Hannah Gadsby

in #comedy6 years ago

Hannag.jpg

With tears of pride still streaming down my cheeks, I write to express my personal applause.
Finally, a real woman, being honest about her life and circumstance in such an articulate and profound way. I remember the first time I saw her comedy, although I laughed at the punch lines, I could always sense the constraint in her stories. Having used the self-deprecation humour tactic myself I could see into the closeted space behind the eyes which hid the real devastation. So to see this now brings untold joy to my heart.
Hannah spoke directly from the heart and enabled the audience to glimpse her perspective as a woman living in the 21st Century. My favourite part was the shroud splitting spit she gave the white hetro male. When she talked about fearing being the only woman in a room full of men, I thought for a moment and pictured a room full of woman; strong, highly opinionated women such as Hannah, with one male in the midst. I bet he would probably be scared too. However, the fear would be different, the female would be frightened physically, and the male would be worried the women would bombard him with factual details about himself he had carefully overlooked all his life.
That old foe fear exists on all sides of the gender debate, which I will stay away from, as my perspective of humans is just that. We are each human (bags of chemicals) no matter what the bag appears to be, the contents are pretty much the same. It is on this level I meet with all humans, now the real trick is to find the humanity inside the bags. She poured out her humanity in such a humbling and exuberant way, spilling her chemicals all over the stage. What A Woman!
So maybe she should think about politics as a move, let’s face it, she has brains, and the brawn, why not get that rage directed into something that really could change the face of Australian Politics, that bunch could use some real laughs.
More POWER to You Sister!

Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

@clydescorner, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

I am totally with you on this comment!
When I watched Nanette I had to pause quite a few times to contain my tears and overwhelming joy!
She truly is a hero to all of us!

If you like her you wil LOVE Tig Notaro and Michelle Wolf.
(If not already familiar with them..)

Congratulations @clydescorner! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31