A BITTER EXPERIENCE (Comedy openmic #18)

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)

unnamed.gif
Gif source

While I was growing up, I’ve always had wonderful and memorable experiences with bullies courtesy of my extremely small stature. I was in form 3 when it all started, a new boy, “Sam” was just accepted through transfer from another school. Sam has a huge figure, he rarely smile and he likes positioning his cheek at a jaunty angle, he’s also very dark in complexion and that earn him the name “darkness”. It is believed by virtually all that it would be impossible for anyone to make out Sam’s figure in the dark. I wouldn’t want to cross path with a person such as Sam if I have it my way but unfortunately he was assigned to form 3 which was my class.

I have a friend that we do things in common, we play together, laugh together and eat together at times, and his name is Dan. Dan has a loveable character and he’s admired by all, he is a little bit taller than I am. Dan and I are always in the habit of rushing out of class immediately after hearing the sound of the lunch bell, we can joke with anything but certainly not food. We were even unaware of the fact that Sam was jealous of us as he barely receives any pocket money at home. On this fateful day, we did as we’ve always done in the past whenever we hear the lunch bell, we ran towards the school canteen but I bumped into a huge figure, “Sam”

image
Image source

He requested that I say sorry, I muttered the word – “sorry” shakily, at that moment it’s no overstatement to say that my heart is in my mouth, I was so scared! Dan didn’t see what was happening, he had already buzzed of as he was way ahead of me when the incident occurred, he must have thought I was still behind him somehow. Sam slapped me twice on the cheek, I looked him in the eye as tears finds its way down my soft cheek, I saw him look at me disdainfully, and there was hate on his face. I tried wiping the tears off but my hand dangling at my side, paralyzed.

Before I could finally get my act together, Sam reached for the pocket in my school uniform and took the only cash I have on me, he was leaving then paused and stared at me and gave me a mischievous grin, I suspected that the situation I found myself in is likely to be an everyday routine but nevertheless, I kept mute about what had happened when Dan asked for the reason why I missed lunch.

Like I suspected, Sam knew he finally found his prey and continued intercepting my lunch money, sometimes I would keep part or all of it with Dan. Dan suspected that something fishy was going on, more so he’s seen me and Sam together more than once. I was always at the receiving end of Sam’s blow anytime he searches my pocket and found nothing. It has already been considered a norm that whenever I met with Sam during lunch time, I give him the cash to avoid more blows. My encounter with Sam was bitter one, and even all the marks can be clearly seen over my body, I lied in some cases telling those that cared to ask that it happened while I was playing football. However, some will never subscribe to my testimony; people like Dan and my parents. I have had enough of Sam but was too weak to make him stop.

One afternoon just after I arrived from school, Mum and Dad called me into the lobby, they were discussing about my plight and they asked for everything that had transpired between I and Sam in details. I narrated all and to my amazement, Dad said I should invite Sam over for lunch at our home that I should tell him that he would like to meet that person that has been taking care of his little boy. I was naïve, I didn’t know what it meant and neither did I and Sam suspect anything. My father had told me that I should give him my lunch money as I’ve always done in the past.

I diligently followed the instructions I received from home, I gave my lunch money to Sam then invited him to lunch telling him exactly what my father said about him. He agreed without even thinking about it, he was the greedy type and wouldn’t miss anything for a tasty meal, “I told him that the lunch preparation would have been completed 4.00pm. Sam was so happy to the extent that he used my lunch money to buy a sausage and shared it for both of us to eat, I was shocked….baffled…..even lost for words and I don’t even know what to say.

Should it be a thank you? Or just …..

Sam was never generous, and I understand perfectly he was just trying to impress me. I mused within me “I don’t even know the reason why dad will invite a bad person such as Sam to dine with us…. It looks absurd to me, but I never did understand.

The closing bell rung, I and Dan headed back home together because our house was just a stone throw away from one another. But all through our journey home, I never said a word to Dan because I don’t want his pity. Our compound was well fenced and the security seems impenetrable, when I got home I met my father at the gate surveying the locks, he hasn’t done that in a while, but why now? I asked myself. The time clocked very fast and it was some minutes to 4.00pm but Sam was already at our door. I stood up from where I was seated in order to open the door for Sam but my Dad told me to sit and be relaxed so he opened the door himself with all smiles.

Lunch was dished out and we sat down to have lunch. The lunch was fried rice and fried chicken, I stared at Sam’s direction he eat to his fill and was having an awesome moment reducing the chicken that was given to him. Dad excused himself and went towards the gate and he carefully inserted the locks and secured it firmly then he returned to his room to get a whip he has just gotten from the market earlier in the day. When he re-appeared, Sam was through with his struggle and was set for home, Dad watched him walk towards the gate, and Dad feigned ignorance and told Sam he would there to open it soon.

image
Image source

“Dad hands were hidden behind his back”, I didn’t see it coming neither did Sam. On getting to the spot where Sam stood, all I heard from a distance was a language I’ve never heard before;

Oops!…yakoosh!…..yeh!....skiboosh! and several other demeaning sounds.

There were lashes stroking every part of Sam’s body in full force, Sam continued shrieking in pain and after what seems like eternity in hell, my dad opened the gates and let the wounded lion out sending threats and curses after him.

I was more than satisfied.

The next day at school was a whole new beginning. If Sam sees me coming his way, he makes a U-turn and goes the other way. Thanks to both my Dad and Mum that stood by me till i was able to defend myself against bullies, now i'm very much older now and bullies have got just one choice - "to run!"

unnamed (1).gif
Gif source

U5drefv7yAfzcJtobLnqqNob4SzeKM1_1680x8400.png

Thanks @josediccus for nominating me for the @comedyopenmic challenge. I hereby nominate @holybranches and @idikuci for this week's challenge.

Sort:  

Lol... Though that could be termed as the abuse of another person's child, but so what. He started it and you pulled out a bigger gun.

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. bible.com

Thanks for this writing. It is good because it turns at a number of levels. First, I wanted savage vengeance for you. Then, I thought there was going to be a shift to understanding the bully... maybe even sympathy for whatever he might be going through. Then I got savage vengeance anyway. And I'm left feeling a bit lost with what to think, or feel, about this episode.

My writing focus is on how i survived been bullied. It's true that understanding the bully is something to look forward to but i would only be justifying his action. I will work better on the next one. Thanks@acolucky, i feel honored having you around.

Thanks for taking your time to read through!

You have worked fine on this one. Thank you. It is good to meet you.

Thanks man! It's nice meeting you also

Acolucky is one of the gems of comedyopenmic. And I see from your writing so are you.

Keep it up :)

Congratulations @aduragbemi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ohhhh wow!
In our culture, our era, whips are barbaric. Seeing it on TV is horrifying - flesh laid open by the slashing whip - not just once, but many times - and the blood, the scars. I was hoping this story would end differently, or at least with a punishment that was not so bloody. I admire the father for protecting his son and punishing the bully, but the punishment is SO severe. I cannot even imagine wielding that whip, or watching a child being whipped. Still - in terms of story - you set this one up very well!

Thanks @carolkean for taking your time to read through. It's really nice having you around.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Aduragbemi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40