Mumbai heat is killing

in #climate3 months ago

The climate in Mumbai right now is terrible, the heat is killing. I have quite a lot of outdoor work and for that I have no choice but to get out of the home even in this heat. The temperature is around 34 to 36 degrees, which actually is not much but there is a lot of humidity which drains us out. I sweat profusely whenever I get out of the home to do my tasks. Day before yesterday I had a lot of small jobs to finish and I left my home at around 11:00 a.m. I was just one hour outside and I could not stand the heat and the sweat. On the way I also had a glass of sugarcane juice at one juice shop, which made me feel better but it was temporary. In again half an hour's time, I was feeling like I might faint and I decided to return back home leaving all the work.

Then later in the evening, I again stepped out to do the balance work, which was a little better because the sun was down by this time. Yet, it was not very pleasant, by the time I finished all my work and returned home I was soaked in my own sweat and immediately had to go for bath. These days I have to take bath twice a day to feel fresh.

IMG-20170722-WA0090.jpg
Self-clicked

In middle east it is hotter, the temperature goes up to 48 degrees and yet we do not feel it much, everything there is airconditioned. You go anywhere and there is air-condition. Here in Mumbai that's not the case, even at home, we cannot keep the air-condition switched on for a longer time else we will have an exorbitant electricity bill, we have to be mindful about the usage. In Oman we do not worry much, because the electricity is much cheaper compared to Mumbai. Even if I keep the air-condition switched on for 24 hours there I will pay almost equal to what I will use here for 3 to 4 hours in a day daily. Electricity is a luxury that we enjoy in the middle east without having much to worry about the bills.

I just hope now that the monsoon sets in and with that the temperature drops and it gets better.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Sort:  

MEH! I can totally relate @nainaztengra - I absolutely LOATHE being forced to out into the brutal summer heat when my brain and body already feel like mush from it, lol!

Here in Mumbai that's not the case, even at home, we cannot keep the air-condition switched on for a longer time else we will have an exorbitant electricity bill, we have to be mindful about the usage.

Similar situations here - with all our power cuts etc. and inland the heats also reach the 40's. It is crazy! Aircon is just not a "thing" in houses here in SA - although I wont lie, after this last Summer my partner and I discussed getting a portable one just to cover the main lounge area on those excessively hot days - but it is in expensive investment... so we will have to see!

Hope tomorrow or the days to follow offer you a little reprieve xxx

Phewww....40 must be terrible. Here buying an Air Con is not expensive, the bigger deal is paying the bills which really can rip you apart.

Yes, this is an every month problem too - which was kind of my point.... when you have so many bills to pay - spending money on an air con seems expensive!!!

Why is electricity so expensive in Mumbai?

The usual problem, supply vs demand. We are so hugely populated and electricity is scarce so the price is high

I asked this knowing that the US has degrading infrastructure, and that is impacting our prices, but what about India building more power plants and electric grid infrastructure?

We are building, but our major problem lies with our growing population

Oh, that makes sense. I think India is the most populous nation...surpassing China last year.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45