I Landed in China and Found New England. What a Surprise!

in #cn7 years ago

Dalian China has built a stunning life sized functioning New England town to give the locals a taste of America.



This is one my favourite places in Dalian luckily I discovered it soon after arriving 4 years ago. It’s really more of a daytime, summer place than a nighttime place since in the day you can take better pictures. Today was overcast during my lunch break when I went out to take the shots but I think I managed to capture the mood nicely.

The picture below is actually one I took last week and is the very first photo taken with my new phone, it was a sunny morning, I also posted that picture last week in a previous post.

To be honest Dalian is too young of a city to have that old architecture western people come to associate with China’s image abroad. It’s mostly “Mao era” buildings which are in turn being rebuilt in a more western image. Dalian is a great city to live in but if you want traditional China and all its glory you best choose another city to live in but worth visit as it's an important spot to check out if you’re travelling.

See my other post “I Landed In China and Found Venice” also a Dalian marvel of architecture. One of my first posts ever. How things have changed since 3 months ago.
https://steemit.com/cn/@solarguy/i-landed-in-china-and-found-venice

Back when Steemit was flush with money. lol

All photos were taken with my DTEK 50 camera phone. I didn’t touch any of the setting, still factory. They have been resized and cropped.

Come along, follow me, let me take you on tour. It’s not that sunny but that means less crowds, well it’s a cool cloudy mid autumn Monday so most things are closed.

The view as I approach. It's about a 10 min taxi or 20 min bus without traffic from my home downtown.

During nice summer days and nights it's really quite bustling with cafes and restaurants along the water. If you arrived blindfolded you might not believe you're in China. With tons of walkways and corridors its like a small maze of New England.

Around ever corner is another piece of New England to taste. Ice cream and other shops with a feel unlike China.

Did you land by pirate ship? Well there's a bar for you.

The courtyard is very comfortable with lots of umbrellas and a Gelato truck with California plates.

This Jazz Bar is very popular with local expats and Chinese for its local talent and all round good vibes. The music is always live and always awesome. Both Chinese and Western musicians play but it's not cheap (in Chinese terms) you can easily drop 300RMB per person on drinks but its a good night out. Go with friends for the best time. It's actually quite big with a spacious dance floor and stage.

Or if you just want to sit by the water with some take out and watch the tide roll out and boats come and go you might run into me.

A very posh banquet hall for weddings and large special events. Everytime I come here there's always a couple getting wedding photos taken. Rain or Shine, Hot or Cold. Even today.

I managed to get a quick pic of the bride, the groom totally caught me. lol

Complete with an inaccessible fairy tale castle. I tried to get closer but there is an inpenatrable gate and a minder.

I often find myself at one of these cafes for ice tea or beer depends who I'm with and what's going on. Or I get a to go cup and sit closer to the water.

This cafe has cats running around you can play with. Sofa's and big tables decent beverages not much for food. Good place to meet friends and make friends.

It is an active fishing wharf not just for show. Well, it's mostly for show. I have never really seen a lot of activity and those big boats are always in the same spot. Some of the smaller boats do go in and out and I did manage a small chat with one of the local fisherman and got a picture of his small catch.

Lot's of activity here in the summer. It's probably a little more expensive than most people would spend though some very expensive cars must come by.

It wouldn't be complete without a McDonald's.

Well, That's Fisherman's Wharf Dalian. Good place to take a date. At night it really lights up with life and lights.

I have more pictures of Fisherman's Wharf on my website. Feel free to check em out.
http://www.solarthings.ca/single-post/2016/10/25/Fishermans-Wharf-Dalian-China


I hope you found this article interesting and unique..

任何时候来投票都行 我所有的票数是100% 倡导可持续发展的未来

Please see other posts of my Life in China 请参阅我在中国生活的其他邮件
https://steemit.com/life/@solarguy/dalian-china-summer-s-end-canadian-style-bbq-bbq
https://steemit.com/cn/@solarguy/my-trip-into-an-abandoned-defunct-chinese-bomb-shelter
https://steemit.com/cn/@solarguy/a-truly-haunted-place-i-discovered-in-the-hillside-of-dalian

Sort:  

It reminds me of Mystic CT in a lot of ways. Maybe some towns on the cape? and definitely a little bit of Providence in there. Looks like a fun trip.

yes very east coast feel. lobster on the menu too. ^^

Fantastic pics. Too bad it was a little cloudy. Great post, thanks for sharing! STEEM ON!

Thank you. I wish the pics showed up bigger. If you click them they are bigger. Love your posts too.

With Venice and New England, looks like Dalian is worthwhile place to consider visit.

I will give u a good tour. I can show u some old Japanese trenches from the war. Cool place this area.

Thanks for the offer. hopefully.

Recreations are all over China. Shanghai has a lot of them, but haven't been to them yet -- many of them European. Great post though! I would have never expect someplace american to show up. =)

Don't forget Paris!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/07/paris-china-tianducheng_n_3714385.html

This is a super interesting topic and is symptomatic of such a "formulaic" approach to development which is so prevalent in Asia. Thanks for the photos!

I agree. its tough to China in China sometimes. lol

and my pleasure to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05