A Clarification On My Translation Project And - 如何处理生活中的不好的时候- 5个技巧,让你感觉更好 // How To Deal With Bad Times In Life - 5 Tips To Make You Feel Better (featuring @sirwinchester as author)

in #cn8 years ago

Hi friends! I had a few questions on my last post regarding my Chinese translation project that I wanted to address here. In my last post, https://steemit.com/cn/@anwenbaumeister/introducing-my-new-project-to-translate-wonderful-posts-into-chinese-let-s-increase-the-chinese-user-base-on-steemit, @coinbitgold made some great points. I want to be as transparent as possible, so I want to share my reply here for everyone to see. @coinbitgold stated:

Great initiative! But "interesting" content is subjective.
Just a suggestion: why not distribute SD to the original author from your translated post especially if the original author did not get enough upvotes in the first place? Original authors gets more credit, i suppose? Just like how harry potter book series are translated into many languages and J. K. Rowling still gets some credit as original author?

My reply:

Thanks for your input @coinbitgold! I have mentioned this with other authors that gave me permission to use their content and asked about sharing rewards : This is a pilot project so I did not know how successful it would be and if the rewards that I received would even be enough to cover the cost of my translation time, formatting the posts time, finding great posts, and reaching out to everyone. I mentioned to these authors that I was still working out whether or not there would be enough rewards to share with the authors and was still figuring out how much I would share and how. I'm not doing this to get large rewards - I am doing this to create a bridge between the Chinese and English speakers on Steemit. However, I do also need to cover my costs of all the time it takes to coordinate and create this project and these posts.
In terms of interesting content, I agree with you, it is completely subjective! :-) I am basically curating on a couple points: 1) if it will appeal to the Chinese reader userbase (such as @jholdsworthy's wonderful post). 2) if it is a wonderfully original piece on Steemit that could use some more spotlight .
Back to curation rewards : I do not expect the rewards for upcoming posts to be as large as this one, as this post also acted as my "announcement of new project post". However, I do want to provide rewards to the wonderful original authors. So, I will provide the authors 25% of SD made on my posts. However, it will not be on a post by post basis. I will pool 25% of all the SD that I make on all of my Chinese translation posts over the course of two weeks and then evenly distribute it to all of the original authors. I am doing this because I occasionally get whale votes that skyrockets one of my post rewards, however I think that all of the posts that I am translating are equally wonderful and deserve an equal payout.

I hope that answers some questions. I am always open to questions and suggestions and want to remain as transparent on Steemit as possible!


如何处理生活中的不好的时候- 5个技巧,让你感觉更好

How To Deal With Bad Times In Life - 5 Tips To Make You Feel Better

生活并不总是甜蜜的。有时,我们发现自己生活有段时间是黑暗的,也许我们有一个紧张的工作,关系,有人被伤害等。我们要处理所有这些琐事。那么,什么事最好的办法使你摆脱困境?

Life is not always sweet. Sometimes, we find ourselves in a period of life where the days are a little darker, maybe we have a stressful Job, relationship, someone got hurt and so on. We've all dealt with this. So what can you do to make the best of the situation and help yourself to get out of that depressed zone?

  1. 感激你所拥有的。
    当遇到不开心的事情,花点时间去想想那些开心的事情。你可能现在处在一个不好的境地,但不是你生活中的一切都是不好的。你可能有一个自己的房子,自来水,电和有食物在冰箱里,但这些是世界上40%的人口没有的东西。它超越了基本的东西-你有一个家庭吗?足够的钱让你度过这一天吗?有可以聊天的人吗?想想所有你拥有的东西,你应该为此感到感激。如果你可以的话,把它写下来!时刻提醒自己。
    这个清单可能比你想象的要长的多!
    这将有助于把你想要的与你目前的状况相比较,并意识到不是一切都是坏的。

Tip #1:
Appreciate what you have.

When some things go wrong, take a moment to be thankful for all the things that are going right.
You might be in a bad situation right now, but not everything in your life is bad.
You probably have a roof over your head, running water, electricity, and food in your fridge.Those are some things that 40% of the world's population doesn't have.
And it goes beyond basic things - do you have a family? enough money to get you through the day? Someone you can talk to?
Think about all the things that you are blessed with, and that you want to be grateful for.
If you want, write it down! Make yourself aware of it.
The list will probably end up being much longer than you think!
This will help you compare your blessings to your current situation and realize that not everything is bad.

2.回忆好的时光并微笑

生活就像一个相机。专注重要的事情。捕捉美好的时光。如果一些事情无法解决,那么就换一个镜头。
这是对第1条提到的内容另一种阐述。是的,我知道你所经历的是艰难的。我不是说当你回想美好的时光时你会很高兴。但在最黑暗的时候,重要的是不要失去你的焦点。
现在,你的生活看起来都是黑暗和沮丧的。但它并不是一直都是这样。它也不会永远是这样。只是因为消极情绪已经在你生活的占有了重要组成部分,并不意味着你应该忘记所有关于你生活中的快乐的片段、美好的时光、快乐的回忆。这会提醒你,生活是不断变化的,美好的时光来了又走,同样,不好的时光来了又走。
还有一点。
此外,尝试经常微笑!即使你想哭-也这么做。它会欺骗你的大脑认为你是快乐的,让你感觉好一点。

Tip #2:
Remember the good times and smile!

Life is like a camera. Focus on what's important. Capture the good times.
And if things don't work out, just take another shot.

This goes together with Tip #1.
Yes, I know that what you're going through is tough. I'm not saying you'll be cheerful if you only think of happy memories. But especially in dark times, it's very important not to lose your focus.
Right now, it might seem like your life as all dark and depressing. But it hasn't always been this way. And it won't always be this way.
Just because negativity has taken a major part of your life currently, doesn't mean that you should forget all about the happy phases in your life. The good times. The joyful memories.
This will remind you that life is constantly changing, good times come and good times go.
And in the same way, bad times come and bad times GO.
This too shall pass.
Additionally, just try to smile every so often! Even if you feel like crying - just do it. It will trick your brain into thinking that you're happy, and make you feel better.

3.每天给自己定3件要完成的事情。3个目标。
目标是我前行的动力。
这些三可能是非常简单的事情-散步、倒垃圾、洗澡、读一本书、会一会朋友..做什么不重要,只要有事情做就有助于你消磨时间,这也会让你觉得你已经完成了一些事情,这也是很小的进步。
当人们沮丧的时候,我们往往坐在家里,什么也不做,沉浸在黑暗的想法中无法自拔。我们只是等待不好的时间过去,但如果你不做任何事情,时间过得很慢。
如果你需要有一个糟糕的一天也可以,花一天在你的电视前哭泣、看电影。但不要让自己这种状态超过一天。你是在控制你的生活和你自己的幸福。
所以,给自己至少定每天至少3件事来完成,并确保完成,让你每天都有一种成就感。慢慢的但肯定,你会感觉越来越好。

Tip #3:
Everyday, give yourself 3 things to do. 3 Goals.

What keeps me going are my goals.

These could be incredibly simple - take a walk, take out the trash, take a shower, read a book, meet your friend.. It doesn't matter what it is, as long as you do something. This will help the time pass, and it will also make you feel like you've accomplished something and there is at least small progress.
Often when people are depressed, we tend to sit at home, do nothing, and get lost in our own dark thoughts. We just wait for the bad times to pass, but of course if you don't do anything, time passes much slower.
It's okay if you need to have a bad day, then spend one day in front of your TV crying and watching movies. But don't allow yourself this for longer than one day. You are in control of your life and of your own happiness.
So give yourself at least 3 things to do everyday, and make sure you complete them so you have a feeling of accomplishment everyday. Slowly but surely, you will start to feel better.

  1. 找出你能从这种情况中学习到什么。
    在每一个困难的情况下都有潜在的价值。
    相信这一点,然后开始寻找它。
    可能你目前的情况看起来是完全没有希望的,所有事情都是不好的。但是,你错了。你总是可以从你的坏处境中学习一些东西。你可以从你的所作所为中学习,将来不要再犯同样的错误,你可以学习在这种情况下如何和其他人互动, 如果你需要改变,你可以从你目前的行为习惯并且想象好的东西这些会让你感觉好一点,这样当你的度过好的时光的时候你就更会知道感激。
    这些只是几个例子,取决于你的情况,你可以从中学习更多的东西。
    Tip #4:
    Figure out what you can learn from this situation.

In every difficult situation is potential value.
Believe this, then begin looking for it.

It probably seems like your current situation is totally hopeless and there's nothing good about it. But most likely, you are wrong. You can always learn something from your bad situation.
You can learn from your actions so you don't make the same mistake again in the future, you can learn how you interacted with people in this situation and if you'd need to change that, you can learn from your current behavior and think more positively to feel better, and you can always learn what to appreciate more when times are good.
These are just a few examples, depending on your situation, you can learn much more from it.

5 . 保持忙碌的状态,给自己一些事情做。
这是上天的恩赐,一个人白天忙的没有时间去忧愁,晚上因为太困没有时间去忧愁。
这是对第3条的另一种阐述:如果你只是坐着等待坏时光过去,你会在消极的情绪中迷失自己。你需要做的是让自己忙,给自己一些事情做!这可以是会一会老朋友,阅读一些有趣的书籍,寻找一个新的兴趣爱好像烹饪或绘画,做一些运动或学习一个新的技能/语言。让你的思维远离你自己的消极思想,这是对你有帮助的。它必须是你真正热衷的东西,你应该每天都为自己设定一个小小的目标以完成100%个目标。因为如果你开始做一些事情,然后失败或停止,你可能会感觉更糟。
你有其他的技巧来克服生活中的不好的时光吗?在评论中留下它们!
希望本文对你有一些帮助。自由分享它,鼓舞他人,保持写作和发表文章,祝你有一个美好的周末和成功的一周!

Tip #5:
Be busy. Give yourself something to do.

Blessed is the person who is too busy to worry in the daytime,
And too sleepy to worry at night

This actually ties in with Tip #3: If you just sit around waiting for bad times to pass, you will get lost in your own depression. What you need to do is make yourself busy, give yourself something to do!
That could be meeting up with old friends, reading some interesting books, finding a new passion like cooking or painting, doing some exercise or learning a new skill / language.
Anything that keeps your mind off of your own depressed thoughts will help you move forward.
It has to be something you are really passionate about though, and you should set yourself very small goals each day which you can 100% accomplish. Because if you start something and then fail or stop, you could feel worse.

Do you have other tips to overcome bad times in life? Leave them in the comments!

Hope this Article is helpful for some of you Steemers. Feel free to share it and inspire others.
Keep writing and posting articles, wish you all a nice weekend and successful week!

这个帖子的原作者是@sirwinchester. 你可以在这里找到原文 : https://steemit.com/life/@sirwinchester/how-to-deal-with-bad-times-in-life-5-tips-to-make-you-feel-better

This post was originally written by @sirwinchester.
You can find the original story here: https://steemit.com/life/@sirwinchester/how-to-deal-with-bad-times-in-life-5-tips-to-make-you-feel-better

Sort:  

I just found this now - thank you again @anwenbaumeister for considering my article and for translating it!
Hopefully, this post can now be helpful to even more people.

I think it's very important that we can make Steemit more appealing for other languages as well, so thanks for starting this awesome project. Maybe we will see more foreign language articles on Steemit from now on.

Hopefully the Chinese audience enjoys my post as well :)

有乐趣而阅读 ;)

this is a great way to expand the steemit network, we all know the big potential of chinese users so I think this project is an awesome idea (Y)

Thanks so much :-)

Thank you @sirwinchester for allowing me to translate your amazing article! I hope that it can be helpful to more people now too, it seems like it has reached a Chinese audience! I'm hopeful and excited to see more foreign language bilingual posts on Steemit as well :-) 你可不可以说中文?

Thanks for the quote and reply. Just a note that i have been writing on #academiaspotlight and been giving 50% of the SBD to original authors and 50% to reviewers. The original authors are usually new steemians and did not receive a huge payout in their #academia and #science post, which is otherwise interesting for me enough to review it. I read up a lot on their expertise, reviewed their posts, and wrote the review it in a both engaging and informative way. Usually, i spent a day or 2.

Also would like to mention that in the real world, we see J. K. Rowling become the first author millionaire/billionaire in the world and no one mentions at all the translator.

Just a suggestion for you to perhaps re-think on your rewards mechanism for this project

Again, this is your blog and your choice.

Otherwise, still loving your posts as always. <3

I agree with @coinbitgold with regards to this reply as well as to his previous comment that you have referenced.
You have sought to quantify your time when you said that you need to “cover the costs of all the time it takes to coordinate and create this project and these posts".
In other words, you have some notion of what you deem is your time value with which you reasonably state that the financial rewards from this should cover.
However, I think it is a little short sighted and frankly a bit cheapskate to demand money from time spent on what is essentially a handout to you.
Why do I think that?
Because on the contrary to what you say is your intention, the counter argument is that you are simply doing this to fill your pockets from content that is already shown to be popular and or appealing to the chinese reader userbase.
Putting it nicely, your commission is far too high.
25% of proceedings in SBD equate to 12.5% overall.
eg.
$1000 author reward breaks down to
$500 in SBD
$500 in SP
25% of $ 500 = $125 in SBD
$125 / $1000 = 0.125 x 100 = 12.5%
Since you have no way to give out SP, you retain 100% of part of the reward, and yet you some how don't value this the same?
In my eyes, 25% of the total author reward is already quite low for what is essentially something you have chosen to do as a gesture to bring two communities together. Instead, you have created and given yourself a job, and then paid the original authors a measly amount that works out to be 12.5%

From an outsiders perspective, it doesn't look anything like what you suggest. You clearly are doing this to get a large reward, because the proportion that you pay yourself is massive compared to what the author gets.

Your calculations are a bit off. Pretty sure that for a $1,000 post author only gets $750. And half is in SBD($375). 25% of that is $93.75, so it's actually 9.375% instead of 12.5%.

Just here to do that maths :P I don't mind what I get paid, or ever whether I get paid or not. Other authors might think differently.

Your calculations are right, but i think I mis communicated my figures. I meant the $1000 was from a total value of $1333 the author receiving $1000

In any case, I just do not support the idea of someone taking other people's work, even with permission, and giving themselves a translation job under the pretence of serving community building interests. Let alone the fact that it's a straight up money grab and the scheme was designed so that the lions share of the reward goes to the translator.

@coinbitgold I really respect your thoughts and hear you. I also just checked out your project on academia spotlight and absolutely love it! I hope you continue despite your frustrations with Steemit laid out in your last post.
I just want to address a few more things in this post that you and @bateman have brought up.
I do have a notion of what I deem is my time value, and I could be writing other posts such as my travel posts or meditation posts. I currently am working about 50 hours a week at another job, so spending time on this project means not having as much time writing my own original content, which I would still love to do. Additionally, I am not doing this to get a large reward. I genuinely want to see the Steemit platform grow and become a more diverse community. We all benefit from an expanded user base. I want to create bridges between the English and Chinese speaking community, and as a Chinese American this has been a common theme in my life. I know that translating some posts into Chinese is not going to be the end-all answer in creating this bridge, but hopefully the project can inspire people to do their own translation projects as well.
Some authors that I have reached out to are interested in translating my posts as well in various languages. I have told them that they have full permission to translate and post any of my posts as long as they reference me and provide me with 25% of SBD, the same as I provide them.
Also, like I mentioned, this is a pilot project and I had no clue how successful it would be and it is still playing out. I am going to stick by my 25% pooled payout for now. I may change this in the future, in which case I will make an announcement.
Lastly, I am not translating posts that are on the "trending page" or that are getting payouts of thousands. To reiterate my last reply, I am choosing posts based on: 1) if it will appeal to the Chinese reader userbase (such as @jholdsworthy's wonderful post) - or- 2) if it is a wonderfully original piece on Steemit that could use some more spotlight. @bateman you wrote "you are simply doing this to fill your pockets from content that is already shown to be popular and or appealing to the chinese reader userbase." I am actually trying to pick posts in the hopes of providing authors spotlights who I believe have been doing a great job on Steemit and deserve more recognition, and believe that the post deserved more recognition (yes this is subjective). I could be translating my own past posts into Chinese, which would be a lot easier, but I want to connect to other users and spotlight their pieces.
I understand your difference in opinions, and thank you for challenging me to verbalize my own thoughts :-)

I wish Steemit has a 'save' function so I can save good articles like this. Good job!

WOW.. very impressive project. Good luck.

Those are some very helpful tips and I like the idea of having more non-english content on steemit.
you & @sirwinchester seem to be a good team, followed you both

Great post @anwenbaumeister
You put a smile on my dial, Thank you!

Beautiful tips and wonderful quote , goodluck with you're translation project miss wen !
:)

很实用

计划、忙碌、感恩、回忆美好的东西、从困境中学习

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 63343.26
ETH 3484.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53