Color Challenge - Monday Red - Strawberry Harvest

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

This year the strawberries have taken off and done extremely well. Ever bearing are really the way to go as they produce berries all summer long. The initial flush is always a bit funky with some weird shaped berries and scattered production, but once the first flush is over the berries gain in size and improve their form.

IMG_20170620_143941398.jpg

2.5 pounds in the left tub is pretty good. The total weight of all 3 containers was just over 10 pounds.

IMG_20170617_135116194.jpg

I am thinking the red plastic mulch may be helping the growth of the strawberries given the levels of anecdotal evidence that is available. Even if not, at least it helps with the weeds. The main row on the right was transplanted from a patch that became overgrown with weeds. The rows help keep the strawberries more orderly and not quite so wild and out of control.

IMG_20170619_115610486.jpg


Camera: Motorola Droid Phone

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!


Join the SteemitHomesteaders Slack Channel! Image is Invite Link.


http://SteemitHomesteaders.slack.com

Sort:  

Looking delicious. Good harvest.

I have ever bearing strawberries, I started getting my red berries in Early July and I am still picking. Thanks for sharing

Honestly I don't know why there are other types aside from everbearing at this point. It's crazy the difference in taste between a store bought strawberry and a homegrown or foraged one.

Could not agree more

A really good haul. Red plastic mulch, hmmm...perhaps it was the extra heat applied to the roots and the fact the ground didn't dry out as quickly...

Plastic mulch in general achieves those same goals for the most part, the red mulch plays more with the reflected light spectrum.

Red Mulch

Increases tomato yields!
Agricultural plastics technology has been brought to a new level by the US Department of Agriculture and Clemson University with the development of a reflecting red mulch film called Selective Reflecting Mulch or SRM-Red. This material, a thin plastic film, performs like black mulch, warming the soil and retaining moisture, but there is one important difference. When used with tomato crops, SRM-Red has been shown in USDA tests to increase production from 12-20% of first quality early tomatoes when compared to black mulch. This dramatic increase results from the film reflecting far-red light up into the plant. Strawberries also benefit from SRM-Red.
Source

Good to know...

Great Job.

Just yesterday i saw this news about family farming strawberry with very few chems and using a sealed greenhouse, watter collect and beekepers!!!
http://g1.globo.com/economia/agronegocios/globo-rural/noticia/2017/09/familia-produz-morangos-sem-agrotoxicos-e-com-selo-verde-no-rs.html

That is super cool to see the push for better methods in other countries. Part of the problems with big ag is the sacrificing quality and using far more chemicals to keep the costs down. Economy of scale unfortunately.

My Nana had "a green thumb". She had amazing plants growing in the windowsill of a high rise condo building in Chicago! Not strawberries, but huge aloe vera plants and herbs like basil and mint.

She swore by burying a banana peel in her potting soil. Have you ever heard of that?

Generally burying the banana peel is a quick shot of nutrients since the peel breaks down fairly rapidly and they are high in I think calcium and magnesium.

I guess they really work magic because with the climate and limited sunlight she was working with, it's amazing what she was able to grow!

I really should do something like thatt with my strawberry plants. The patch has gotten overgrown.
I've heard about using the red sheet mulch for tomato plants, but I haven't been able to find any around here. I'll probably have to order it on line.

I got mine online. There are plenty of sites to get it from. I got mine from Peaceful Valley, but even Amazon has rolls listed.

My plants were all panted in a 6 x 6 square plot and they got over run with grass so I pulled them all up and transplanted them into the row. As they have put of runners I have planted the row to the left. I am seriously in need of another pruning of runners as they are all rooting willy nilly...

Yeah, that's how mine got this year too, they're going everywhere...

Yummy. You can see my strawberrys on my blog :)

Wow..amazing harcmvest wish i could do some of my tomato soon..but it takes more months lol..

I presume you are in the southern hemisphere then so just coming into spring. That is one of the super cool parts of Steemit, we get to watch the other side of the world, the opposite season and their gardens while we are loosing ours and going into winter. At least I can oogle other people's plants if if I don't have any at the moment.

I'm from philippines noy yet winterbspring here,but we have low pressure as of now..😊

Good photos, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste, you have my vote :D greetings

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @flemingfarm to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56