Colours of BoudhanathsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #colourfulphotography7 years ago (edited)

The Boudhanath is the largest stupa in Nepal and reputedly the holiest outside of Tibet. It is an important place of pilgrimage for Tibetan Buddhists and the local Nepalese as well as one of the favourite tourist sites.

When we got there, people seemed to be walking around the street surrounding the stupa in a clock-wise direction, so we followed... while turning the prayer wheels embedded in the wall around the stupa.


Click on image for fullscreen view
P2073095b.JPG

It's a colourful affair for the devotees and tourists alike walking around the Boudhanath stupa.
The buildings housing homes, monasteries, shops, hotels, restaurants surrounding the stupa are colourful, and further complemented by the colourful prayer flags and strings of marigold draped around the stupa



Captured with OLYMPUS FE4030

Posting for #ColourfulPhotography by @juliank


==============================================================

For more of my posts, click here
Sort:  

really lots of colour there!

You have made 5 comments today in one of my 52 photography hashtags and received a 1 percent upvote for your effort!

>Learn more here<

Yup... I love those prayer flags! :)
They are normally squares or rectangles, not sure if triangles mean something else...

Really beautiful shot.

Hi hi, Daniel... Thank you! 😊

Is it edited? If yes what software you use ah? Need to learn from you how to take pictures!

Yes, I use picasa - it's free and very simple to use! I enhanced the colour and contrast a little (careful not to go overboard here...) and I always like adding a slight vignette - just to bring the focus in a bit. Only thing about picasa is they don't do updates any more... But I still like it... Maybe I should be looking around for something more sophisticated. :)

when did you go there? it seems like a very good place to visit. which one cheaper? Bali otr Nepal?

Haha, Bali is nearer for me! But both different and very beautiful & interesting!
I was there in February of 2014 - seems a long time ago... :)

So colourful! Would love to visit one day!

If possible... yes, you must! :) So much to see and experience...

Yes, indeed, a lot of colors! The life looks to be very colored in Nepal. So far away, I will only thank you for your pictures.

And I thank you for yours... :) I wish I could bring up the older posts... I shared quite a number of scenes when I first joined steemit - about 6 months ago... Thank you!

You are welcome! Wish you much success here, I see you already have but i wish you more!

Aww... Much appreciated! You'll get there one day too... :)

Hi! I'm a robot! I noticed that you took your payout as 100% power-up and I just wanted to let you know that right now, you will potentially make a LOT more money if you take the 50/50 option that pays you some SBD. You can read about why this is true here. If you want me to leave you alone, just reply with the word STOP.

That's so pretty!

Thank you, Stevie! :) I thought so too...

ohh cheeses, em allll flags, sooo cool :D what a wonderful shot :D wohoo you soo brought the craions on this<love it💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44