Color Challenge – Wednesday Yellow – A Gold Dollar

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

I took a couple of photos of this gold dollar coin but I must admit that it is not mine. It belongs to my husband who received it from his grandfather years ago. It is a 1853 Gold Liberty Head dollar piece. Still looking pretty after all these years too! I have a very small coin collection myself but it is mostly silver. I don’t have a “steemit” silver round yet but hey, if anyone has an extra one and wants to send one my way then please do! 😉

golddollarcoin1.jpg

golddollarcoin2.jpg

Thank you @kalemandra for #colorchallenge!!

steemusadeerjay.png

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

sweet! James B. Longacre's first design (it has the exact same Liberty head that is on the Liberty Head Double Eagle).

If you look closely at the face profile of the:

Indian Head Cent,
the other $1 gold pieces (types II and III),
as well as the $3 Gold Piece...

you'll notice that they all have the same perfect Longacre-designed profile! My favorite engraver!

Thanks @orionsbeltbuckle and pretty cool. I looked them up and definitely see the likenesses. It's a beautiful coin! I wish I had one of those Liberty Head Double Eagles! 😉

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!! 😊

Congratulations @deerjay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ok that is so happy if I looked

😐

What a wonderful old gold piece, Dee. Has it ever been appraised? I sometimes watch “Pawn Stars’ and old coins are worth a lot. They are located in Las Vegas. 🤗

Thanks Jo! We did it again..we were at each others pages at the same time..lol! Never appraised but doing a rough search it looks to have a worth of under 500. It has much more sentimental value for him though.

Great minds thinking alike again Dee. 😂. Yes, I can see the gold coin would be worth more as sentimental value and a it is a great conversation piece. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72