CNC adventures, part 3: Cutting something complicated!

in #cnc7 years ago

I needed to test the precision of my new laser...

Stencil3.jpg

So I took a .jpg file and converted it into a .svg file in Inkscape by using the "tracing bitmap"-function. I imported that into Autodesk Fusion 360 CAD program and extruded it in the model environment. I switched to the CAM environment and made a G-code file for the CNC machine to read, turned out to be more than 100 000 lines of direction changes!!

UCCNC stencil.jpg

Here it is at line 79229 and it still has some way to go... I run the 3.5W laser at 50% power and 600mm/s, cuts paper easily at that setting!
After 22 minutes the laser was ready and here is the result:

Stencil2.jpg

Another picture with the loose paper pieces removed:

Stencil1.jpg

It turned out way better than I had expected, success!! Just one flaw in the upper right hand corner, I must remember to send a M11 G-code before turning the power to the laser on, otherwise it will start lasing as soon as it gets power...

Thank you for reading, I will try to upload a short video of the laser soon!

Sort:  

Great works, I wish you success

Thank you @shihabieee!

Wow that is frickin awesome!! Nice job.

Thank you @jlsplatts! I'm quite satisfied myself... ;-)

This post has received a 7.69 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @almvide.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a 4.03 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @almvide.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-09-01 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55