Please stay vigilant and help to fight plagiarists on Steemit! 請保持警惕,並幫助打擊Steemit上的抄襲者!

in #cn7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends,

The continued growth of Steemit is bringing a ton of talented people to the platform which is great as those will be the ones driving the success further. On the other hand, it does obviously bring the ones that are not sincere and their behavior will only harm the reputation of our ecosystem. I had a few cases over the past few days that I had to deal with when people are submitting images stolen off the internet and just gladly claiming them as their own. It is fairly simple to check if those are genuine by simply using google images which I do from time to time when in doubt. However, I am very busy not only running my challenges but my other various activities so I am not able to see everything. I had one of the users contacting me directly via my e-mail pointing at such behavior which is fantastic. Guys, I urge you to be vigilant for this people and not be afraid to point them out. There is no space for them here and we do have to get them out as those will only hurt the reputation of the platform. Do you want that? I hope not, let’s get together and fight them!

你好朋友,

Steemit的持續發展正在為這個平台帶來一大堆人才,這將成為推動這個平台走向重大成功的推動力。另一方面,它顯然會帶來一些不誠實的行為,而這些行為只會損害我們生態系統裡的聲譽。在過去幾天裡,我有幾個案例需要處理,那就是當人們提交從互聯網上被盜取的圖像,並且聲稱是他們自己的。圖片是否抄襲的相當容易檢查,如果那些是真正的簡單地使用谷歌圖像,我有懷疑時也會不時檢查。不過,我很忙,不僅要舉辦這個挑戰,還要面對其他各種各樣的活動,所以我不可能看到一切。有一位用戶直接通過電子郵件與我聯繫,並指出這些惡劣的行為,這真是太棒了。大家,我呼籲你們要對這些人保持警惕,不要害怕把他們指證出來。他們在這裡沒有生存的空間,我們必須把它們指出來,因為容計他們繼續抄襲只會損害平台的聲譽。你想要那樣嗎?我希望不是,讓我們一起打擊他們!


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

FACEBOOK AND INSTAGRAM GIVES YOU ZERO USD for your images - 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – winning pics worth 120 to 240 USD at the moment!
Czech Republic and Prague by your fellow Steemians! 在其他Steemians眼中的捷克共和國和布拉格
Prague, one of the most beautiful cities in the world!
7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - week #11 - vote for your favorite picture of the week!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

oh well this witch hunt will take lots of human resource and time.. also large SP will be wasted when it can be used to generate newer rewards instead of using them to deduct the rewards of copycats

You are absolutely right..... It does not have to come to flagging war... we can just all get together and simply voice those people out by leaving comments to stop their behaviour.... In the more extreme cases where it is a repetitive action we can use the more serious measures. Have a good one. Tomas

this is what happens when we try to use words.. their ego gets hurt and they start abusing using their words.. I was always against flags but I just can't tolerate f-words.

20171216_191522.png

here's the original link:

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@sarahah/five-myths-about-bitcoin#@sarahah/re-skreza-re-sajumiah-re-sarahah-five-myths-about-bitcoin-20171216t125731402z

and then they will just keep coming back with more abusive words.. in the end it turns into a war..next I can predict is they will start writing more about me and use exclusive f-words and perhaps bring their friends and triggering more fuel in the fire and kabooom! The war gets more furious... the SP which was originally meant to generate wealth ends up being used in destroying wealth.. so don't you think ignorance is bliss?

oh I was right.. see..

20171216_192718.png

this person will definitely hate me for as long as we both are on Steemit.. I guess before I drained more of my VP the best option is just to mute that account..

I have also seen this, primarily with photo contests. More than once. It is a little frustrating because while I joined those contests, I had no chance of winning with great talented photographers posting original pictures plus plagiarizers posting amazing stolen pictures. I too have been able to catch this, primarily with pictures.

I've also falsely accused someone but I was able to quickly realize my image search had taken me to that users personal website so I was able to change my comment.

If anyone cares to know, you can perform Reverse Image searches. This takes the "Steemit URL" of the picture in question and searched billions of pictures for a copy. In most cases, original content will come up with 0 results. Sometimes the photographer has their own website and are sharing old pictures so you might get a few hits.

Two reverse image websites I use frequently:
Google Reverse Image Search for mobile phones
https://reverse.photos/

TinEye - Lets you paste the image URL. Very handy for catching plagiarism!
https://www.tineye.com/

Good luck and let's keep steemit original!

That's great! I use google images and simple drag and paste which works too. If we all become more vigilent we can definitely minimize this from happening. Thank you so much for stopping by. Have a great night. Tomas

It's true.. some steemitians are adopting this easiest way to attract their followers. And as a result it's threatening the works of the bloggers who are working hard to get established in this platform.. thanks for sharing..
Resteemed.

Absolutely, we need a help of everyone who cares to point those things out in order to fight those things and make Steemit a better place. Have a great night. Tomas

Exactly..we need to identify them and make steemit a better place.. good day to you Tomas.

Oh man. I just feel bad about the way some of us think. Some are joining steemit for reasons with no good interests but there are others who think different. Some of us really want to make progress in the comunity.
Personally, my purpose is to take the way we think at a new level that is healthy for all of us.
Let's change the way we live.
STOP STEALING

There are so many amazing people here with the real skills, vision, passion and drive to make this the best social media site in the world. Those who do not understand that will have to go back to Facebook and Instagram. If we help each other we can definitely minimize things like this from happening. Have a good one!

That's right.
Now i am getting to feel better because i know thereare more people like me.
Be strong bro.

Thanks for writing this call-to-action, @czechglobalhosts! There is a lot of spam and plagiarism on Steemit these days, and I think everyone here has a responsibility to not upvote or encourage them, and even flag them if it's a problem.

Absolutely agreed!

What's a real shame is that google images closed down their API for doing reverse image searches. Services like cheetah could have hooked into that but now the only real options are manual checking as you allude to above, or some alternative paid for service that does have an reverse image search API. I have in the past spent a lot of time searching through the photo tags for plagiarised content and tagging it with steemcleaners. However, it's a never-ending cascade of copied work on here. Its really frustrating for talented photographers who are genuinely posting their work on here, as the first reaction to good work is that it must have been copied from google or some other stock photo site.

Its really hard curating genuine photography on here.

Hi! Thank you for leaving a good comment. I certainly appreciate that. I believe if the whole community, the ones that are really serious platform take little more action rather then just overlooking those things from happening we can definitely reduce the bad behaviour. Like everything else in life, nothing is perfect but I am sure we can definitely make a difference. Have a good one. Tomas

Yeah Mr. Thomas. i agreed. All steemians need to be together and then fight against them. We'll try to protect steemit reputation and platform.

Yep, all for one and one for all:)

HAY sir you are right this is happening these days . People are copy content through net and images without specifi the source. This may harm the reputation of this plate platform

That's why all the serious users of this platform need to stick together and get those people out. Thank you for understanding that. Tomas

You did it right, focusing on this. Together we can make Steemit better. Good luck to you and good.

Absolutely, let's help each other with this one.

I saw what happened in yesterday's daily personal Prague photos post. I'll be honest, I got duped and upvoted that picture. It really is a good reminder to be careful and pay attention to any poster who grabs your attention. It's not surprising when payouts are involved, but it's disappointing just the same.

Like you say Matt, it is easy to fall for it sometimes. But once we pay more attention and we all do our part we can definitely make a difference. Tomas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51