The House That Steem Built: Comedy Open Mic #43

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago

When I began this Steemit journey, and by journey I mean the thing that occupies my I-phone time when I am hiding in the restroom at work, I did not know where it would lead. In the past year, I have written hundreds of jokes, wisecracks, and other short bits that may not be suitable for future employment. From that effort, I have gathered nearly 2500 Steem, and that used to be worth something.

However, back when Steem sold for about $2.50, I exchanged a couple hundred of them for $500 American dollars. I then used the cash to purchase a series of permits from The County. It is the only Steem I ever sold.

20181220_155911.jpg
A legal dwelling on rural family property

Of course, Steem did not pay for the building. My life savings covered that expense. However, Steem did buy off The County and, considering the de-centralized nature of crypto currency, there is some poetry in that fact.

In less than one year, before next winter's snow, my wife and I will relocate to that cabin. In the future, I will write about preparing our suburban house for sale, renovating that simple shed into a livable cabin, how I manage my art in the meantime, and other philosophical ruminations and observations. So, if you like learning new swear words, follow along and tell your friends. Thank you.

Nominations for this humor contest @comedyopenmic:

@to7
@jessbutterfly

Sort:  

Hi acolucky,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

may not be suitable for future employment.

Half of me laughed at this great line while the other thought this would make a great name for a band.

It is funny because it is true.

After living in a trailer for the last 2 1/2 years, I could totally do a Tiny House and have always wanted it. Of course, I still also want a big house but ideally I'd like to buy land and put a tiny house on it. Maybe I can't fit us all so two tiny houses will do. A little community of tiny houses where we each get our own would be pretty sweet too. "Go to your room, you're grounded!" would turn into "Go to your house, you're grounded!"

The cabin will have a kitchen, a loft bedroom, and a living room. My art studio, the restroom, garden storage, warm storage, and Finlander style sauna (I hope) will need their own sheds. It will become a compound in no time.

Nice! Sounds like a lot for such a tiny space -- but I've seen it done. Makes for a cozy home!

I love those tiny house ideology. It is a good choice to start living in this way. I wish the best to you and your family.

Very cool. Here is to hoping that Steem can once again reach higher highs in 2019. It's amazing how much baggage people can acquire according to how much space they have to store said baggage.

That baggage will be a topic.

I love this! It is the same design I have in mind for my property. I have yet to acquire a building and am living in the original mobile that was here when I bought it. My desire is for a spinning and weaving studio <3

I will be looking forward to your developments and now am thinking about a series of posts on my own journey!

Right. It is a reason to write some longer posts. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70