Do You Enjoy Coffee? What Do You Consider Too Much?

in #coffee8 years ago

I LOVE Coffee

Coffee and real european style espresso, are two taste sensations I particularly enjoy savoring. Real espresso, straight, is a smooth and sweet treat, wrapped in a texture and flavor sensation. The caffeine is a smooth kick, with an easy let off and no crash.

Quality coffee, with a dash of real soy milk. You know soy milk, right? When you purchase it in a store, the ingredients list says "organic soybeans and filtered water." And nothing else! :) The combination is just amazing for me, the velvety sensation is a delight as well.

I'm the Kind of Guy Who Can Taste/Feel Fabric Softener From 15 Feet Away

Seriously, if you use two dryer sheets in a full dryer of clothes, I can actually feel and taste the oils coming off your shirt or pants from about 15 feet away, no fans. Dry three loads of laundry, one with zero fabric softener, one with one sheet and one with 2 sheets. Mix all the loads into one big pile. I can literally pick up a piece of clothing and immediately toss it into a pile with the rest of the clothes from that load. Within minutes, and without pause or looking, I can sort the loads, 100% accurately. I'm sensitive enough to be able to feel the difference between fabric softener levels. Crazy.

Back to Coffee!

Coffee isn't good for me, not more than a cup once in a while anyway. I drink a pot of coffee a day, when I'm drinking it regularly. I much prefer european espresso, due to the difference in caffeine, a lot of regular coffee makes me bitchy and jittery. lol

How Much Coffee Do You Drink A Day?

  • One Cup?
  • Two Cups?
  • One Pot?
  • Two Pots?

Do You Ever Take Break For a While?

Sort:  

I've recently started to get into low acid French roasts and some Italian, especially for cold brew. I do enjoy a nice breakfast blend here and there for some extra caffeine though.

See, low acid is where I want to head next.
I love the caffeine, just gets me too acidic when I drink as much as I'd like. :)

What's your experience with cold brew? I've only tried full beans in a jar of r/o and always get that 'old grounds' hint of flavor. Granted, most people are not as sensitive as I am. lol

The best low acid coffee i've had surprisingly is Trader Joe's Low Acid French Roast. Makes quite possibly the best cold brew i've ever had. The method i used for that is fresh ground beans in a plastic tub, 1 cup coffee to 4 cups water. Filtering out the grounds was a pain though. I now use Primula MyBev which has a "capsule" in the center for the grounds to steep in the water.

Wow, wouldn't have thought to check a Trader Joe's but there you go. :)

Oh, you grind the beans first? LOL Makes sense I guess, I'll have to try that. :) Ty

I usually grind 24 grams of beans in the morning, which amounts to about two cups of coffee. I have a Kalita handbrew set, so it has become sort of a morning ritual. I prefer light roast filter coffee.

That's interesting, pre-measuring would definitely be something to look into. Right now I just make a pot in the morning, eyeballing the grinder level. :)

Since I don't have espresso equipment capable of creating european style espresso, I too make coffee by hand pouring hot water through the grounds. I have to confess that my 'handbrew' set is just an old coffee maker which ceased to function. lol

Light roast has the highest caffeine content. Yum!

I think more than 2 cups a day is too much. I drink up to 2 cups a day but do go over that at times. Of course I don't drink normal coffee either. I put butter in mine and that's it.

Good on you. I find the acidity of a full pot to be detrimental to my health.

Butter! Wow. Have you tried Ghee? :D

I drink a lot of coffee. And by a lot I mean it's my water. I take a break from it once a year for about a month and switch to green tea. I really enjoy both coffee and tea, but coffee is my go to.

I like my coffee like I like my women... cold and bitter.

LOL
I love green tea as well. I've just finished my last can of Kicking Horse coffee for a few weeks, we'll be on green tea as well.

Have you tried making your own Kombucha?

I have not. I love kombucha and my mom actually makes it all the time, so there is really no need for me to bother with it. I actually finally talked my mom into making kombucha and homemade goat milk yogurt and selling it pirately... err privately.

LOL Awesome!
It's sooo cheap to make. Good one! :D

When I was younger, I had three or four big, strong cups of coffee every day. As I've gotten older, my adrenals don't fare well at that. Coffee seems to be a way of borrowing energy from the future, and, for me, the bill comes due a couple of times a year. Even drinking only one cup a day, in the morning, I crash bad for a week, and usually stop coffee for a month or so before I can't stand it any more and start the cycle over again.

Coffee withdrawal for me is three days of misery: low energy and a dull headache in the middle of the forehead, then another three or four days of improving energy, until I'm weaned completely in a week.

Ouch :(
I would be interested to see your pH levels. That's the main reason I have problems with coffee is the acidity of it. As my body becomes more acidic, red blood cells are unable to carry as much oxygen. I live 2 miles above sea level now and have become more aware of this process.

I'm only too familiar with the dull headache. lol I try to keep my consumption low enough I don't get that anymore. Not always successful though. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44