The Steemit COCKTAIL OF THE DAY… DAY 6 -- Created For A Steemian We All Know For His Well Crafted Prose!

in #cocktails8 years ago (edited)

The Steemit

COCKTAIL OF THE DAY… DAY 6

"Making a proper cocktail is an art"


For so many of us Mondays can be a drag -- back to the daily grind… So, as it comes to an end, what's better, than to unwind with a perfectly balanced cocktail.., and just let those Monday blues just slip away…

This cocktail was a unique challenge for me… I wanted to create something that would incorporate some of our, esteemed authors traits… We know that he likes vintage watches, that harken back to a time long past. We also know he can write like the wind.., beautifully crafting his thoughts to swirl around in your mind… So, like I said -- It was a challenge. Ladies -- Gentlemen -- STEEMIANS… I bring to you -- THE ALARM CLOCK DAWN

This is a riff (completely original) on a cocktail that Ernest Hemingway, himself, made famous, about life and death. I hope you all enjoy it!


THE ALARM CLOCK DAWN 

Ingredients:

  • 1 oz Hendricks Gin
  • 1/2 oz Dolin Dry Vermouth (extremely light and crisp)
  • 3-4 raspberries
  • 3-4 blackberries
  • 2-3 mint leaves
  • Absinthe Rinse
  • Top with a quality champagne (brut)
  • Chilled Cocktail (coupe) Glass Or Champagne Glass


The wicked (in a good way) and intense flavor of the absinthe combined with the lightness of the vermouth and balanced off with the sweetness of the berries… Makes this quite a unique cocktail.


Preparation:

  • In a mixing glass add:
  • Add raspberries, blackberries and mint leaves
  • Muddle well, very well
  • Add Gin and Vermouth
  • Shake it like a dickens -- Shake it to break it!
  • Add Absinthe to your chilled glass and swirl it around, coating the entire inside of the glass
  • Dump the absinthe out of the glass (your glass should be beautifully lined that Green Fairy)
  • Pour the contents of your mixing glass into the chilled cocktail glass
  • Fill with a quality brut champagne
  • Garnish with mint leaf and a 2 or 3 blackberries

Notes: 

  • An Absinthe Rinse is when you pour about a 1/4 oz of absinthe in an empty glass and swirl it around, coating the whole inside of the glass.
  • Back in the day.., in the 1830's -- at Peychauds Apothecary, where the first cocktail with absinthe was created -- The Sazerac… When the bartenders were done swirling the absinthe around the inside of the glass -- to empty the remaining absinthe, they would throw the glass up in the air and yell -- SAZERAC! 
  • So, if you feel the urge as you prepare to pamper your tastebuds… Toss that glass up in the air, and let out a hearty yell -- STEEMIT!

Funny Note: 

  • Beside the mint leaf as a garnish… I also had 3 or 4 blackberries floating around the mint -- but the cocktail waitress ate them before we snapped the photo :)) :))

Steemians you have just mixed-up a cocktail a cocktail Ernest Hemingway, himself.., would be proud to pound. Now sit back, pop open the latest chapter of our favorite novel, Alarm Clock Dawn… Enjoy.., you deserve it!

CHEERS!

Tomorrows cocktail is still swirling around in my head.., so for now, it will have to remain a surprise… But I promise to deliver!

And don't forget to stop back tomorrow for more...


Sort:  

Ha ha awesome @ericvancewalton deserves it he's amazeballs!

That's right @soulsistashakti... He is definitely BADASS!

Thanks @soulsistashakti 😊

I don't know what say, man... Thank you sooooooo much @ericvancewalton

You're very welcome! Are you on Facebook?

I am... But not a big fan.

I'm less of a fan of FB nearly every day.

Keep an eye out for that Green Fairy...CHEERS!

My wife and I are sitting here in awe @macksby. You are a mind reader, Sir. Seriously...Absinthe is one of my favorite liquors and Hendricks is my favorite gin. This sounds delicious, the next time I'm in the city I'll treat you to one. Thank you so much! I'll include a link to this in my novel post for tomorrow. Cheers!

Ahhhhhh.... 'And he lets out a HUGE sigh of relief...' It's really not that amazing, I've had people tailing you for a few weeks, now :)) :)) - Im so glad you are happy with it -- But the first few rounds are on me.., plus, Im going to have to make them... I wouldn't trust anyone else to do it justice. I mean, it's your cocktail. Thank you so much @ericvancwalton

Lol! I thought I felt someone looking over my shoulder. I'll take you up to that. My brother and I were just discussing a trip into the city, he visits there once a month for work. Thanks again!

Sounds like a plan... I was happy to do it. And Thank you, again!

Sounds delicious. Definitely going to follow you for more cocktails. Do a vodka one next!

Thanks @baodog, I appreciate it. Check out the Steemit Cocktail of the Day 3. A Fairy Tale Life.., It's made with Tito's Vodka, Olive Oil, Basil and some other yummy stuff. It'll knock your socks off! But Im sure there is another vodka cocktail coming down the pipe. CHEERS!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Great stuff. What I would like to see though are some larger pictures of the drink, just to get a better sense of what the end result looks like.
(and I'm not refering to a hangover)

Hey @macksby. I'd like to offer you an autographed copy of the novel. Can you please email me your mailing address when you have a chance at [email protected]? Hope all is well!

Hey @ericvancewalton -- that is extremely nice of you, man -- i would love an autographed copy of this amazing novel. It has brought me so much fun, pleasure, joy, etc., etc... by reading along. I will definitely shoot you an email. Thanks again!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26