THE CRUSHENING - DAYS 27-29 - HAPPY CRUSHMORE

in #climbing7 years ago (edited)

Rock Climbing Training

Season 01

Workouts 027->029 ~~ FEB/07

Base Fitness Phase – Week 5


Crushening 29.jpg
Shooter: I CRUSH PIECES OF SHIT LIKE YOU FOR BREAKFAST!
Happy: *You crush pieces of shit for breakfast??..."

the price is wrong

The Price is Wrong, Bitch!

What's crackalackin, party people! We're just climbing up a GAHD-damn storm over here, and we couldn't be happier. We're definitely starting to notice some improvements, or dare I say "GAINS"! We're hitting a rhythm, and finding our stride. Every day is a good day when you get a chance to do what you love. Lets take a little peek-aboo at the calendar and see how we be doin'.


February 2018 - Season 1

Climbing Day 29.jpg

Click for fullscreen version

DIGGITY DANG!

We just finished up the last day of ARC training. FOR REAL this time! No more false flags or distractions -- we've done it, and we wont have to go through that again (until the 2nd training season starts). Our feet are starting to smell like we've exhumed them from an old climbers cemetery yard. The skin on our hands is about 80% sandpaper at this point. The muscles on our shoulders are starting to become more apparent. Our grip is getting tight, and our fingers sound like a chopstick fight. BUT IT AINT NO THANG-THANG!

  • DAY 27 (Monday):
    • We pushed through 3 gruelling sets of 30minutes endurance climbing. Fatigue was starting to set in -- but we got there, and we feel good about it.
      IMG_20180207_195921.jpg
  • DAY 28 (Tuesday):
    • Day 28 was moderately less successful. We pushed through 2 sets of 30 minute climbs, and then did some bouldering to get some cringe-worth, camera-dorky photo-op time for all you Steemians out there. But we managed to dial in a difficult V4 boulder problem that we'd be struggling with before:
      V40001-0111.gif
  • DAY 29 (Wednesday -- AKA hump day -- AKA today):
    • Today, we actually ended up doing something completely off schedule for a couple reasons. One of my buddies from work wanted to go climbing, and I figured getting another person hyped and on the pain-train is more important than being perfect to the schedule.
      IMG_20180207_190731_HDR.jpg
      This is Callum -- he's a co-op student at our engineering office. He's affectionately referred to as "96", because that's when he was born and he makes us all feel old

Long story longer -- we're doing well, and sweeping people up with our unstoppable momentum, positivity, and hypnotic musky smell. We've got a couple days of lead climbing coming up on Friday and Saturday here -- then it's time to:

GET STRONG!

I'll talk to you all this weekend!


Today, In my space that I reserve down here for cool climbing stuff, I'm going to share a useful climbing technique video that I found on the Youtubes a while back when I was first doing a lot of research and learning about how to not only keep myself from falling to my death, but also how to get better at climbing well.

Without further ado, I present to you:

Neil Greshams Climbing Masterclass video series - presented by Crux Films.

I believe in this first part, there are 32 videos in total -- about 5 minutes long each if I remember correctly. Watch a video here and there before you hit the gym or crag, and try to keep a couple points in mind, and I'm sure you'll start to improve a little bit.


Be well, stay safe, and I'll see you on the sharp side (once it dries out around here).


Previous CRUSHENING posts:


The Query!

I'm trying to figure out how the best way to get people active and involved in the climbing community on here. Paying for upvotes is super tedious, and there must be a better way to get the people goin'!

There's all sorts of contests on here -- some I'm considering incorporating something of that sort to these posts. Let me know what you think. It could be something like "whoever shares the coolest ( or funniest / scariest / gnarliest ) climbing related story ( or picture / video / poem / meme) gets 0.25 SBD (or more / less / half of post SBD)". Let me know what you think would be cool. We could mix it up and do climbing inspired art or something? I like to draw. Maybe we'll do something like that? LETS TALK. ANY THOUGHTS???

Please vote and resteem generously. There's some amazing places on the island that I would like to share.

I try to respond to all questions and comments that I get, so make some noise! If you have any questions about some of the climbing jargon / lingo I used, just ask, and I'll break it down. I might even make it a feature in my next post, in which case I'll give you some credit, and maybe even some kind of reward... unknown at this time -- nobody has asked any questions... except for a select few legitimately awesome folks.

Sort:  

Whaaaaat? I asked questions once. I think that last bit should be changed to 'nobody except a super amazing dude of rad has asked any questions... Yet!!'

Hahaha, 96 is killin' it. Good for you for taking the new dudes along.

V4! That's awesome. I think I've only ever done one V4, and it was brutal and I've pretty much lost the knack... I need to make my own rock climbing holds and make my own wall I think... now that we're in the country I just never make it downtown to climb.

Diggity Dang was my favourite part of this whole thing. I want those sandpaper hands! And those visible grippy muscles!

Great work on all this dude, you are great at the posts! Rock climbers unite!

Haha thanks buddy. I've tweaked the ending bit as suggested!

I always forget how hard bouldering is, compared to sport climbing -- my shoulders are screaming this morning.

It was fun bringing a new person along -- great to get new people excited about it, and it's also a good reminder that I'm making progress and am substantially better than I used to be. I think I mostly just wanted to be better than him, because he beats me at squash every week -- he's a quick little bastard.

Thanks for reading brother. Hope your ANWE stuff gets sorted out and isn't actually cancelled / gets brought back to life.

This post has received a 6.9 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @mstafford

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53406.15
ETH 2223.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29