Faith, The Schooner I Called Home For Four Years. For Colorchallenge Monday Red.

DSC_0282.jpg

It was a foggy day the first time I saw Faith. A friend of mine George had motored his dingy over to tell me about her. I was living on a 29 foot Pearson, and was quite happy. The thought of a wooden boat did not appeal to me, especially one as big as Faith. He reminded me of a previous conversation that we had, the one where we spoke of the soul for wooden boats that came from the forest that they were built out of. His eyes danced when he spoke of it. I smiled, curiosity heightened.

20130414_092505.jpg
Me braiding Georges hair after we crossed a channel.

I had heard of Faith, she was a local legend around the harbor. The man who had built her spent twenty years slowly shaping her. He was a high school football coach (American Football) and would mentor boys that had bad family lives. I had worked for one of those boys. He was now seventy five years old and had sailed around the world. He told me about building her with the coach, how it had affected him and how it was one of the reasons for his marine career. Faith had been built in a time of a cruising boat renaissance, alongside some of the most famous boats and sailing adventurers of our time.

DSC_0258.jpg

I jumped in my dinghy and motored down the soggy harbor. I had been told that she had a group of big sea lions that were breaking her. I knew about this sea lion gang in the harbor, they weighed upwards of eight hundred pounds each and were aggressive to boot.

As I pulled up to her I saw her graceful lines beneath the neglect. Her beautiful, one of a kind charm. And as I kicked the sea lions off in a battle of strutting and loud noise making, I knew she was mine.

DSC_0063.jpg

I spent the next four years fixing her and living aboard. I sailed all over Southern California. I lived in Catalina Island and worked at Harbor patrol.

My life will always be changed for the better because I met Faith.

DSC_0317.jpg

DSC_0064.jpg

DSC_0246.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog, this is my Red for Monday.
Big Love.

Sort:  

What an adventure. Are you going to tell the whole story of how you fixed her up?

This is one for !originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @professorbromide. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lifemovedbysteem to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Yes I will be starting to write short stories about my past adventures and restoration projects. I just got my old pictures together yesterday and am looking forward to my writing projects on them. Thank you for reading @professorbromide!

You are a really interesting person. I don't see an #introduceyourself post on your blog; did you do one? More people should follow you. I'm going to resteem this post.

I haven't, I wanted to do one that include some of my old photographs. I have been gathering some of them the last few days. I will be posting one soon. Thank you for the resteem @professorbromide!

thanks for making this

Thank you for looking! Have a great day.

I like the photo of the ship from the side. Boats with multiple sails are pretty cool looking.

The profile is striking, thank you for checking out my blog @nathanweeksart! Hope you are enjoying your Monday.

This boat looks epic and legendary and makes me want to sail around the world right freakin NOW!

PS. I love the picture that shows the pirate flag on the red sails. So cool. Ultimate adventure boat.

She was built for adventure, I had my share aboard her! I love her red sails as well, they are called tanbark sails and are that color to mimic old sails that had been tanned. They tanned their sails back then to make them last longer. Thank you for looking @happymoneyman.

The old style sails really make it look unique. I loved it.

Oh, it's amazing! I'm delighted with your photos and exciting history! Thank you dear! 😘😗😙😗😘🤗🤗🤗

You are so welcome, glad to delight you! Thank you for reading.

I like this. Thanks for posting.

I am so glad you liked it, thank you for taking the time to look at it!

Very cool. I live on a lake and have toyed with the idea of a sailboat for a while. I enjoyed reading this.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. If you have dreamed about it you should do it! It is a wonderful experience everyone should have if they don't need stuff. Its a minimalistic life but so rewarding. Thank you for looking!

She's an absolute beauty!! I'm jealous :)

Do you sail her single handed?

Sometimes I did, she was all traditional rigging, so it was more fun if I had help with the heavy everything. Thanks for reading!

George is my kind of people!

You are such a wonderful spirit and I cherish being able to see your imprint on the winds and earth. <3

I love what you wrote @mamadini! What beautiful words, thank you so much. George is amazing, one of a kind, life changer. I have received a lot of wisdom from him.

I can see he possesses it! Funny how it shows in some people, like a beacon to the open of heart.

How absolutely amazing! One of these days my family will come down from the mountains and find our own lovely version of Faith and maybe we'll run into you... unless of course you move to the mountains ( :

I did move to the mountains, but they are right over the sea. And I would love to run into you and your family on the water. I will always have a foot in the ocean. Thanks for reading my blog @jayjayjeffery!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41