Color Challenge Thursday Green - Mable’s Rose Garden

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

On my recent trip to the Ringling Museum in Sarasota, Florida, I visited Mable Ringling’s Rose Garden. It is laid out in a an Italian style, with columns and statues mixed in with the roses and palm trees.

2725A9C4-9D45-413A-A015-3559737E232F.jpeg

The statues are rather old and have an interesting mix of lichen discoloring the stone.

13679FD2-6C1B-4987-B1C1-D5503BA181AA.jpeg

67E94811-869D-4DA5-A624-9B6B1BBE3D42.jpeg

The walkways were crushed shells, which seemed very appropriate for the Florida coast.

160C8FD0-5F59-4230-ADCC-B6DC69322942.jpeg

I loved this mosaic on the walkway from the garden to the mansion.

81523AD8-DC80-45E0-84AE-FB2EF580F945.jpeg

This is my contribution to @kalemandra’s Color Challenge Thursday Green. I took these shots with my Sony A7ii.

#thealliance

6BF91EE7-A055-41A2-B69F-BC8305530E24.gif
E0FCFCC6-23B8-4128-AEDB-9AC947FA5C70.jpeg

Sort:  

I would call this place heaven! I'm reblogging this because I love it!

Thanks! I appreciate your support!

My pleasure!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Fisrt and forth one are really great. Mostly the forth one. I hope you win the challenge :)

Thanks. It is just a theme, not really a contest.

That place looks so nice and the mosaic is gorgeous! 💚

I agree on the mosaic. It had kind of a Wizard of Oz feel to it.

What a stunning place, I love those old statue the little cherub grinning is quite funny.

I love the crushed shell walkways with the flower borders, and that mosiac is just stunning. A great share thank you.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thanks. I loved the look of the cherub as well!

You are making me wish I would have visited there on one of my Florida trips! Oh, I did send my City Kids to visit the Marquette in Chicago on your recommendation and they went this week and really enjoyed it. My new daughter-in-law is having fun exploring her new city.

Great! I’m glad you passed the Marquette along! As to the Ringling property, I really didn’t have high expectations, but can easily see why it is the top tourist destination in that area. And we didn’t even get time to visit the art museum and some other attractions on the property. Next trip we’ll see the rest. Have a great week!

I promise that if you come to Wisconsin you would be equally as impressed by the Circus World Museum in Baraboo. Did you go up to the other floors in the Marquette? The kids wanted to, but were not clear if it was open to the public. My son works nearby, and hopes to go back and see more.

No, we didn’t get upstairs at the Marquette. I’m not sure they would have allowed it but we were kind of pressed for time. I’ll have to add Baraboo to my bucket list!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43