To learn to code or not PT.5

in #coding6 years ago (edited)

Image Source


It's been a long time since I talked about my adventure or so I'd like to call it because it is a new experience for me even though I have been struggling to do it for a long time. I believe the last time I made a to learn to code or not to series post was approximately 2 months ago. I can't believe it's been so long since my last post and I think it's time I updated everyone on what I have been up to and hopefully, you guys can keep me motivated.

Many of you might have picked up programming at one point or another and felt overwhelmed by it. Learning to code can either be easy or very difficult depending on the amount of time you spend on and let's be honest there aren't many resources online that can make learning it very easy. I have been practicing Javascript on the phaser engine since my goal is to recreate Browserquest. There had been many days where I wasn't able to use the phaser engine to practice but I did use what free time I had to keep myself learning on a mobile app SoloLearn as well as on Codecademy.


Image Source

SoloLearn makes learning easier because it divides everything into small modules with quizzes so that your understanding can be checked but it teaches you a slightly older version of Javascript. As a lot of programmers know Javascript has a newer version ES6 or ECMAScript 6. Codecademy confused in the beginning when I recently got back on the website. A lot of their tutorials had changed and I went through the first few lessons and learned that instead of using var there are two new ways of defining variables. let and const, one lets you create a variable that is changeable while the other makes sure that the variable remains constant.

This kind of confused me in the beginning because everything I was learning so far was a slightly older version but I guess if I get used to the new syntax it would make things easier for me in the future should var be deprecated. It also means I won't have to worry about changing the values of those variables that I want to keep constant at all time. Anyways enough of my analysis of the new changes and more towards what I have learned so far. I understand variables, arithmetic operations, and conditionals really well and can even use them without much problem but I am still having a difficult time with objects. Functions don't seem to pose much of a problem to me and with the new short arrow syntaxes for both of them, I believe the code will look much simpler. Hopefully, the new phaser engine will let me try out ES6 to code.


Image Source

I know what objects are but I haven't been able to completely use them in a code to get a better understanding and am still scratching my head from time to time on how best to make use of them. I have reset my progress in both SoloLearn and on Codecademy plenty of times to go through the basics over and over again and finish the Objects module but I am hesitant to move forward. I wish there were some exercises that I could do before continuing in order to gain a better understanding of it all.

That doesn't mean I won't stop learning, I know these apps and sites will only teach me the basic fundamentals of programming but if they had some exercises and challenges for me to complete it would make things so much easier. Learning to design a game using the tutorials available on the phaser.io website is good but then again I wonder if it will really help me in the future? I mean I might get used to just memorizing what someone else is doing and if faced with a program in the code, later on, it might pose a great hurdle for me.

What do you guys think I should do? Should I continue on or should I perhaps try a different approach to learning to code? Any comments and advice on the subject are welcome and will be really appreciated.

Thank you for taking your time to read this post and much love to each and every one of you. <3

Kyrios


!steemitworldmap 16.2289339 lat 119.1449184 long baguio city, Philippines! d3scr

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kyrios to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=kyrios
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=to-learn-to-code-or-not-pt-5


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jybrael from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Just go forward!

Thank you @aaronli, I intend to keep going forward with learning to program but what I am more worried about is getting a better understanding and proper practices.

Continue and improve the skills you already have. Goodluck!

Thank you @monkeypattycake, I will continue to improve on the skills that I already have. :)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Perhaps just try practicing? I find that learning sometimes can be counterproductive but starting a project and slowly solving the coding issues helps more.

I want to try that but I want to go with easy exercises to build up on problem solving and work my way towards harder ones.

I think that you still need to keep trying new things and ways to learn until you find something that works for you - you have made decision to learn, so keep getting those basic fundamentals, so from there you can grow and go onto who knows what.

Thank you @hopehuggs, I will keep striving to learn new things in order to both better myself as well as experience some new things, thanks for always being around and motivating me :)

hi kyrios! :) very cool post. coding seems cool and fun to learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61