100th day Celebration | Coffee Story Writing Challenge - Win 5SBD

in #coffeestory6 years ago

Hello, fellow Steemians! It's been 4 days since I was able to write. First is because of the company gathering and for the last two days I was attacked by a 38.8°C flu. And I really hate that feeling. Lying in bed for 2 days is a pain in the ass. I hate getting sick as its affecting every activity that I am planning to do. Like the "Drive Around the City of Manila" which is my series here on Steemit. Because of the hell feeling of colds and back pain, I was not able to drive.

Anyway, I am here in full throttle and speeding up, celebrating my 100th day on wonderful Steemit.

100.png

It's a bit too late though, but as everyone's excuse, It's better late than never. Lol.

I can still remember my first week here on Steemit. Where I still wondering what do I need to do to have those triple digits upvotes. My #introduceyourself post got $24 worth of upvotes. After that, every post has less than a piece. But lo and behold! after several days and weeks, my post about Rules of Survival has been noticed by @curie and got an amazing reward of whopping $69 worth of upvote. That was the day I was inspired to write more, knowing that there is someone, somewhere will appreciate our effort in writing such content with Q-U-A-L-I-T-Y.

Ok, in this celebration, I'm not going to mention anymore that @dearjyoce was the one who invited me to Steem and @zararina help me to get curated by @curie. oops! There I said it again. Don't blame me, I just want to thank these two wonderful people.

Anyway, to celebrate my 100th day, which is technically 103rd today, I will be giving away a total of 15 SBD. But not giving it way like just give away. Let's have a writing contest.

During my first month on this platform, I mostly post about #coffee. Because it is the easiest topic that I can think of, as it is aligned with my work being a barista.

Coffee is one the highest consumed beverage in the world, And 8 out of 10 people do drink coffee in the morning, while 4 out of 10 having several cups in one day. And that includes me. But not all really know how to appreciate this wonderful beverage. Whether an instant one or from your favorite barista of your favorite coffee shop in town.

Drinking and appreciating coffee has the same art and science like wine. Yes, coffee came from a cherry fruit and didn't just sprout on the soil. This coffee was meticulously taken care of by several people in order to deliver the best quality to us consumers.

20180107_115358.jpg

Farmers

Coffee farmers taking care of the coffee trees for 9 months to have a red sweet cherry, harvest them by hand picking to prevent damage and only come up with a pound of coffee beans per tree. And that only makes about approximately 30 cups. Imagine how many trees needed to provide a cup of coffee for every people in the world.

Roasters

Master roasters are literally taking care of the coffee beans from time to time in order to prevent cracking and breaking of the beans. Beans should be bag and delivered as a whole to preserved flavors. And a little extension of time in roasting will make a big difference in its flavor.

Cupping

There are people that have been hired to taste of different varieties of coffee every day. They are the Cuppers. They taste hundreds to thousands of coffees every day to make sure that flavor has well taken care of. Imagine waking up in the morning, taking a shower and voila, your first 20 cups of coffee is ready on your table. Don't you worry, they do not swallow them, they spit them out once the flavor is recorded.

The Challenge

So for this contest, I want you to write a story, experience that includes coffee. Whether a love story or an adventure. As long as it is connected with coffee.

In our daily sessions of coffee tasting at work, we appreciate the flavor of coffee through reminiscing. How the flavor reminds us of place or experience and the best food that can be pair with our coffee. There a lot of stories behind coffees, and what I want to read is your story about this beverage. Will it be a life-saving story or a love story over a cup. Write about it.

I'm not good at writing though, but ever since I joined Steemit, I fell in love with reading stories, especially those personal experiences such as travel, homesteading and life.

This is a challenge for everyone, but I will only choose 3 writers that will win 5 SBD each. And it will be chosen by me and my wife @essiehime.

I will be looking for the most wonderful story. A story that will excite me or bring me tears. You can also include the food you always want to go with your cup of coffee. I am excited to read those stories.

Rules

1.) As usual, resteem this post to be visible for more numbers of Steemians who wants to join.

2.) Upvote is not required but will be a help to promote the challenge.

3.) Use #coffeestory as one of the tags for easy searching, and comment your entry in this post.

4.) Minimum of 700 words.

5.) A photo is not required but better if have at least one.

Submission is until April 3, 2018, at 21:00 UTC (+8). And the announcement of winners will be 2-3 days after depending on the number of entries.

Share the word and share your stories.

Thank You!


UPVOTE, FOLLOW, RESTEEM


I am a part of the following respected groups:

DQmcbB1Sq9wLKXAXBdtg95FRwwSNfGvAeYDmQBP2VQCcbAY[1].png

FB_IMG_1516053153789.jpg

member.gif

I also support and believe the initiatives of the following witnesses:

@steemgigs@adsactly-witness
@aggroed@ausbitbank
@clayop@curie
@jerrybanfield@steemitboard
@thecryptodrive@themarkymark
@blocktrades@qurator



To cast your vote, just click here.

Sort:  

This post has been selected by Altruistic as a post of the day and has been given an upvote. Thanks to @maverickinvictus for nominating it.
You may join us on her discord server: https://discord.gg/KHB9eJk.

Please kindly upvote this comment in order to keep us helping plankton and minnows that their quality posts are undervalued.

I love your contest and since I love coffee I will join!

@alvinauh had a great this is my hobby entry to anomadsoul's contest but he might be interested to join on this one as well haha

Hahaha.. looking forward for your entry man! But I don't want to be bias, so it's not a sure win bro.. Let's see. Lol.

I'm gonna check that out. Sure he can, it's open for everyone, I would love to see more entries.

Coffee i really have never tasted that stuff can u believe that i would one day though.
This is my entry:
https://steemit.com/coffeestory/@ehisoria/life-saver

Great contest. I will try to write my small story related to coffee.
I hope i get curated by some good curation groups. I put a lot of efforts in my posts but hardly get a dollar. It takes 2-3 days to write a blog which ends up earning hardly $1.

Don't be dismayed man. Just keep on writing great stuff and soon all of us will swim together with whales. Just enjoy the beauty of Steemit through learning and gaining new friends.

Hopefully.
Do visit my latest post on trip to Bhutan. It has done quite well now. My first successful post.

I love coffee! And good thing I have a funny story to share for this contest! :)

@chinitacharmer, I'm sure you have something to share and I am looking forward to your story. :)

Very nice contest... I saw it late but i have a very funny to share... This is my entry. https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@sparrowbernard/my-entry-into-coffee-story-writing-challenge-by-davinsh

As a support definitely I will join this contest! Btw is it going to be an English post or is it okay to write it in our local language?

Whichever is okay for sure I will join on this one. Hahaha

@tpkidkai, I prefer it to be in English so that most audience could read your story.

Looking forward for your entry. :)

Here's my entry! 😍 Thanks for hosting this contest! I had fun!

The Day I Tasted the World's Most Expensive Coffee Made From Poop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54