Colourful Photography: Morning market in Nongkhai, ตลาดเช้าที่หนองคาย

This is my entry for colourfulphotography contest hosted by @juliank.

IMG_6452.jpg

This is the clothes and fashion section of the morning market called Phochai market in Nongkhai. This market changed my old perception of old style markets which I had visited as a child with grown-ups. Phochai market is like an out door supermarket where one can find all the usual items found in a modern shopping mall. The difference is the price here are much cheaper and one can haggle for a reduction in prices. The alley way to the left of the market is the area where all the clothing, bedding, and toys can be found.

ที่ตลาดโพธิ์ชัยจะมีทางเดินทางด้านข้างของตลาด ซึ่งจัดเป็นแหล่งขายเสื้อผ้า รองเท้า กระเป๋า เครื่องนอน และของใช้ในบ้าน ที่นี่ทำให้เราลืมมโนภาพของตลาดสมัยก่อนที่เคยไปเดินตอนเด็กๆกับผู้ใหญ่ ตลาดนี้เป็นอะไรที่พิเศษมาก เป็นเหมือนศูนย์การค้าแบบเปิด เราสามารถหาซื้อของทุกอย่างที่นี่เหมือนกับไปห้างใหญ่ๆ แต่ราคาของที่นี่ถูกมาก และเรายังสามารถต่อรองราคาได้ด้วย

IMG_6450.jpg

IMG_6453.jpg

IMG_6449.jpg

IMG_6419.jpg

IMG_6451.jpg

Further down the lane there are odd stalls selling children's toys and cooking utensils.
(ในซอยนี้จะมีร้านขายของเด็กเล่นและ มีเครื่องของใช้ในครัวด้วย)
IMG_6423.jpg

IMG_6421.jpg

IMG_6422.jpg

IMG_6427.jpg

There was a special stall selling colourful lace blouses at 300 bahts each, about 10 dollars. The price seemed rather expensive for local people, I saw several farmers and villagers walking up to touch these blouses and left as soon as they knew the how much it was selling for. They are used to buying a long sleeve shirt at 100-150 baht, so these beautiful blouses seemed a bit over the the top for their need. In the town center there is a really nice shop selling finely cut blouses with imported laces at over one thousand baht a piece, they were sold out because visitors from Bangkok couldn't believe they were so cheap comparing with those in the capital. Each visitor bought half a dozen each! I was planning to buy some nice linen shirts, but they were all sold out too.

วันนั้นมีร้านมาขายเสื้อลูกไม้สีสดสวยด้วย เขาขายตัวละ 300บาท เป็นราคาค่อนข้างสูงสำหรับชาวบ้าน คนส่วนใหญ่ที่นี่ซื้อเสื้อแขนยาวตัวละ ประมาณ 100-150 บาท เราจึงเห็นมีแต่คนเดินมาจับมาดูเสื้อกันหลายคน แต่ไม่มีใครยอมจ่ายเงินซื้อเสื้อกันเลย ถ้าไปในตัวเมืองจะได้พบร้านขายเสื้อที่มีการตัดเย็บแบบญี่ปุ่นและ ยุโรปโดยใช้ผ้าลูกไม้นำเข้า ราคาตัวละประมาณพันกว่าบาท พอมีทัวร์คนกรุงเทพมาลงกินข้าวแถวนั้น เขาขายเสื้อหมดราว แม้แต่เสื้อเชิตท์ลินินที่เราอยากได้ ก็ขายหมดเช่นกัน ทางร้านบอกว่าแต่ละคนเหมาอย่างละหกตัว จึงหมดร้าน

IMG_6448.jpg

IMG_6425.jpg

IMG_6424.jpg

After walking and taking in all the lively atmosphere of this market, I would need to ground myself with roasted sweet potatoes!

IMG_6437.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Cheers.



Thank you for your time and attention. Please upvote, comment and follow, if you like my posts

These are some of my old posts which may be of some interest. Please do not upvote these posts as they are older than seven days; but you could comment on them.

Beware of bad bots
Check your SP, voting power and Upvotes
Food Bazaar
Flowers Market in Nongkhai
Chinese New Year
Sunset by the River
Nongkhai Nagas

Sort:  

Good walk through the bazaar. Very interesting!
I really liked the photo with sweet potatoes. I really like it !!!
My son cooks sweet potatoes better than me.

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free".

Wow nice place. And your photography is so beautiful. Continue it, hopefully the future will be bright.

Thank you very much!
Have a good day!

ตลาดแบบนี้ชอบเดินที่สุด ของดีราคาพอประมาณ

But you’ll spend more because you will buy more.

I will buy those 2 shirts on the left in the 4th photo! I wish I was there.

Aha! I know it!! That’s why I included this photo!
You will be surprised if you went to the other shop on tien with me! The quality and design of their clothes are just incredible at one-fifth of the prices in Bangkok. I know the designer and seemstress. But no discount here!

Well, if their prices are low, I'm not surprised.

รองเท้าเยอะเลย ชอบรูปตุ๊กตาน่ารักจัง

These are not expensive! You can buy seven pairs for seven days!
😎

Cool market full of everything ;) Nice

In the summer months, people prefer to go to big shopping mall for cooling down.

ตลาใหญ่เหมือนกันนะคะ มีเครื่องครัวขายเยอะเลยเราชอบม๊ากๆ ;)

Your colorful slippers caught my attention. I love open markets too; the exiting atmosphere, tempting smells and daring colors. And all the chatting and negotiating. Unfortunately those markets also show us all the cheap plastic culture of nowadays. If you want to see really good handcraft you have to go to the museum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48