Ulcerative colitis strikes again! Just when the day was so perfect...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #colitis7 years ago

Ulcerative colitis sucks. Really sucks. And when you forget for a minute how much it sucks, it makes sure to remind you in a very immediate and violent way.

This has happened more times that I could count, and yesterday was another such nasty reminder.

The day started off just perfect. UC was a little active in the morning, but I saw that as a good sign - it would "get out of my system" for the day just as the meds kicked in. I'd then be free to go out on the town, enjoying Vienna with old and new friends. Awesome.

Walking through Vienna's MAK (aka, Museum of Applied Arts), there were some rumblings in my tummy. Ok, a warning sign for sure, but nothing too urgent - and plenty of bathrooms around without an immediate need to use them.

Museum.JPG

When we got to a traditional Viennese cafe - Café Prückel (http://www.prueckel.at/) - to eat dinner, the rumblings intensified, so I was ready to add a new bathroom to my Instagram account: https://www.instagram.com/colitistravel/. Here is where I probably made my first mistake. I ordered a Farmer's Omelette (without onions) as a solid, non-dairy option. But I did order it with ham, which may not be the best idea. Nor were the green peas, a mistake I'm repeating today since I never learn. (Ultimately, who knows? It's so hard to isolate bad foods with colitis.)

But after eating dinner, there were no signs of needing to use the bathroom. I'd rather get some relief right there, but if my body says no - what can I do? Next up, delicious vegan desserts with beautiful herbal tea at the absolute coolest spot in Vienna, Fett + Zucker (fat & sugar): http://www.fettundzucker.at/.

Queer.JPG

If you're ever in Vienna Europe World, go there! The desserts were unbelievably delicious. The apple crumble was exactly like my grandma used to make (imagine finding the flavor you love haven't tasted in 30 years!). And the atmosphere, the art, the people. Very alternative. Very inclusive. Very best.

Anyway, the best things about this place were probably the worst for my health, having ordered two desserts and trying pieces of two more (one tiny bite had nuts in it - heavenly carrot cake). When will I ever learn that sugar is bad, especially for colitis? When will I learn to stop at one dessert? Yeah, never sounds right.

Desserts.JPG

Since I still felt ok, on we went to continue our adventures, or rather to go home to recharge for more. And then the beat dropped colitis hit. At the train station (so typical).

This is when Vienna's metro public bathroom system saved me. The first time. One look at that toilet was an immediate "oh hell no" - but when ulcerative colitis hits, it's not the time for being picky.

MetroWC.JPG

I cannot describe the pain and frustration of my time in that bathroom (everyone with Crohn's or colitis knows), but I felt a lot better afterwards, all the while thinking how embarrassing it would be not to make it (happened too often back home). Still cramped up, I kept going onwards to try to make it home.

A few train stations later, it hit again. This one didn't have a public bathroom, so I was saved by a hotel. Wish I remembered the name to thank them. Very nice receptionist. Great bathroom!

HOtel.JPG

So... all good now? Not even. The end station was either being used or locked, so... hoping it wouldn't hit just yet. Luckily, at that point, the worst was over and made it to a highway rest area in time.

RestAreaWC.JPG

That place... wow, in a better condition and with more time, I'd spend an hour hanging out there. Cool animal statues, fusball(!!) table, and the typical junk candy in the shop was not at all junk. I was drooling.

Animals.JPG

Made it safely home without much damage and very thankful for it. But the lesson remains: no matter how good a day you're having, ulcerative colitis can always say "nope."

Sort:  

Congratulations @dkieve! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dkieve! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64