You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Michael's Long Box: Announcing The Great Gen13 Re-Read!

in #comics6 years ago

Aahhh.... Image #comics.... that wonderful publishing house made up of disgruntled successful ex-Marvel writers and creators!

🤣

I never went further than Spawn, which started off great (loved McFarlane’s work) and then just became a bit self-indulgent and self-referential.

Which kinda put me off Youngblood and all the others.

As you say, hyper-bloated 90’s stylings.

Looking forward to reading your Gen13 posts 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Check out Linkara's review series lampooning Youngblood on Atop the 4th Wall.

You're welcome. Gawd, I can't believe that video is now almost ten years old...time flies when you're always pissed. ;)

I'm going to be honest...I have an issue of Youngblood #1 autographed by Liefeld...in silver ink...on both covers...I'm going to hell, aren't I?

There's no reason for me to own this, as Youngblood didn't do much with itself until other writers got their hands on the characters. Pragmatically speaking, Youngblood #1 is an awful first issue by any metric. But it's still important for historical reasons, even if it's only important by "Dark Age" standards. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69