Color Challenge - Sunday Purple - Purple Sea Urchins

IMG_0178.jpg
Purple sea urchins. Half Moon Bay, California.

I've posted some photos from Half Moon Bay this summer. I mentioned we were a little disappointed that there were seals that limited our access to some of the tidal pools we have explored in the past. Here are some photos from a few years ago. The purple sea urchins were our favorite find.

IMG_0174.jpg

There were also several starfish in this set of photos. The starfish population has collapsed along the California coast. Starting in 2013 as many as 90% of the starfish died due to unknown causes. They are just starting to make a comeback.

IMG_0171.jpg

Sort:  

This post has received a 10.69 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @steven-patrick.

As always awesome photos ...

Thanks for participating in our Followers Appreciation Promotion.

I'm glad to hear the starfish are making a comeback @steven-patrick.

I love the purple sea urchins. I didn't see any of those when I was in California. 😊

You have to wade a long ways out to see them. Catch low tide and go a little farther than is comfortable :)

I asked on my post, but now I know, you're in San Fran :)

I love the purple sea urchins; so beautiful. And that's awful about the starfish, although I'm glad they are making a comeback.

Half Moon Bay is such a beautiful area too. My ex-inlaws used to live in San Mateo and we made a trip to Half Moon Bay once when we were visiting. Loved it!

Thanks for the lovely photos too!

Its our favorite beach trip. There are some other beaches that are better for walking but Half Moon Bay is beautiful

This post has received a 29.36 % upvote from @boomerang.

You got a 12.30% upvote from @upme thanks to @steven-patrick! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

You got a 3.13% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @steven-patrick! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51