my time with--they aren't just quickie read-and-review bits enhanced by my trademark sexy bod and stunning witticisms. I'm a geek who likes to get hyper-focused on something when I write about it, so my temptation is to research the ever-loving shit out of my topics. So whether I'm writing about one of the first manga to make its way to US shores in the 80's, or one of my favorite single comic issues of all time, or messing with @blewitt by using his NSFW face to review a NSFW comic book without actually using the 'NSFW' tag, or the forgotten history of Afrocentric comics publishing, or trying to sort out the ridiculously complicated chronology of Everette Hartsoe's Razor...I tend drive myself down a rabbit hole which I fear is entirely too convoluted and of limited interest to all but the most hardcore lurkers of the #comics domain here.

This series is an opportunity to break myself of this habit and hopefully garner a few more interested readers by taking a series I've collected and loved for years, and re-reading it top to bottom, one issue at a time. Because it's nice to set goals, I'm going to avoid the urge to kill myself and shoot for one episode of this "Great Re-Read" per week. I'm going to focus on Gen13 until I either die or run out of books--given how huge the Gen13 library is and how frequently they crossed over with other titles, and how I'm not as young as I used to be, the former is a distinct possibility. And yes, I'll still nerd out and show off all the fancy bits and bobs. I'll still dig up the trivia and variant covers and other minutia y'all know and love. These won't be me shitposting with a cover scan, a @blewitt face rating, and a couple pithy sentences in the hopes of gaming upvotes from my followers. I'll do my work.

But I'm going to try, try, not to go apeshit with this. I'm going to fail from time to time. I may go off on tangents, railing about Image comics, or geeking out when I finally put together some long-forgotten plot point. But when I do, I hope you'll enjoy the trip down memory lane. Together, I just know we'll have some great laughs along the way.

Why Gen13?


Why not? It's got everything a great comic series needs: babes, boobs, mutants, incest, pop culture riffs...all of it dialed up to "THE NINETIES EXTREME!" with almost zero Liefeld! Plus, its launch in February of '94 means this is the series' 25th anniversary, so let's pop the cork on some champagne!

What do you mean, "Almost"?


Well...they mention "Team Youngblood" in the first issue, so...

What do you mean, "Incest"?!


There's this brother and sister pair of Gen-Actives, see, and they--

Oh, for crying out loud, you are not going to drag me down this path! Not in my introductory post. If you're really that curious, hit that 'Follow' button and you'll learn all about Bliss and Threshold in due time. I promise.

Yeah, but, this is getting weird, dude.


Look, I have a dozen long boxes worth of comics stored in my basement, not to mention an entire bookshelf full of graphic novels, trade paperbacks, and manga. I had to pick something.I figure it's been long enough since I read Gen13 that I could have some fun rediscovering a title from my youth. Especially since I rather obsessively collected it for the better part of a decade. I'm missing some issues, I know I don't have all the cross-overs and guest-starring appearances, and stuff like that, but at one post per issue per week, I have the better part of two years' worth of a regular feature just sitting here in front of me, and that's not even counting all the spin-offs and mini-series and one-shots and annuals and specials. Plus it's a lot faster to steamroll through a single issue of a comic book than it is to read a novel, or watch a feature film.

This is my 'keep Zorker in honest work' project for the platform, something I can focus on when nothing's really lighting the fires of my creative self. I hope you'll join me on my journey, whether it's to judge me for colossally poor taste in comics as a teenager, or to smile along and remember when, even if you're too young to remember the 90's.

Or because you're just dying to know if Bliss and Threshold ever make the beast with two backs. I know you're out there, you scofflaws. Just give me your upvotes and don't send any fanfic demands. I learned my lesson the last time I capitulated to a 'shipping request. Never again, @bryan-imhoff. Never again!


So that's that, folks. All systems are go, and I'm ready to start cranking on this. So some time within the next seven days (hashtag NotThe Ring), we'll dig in to Gen13 #1 from February 1994 by Jim Lee, Brandon Choi, Jeff Scott Campbell, Alex Gardner, Joe Chiodo, and the rest of the crazies at Wildstorm Productions. Until then, be somebody, or be somebody's fool!

Sort:  

Aahhh.... Image #comics.... that wonderful publishing house made up of disgruntled successful ex-Marvel writers and creators!

🤣

I never went further than Spawn, which started off great (loved McFarlane’s work) and then just became a bit self-indulgent and self-referential.

Which kinda put me off Youngblood and all the others.

As you say, hyper-bloated 90’s stylings.

Looking forward to reading your Gen13 posts 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Check out Linkara's review series lampooning Youngblood on Atop the 4th Wall.

You're welcome. Gawd, I can't believe that video is now almost ten years old...time flies when you're always pissed. ;)

I'm going to be honest...I have an issue of Youngblood #1 autographed by Liefeld...in silver ink...on both covers...I'm going to hell, aren't I?

There's no reason for me to own this, as Youngblood didn't do much with itself until other writers got their hands on the characters. Pragmatically speaking, Youngblood #1 is an awful first issue by any metric. But it's still important for historical reasons, even if it's only important by "Dark Age" standards. :)

| "Hi there. I'm Michael. And I'm a 90's comics addict."
|(Pssst...this is the part where you all say, "Hi, Michael!")
🤣👍🏼

I am not a comics nerd in the slightest - I've never read them - but my word if I didn't adore your Razor chronology. It's exactly the sort of delightfully obscure thing I love reading about, because when you get that detailed and invested in something obscure, it's obsessive. And I love obsession, as mad as that sounds - so much of my favorite work is based around obsession and obsessiveness. (I use them not in the "oh no, he's obsessed!" sense, but because I know of no term that better conveys what I mean.) Errol Morris films, Paul Auster books, Rocaterrania, Jon Ronson's The Men Who Stare at Goats (the original book)... I love it all, and your Razor chronology ticked that particular box within me. So consider me signed up.

Hooray! Now that @terry93d is here, all is well. :)

Comic books were never my thing. I just never got into sequential art like that. Comic strips in the newspaper? Sure! Calvin and Hobbes, Outland, The Far Side, etc. were awesome. Superhero comic books just never grabbed me.

It's totally cool. I'm not changing my focus to "all comics, all the time". This is more just a pet project to give me a kick in the creative butt when I feel like I'm running on fumes. There will still be all the normal nerdity projected around this place. I hope you'll join in the laughter anyway. :)

Don't misunderstand my comment. I may never have beena comic fan, but I love Linkara's comic reviews anyway, and your series will probably be interesting, too.

I'll keep my fingers crossed that I keep them interesting. :D

Congratulations @modernzorker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58954.91
ETH 2508.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45