THE COLOR PURPLEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

I have a strange fetish for purple (the colour rather than the book)

For this post heading I deliberately misspelt “colour” as “color” so that American readers would be able to understand what I was saying. But I’m not going to do that again because it could turn me into semi-literate freak.

This not only plays out as an impulse to do purple art, it has gone further and made me behave in ways that society deems unacceptable.

frot33.jpg
A picture I drew of a couple of freaks after I mangled it in Photoshop

I once owned a really crappy red car so I painted it purple (yes by hand, and with a brush), I’ve also had several purple bikes, owned a purple bike shop, with it’s own team of purple clad sponsored riders, and have compulsively painted some of our furniture purple too.

2003.TriumphB17.jpg
(The poor old purple “Trumpy” on its last legs)

1999.X.Rod-Air-1315b.jpg
A not very good photo of our #1 rider in 1999 taken on a cheap camera

Like any compulsion, I just can’t help myself.

I know it doesn’t sound all that bad, but I’m a Kiwi – I live in New Zealand, the most colour phobic nation on earth.

In NZ, our national heroes are “The All Blacks”, and everyone dresses in black to look just like them.

page-haka-2.jpg
Image

I once sat in Lambton Quay at midday, the main street in downtown Wellington, and timed how long it took me to spot someone who wasn’t wearing any black (the shoes got them every time) - 25 minutes! – I’m not making this up, even by NZ standards Wellington is very black.

lambtonquay1b.jpg
After I took photos of strangers for 25 minutes, eventually an American tourist in an orange tracksuit came past but I dropped my camera out of shock and didn’t get a photo

And cars (again I’m not making this up) – a full 80% of NZ cars are silver, grey, white, or black (and even black is considered a bit too flashy). Kiwis just can’t deal with colours at all. So being into purple is like dancing naked in the street and screaming spank me.

IMG_8562b.jpg
After I waited in our street for 3 hours, eventually a brightly coloured car came past

Here is a photo of our hall cabinet that I designed and built. I’m very proud of this monument to conservative home décor – and it is of course covered in purple fur like any good cabinet should be:

IMG_5029b.jpg

I CAN’T HELP MYSELF - SPANK ME!


MY MINIMALIST STEEMIT SIGNATURE

For more info, see MY WHOPPING BIG STEEMIT SIGNATURE


Sort:  

I admire purple too
good job about drawing the car bro

That car was one flash set of wheels!

awesome post bro (purple is the color of royalty, as they say :) Ive got some family in wellington. Much love. I have followed and upvoted, peace

Thanks - sometimes even the sky is purple in Wellington (this is the view out of our window)

Purple and green, one of my fav combo's. Aren't you always cuddling your cabnet? It's so Fluffy !

Yes I run my hands through its fur each day :)

You would have liked our shop - it was about as purple and green as you could get

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/photos/cycle-services-photos/

I see purple EVERYWHERE uy.jpg

Keep an eye on that, it could get weird...

meep

meepurple

meep

Where is the photo of our purple letterbox? and our purple front door? And all your purple T-shirts? And don't forget our purple bathmat, and the purple colour scheme on your browser, and the purple curtains in our shed/ workshop / homegym.

And now I'm going to tell a story you were probably trying to keep quiet...

Some years ago we went to a comedy show featuring some female kiwi comics. Somehow we managed to end up right in front of the stage. Just in the right place for one of them to notice Ian in his purple Fox shirt. She asked his name, and then asked if the purple top meant he was really called Lesb-Ian. She then managed to bring that up several times over the evening.

Yes I am always being persecuted for my colour...

And now by popular request - our mailbox:

No wonder Americans are all fruitloops!

Congratulations @sift666! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks - I am worshiped like a Steemit god!

Awesome clicks for Color Challenge loved it.

And everyone looks great in purple :)

hahah :D

Finally someone else who enjoys the color purple as much as I do :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89