A Study in the Style of a Bach Invention (Original Experimental Composition)

in #classical-music6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! Here is the next piece which I have written in the style of another composer. I had been studying the Bach invention a lot, and decided it might be fun to try to write my own (in the same style). So the other night, I wrote this whole thing out (And made adaptations over yesterday and today). It does not sound very good with the computer playing it, but I cannot teach myself to play it in just a day (I tried making a recording of each hand separately, but that sounded very much similar to how the computer plays it. So, I just decided to post the computer version. Anyway, let's get into the music:

Music

Form

I threw in a fugal element into this piece by having the second voice play the subject in the dominant key upon entry. However, I would not call this a strict fugue at all. It only has two voices, and I could not tell you how to strictly write a fugue if I tried (yet). Anyway, I consider the form to be loosely defined. If I had to assign a form, I would probably call it ternary form (?) I am unsure because I did not think in sections but rather modulating passages. So, I would say that every aspect of this piece is interwoven. I am loosely defining it as ternary because it has an "A section" followed by a "B section" followed by the return of the "A section."

Harmonics

I would not say that there is anything extraordinarily different about the harmonic ideas presented in this piece. I will say that I utilized the exact same material in measures 10-14 as in measures 5-9. All I did was swap voices (the bass played what the soprano had previously played and the soprano played what the bass had previously played). I am not sure if this could be referred to as loose version of invertible counterpoint. In fact, I am not sure how much counterpoint this piece utilizes at all. I am only familiar with species counterpoint, and have not yet applied it tonally. So, this piece really was an experiment. Anyway, here is my experiment with writing a composition in the style of a Bach invention (played by a computer):

Previous Posts

Schedule (Hopefully)

Friday - Tuesday: "The Wealth of Nations" review
Wednesday: Break/Free write day
Thursday: Weekly7

Closing

Thanks for reading this! Please remember that feedback is always appreciated. Please remember that these compositions are only experiments to help myself analyze and apply the styles of the masters. Anyway, see you later!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As well as my composer birthday posts (Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @cmp2020.

Such an interesting look into the life of a composer of the past and one of the present...... yourself.

Artists of the painting sort often study artists of the past and make discoveries they would have missed otherwise.

Your talent is appreciated here at Steemit.

Cheers!

I learned a few things in this short post. You got me looking up fugue, so I could make sense out of the discussion you were having (mostly with yourself) about whether or not this was a true fugue. Then I got curious about Bach. I learned he spent the last ten years of his life on just six works, which he paid for (to produce) himself. There's a great article that discusses Bach and Fugues (just what I was looking for). I probably would have missed this whole discussion if I wasn't procrastinating by looking around Steemit for interesting posts. Occasionally it's a good idea to stop work and "waste time"--never know what you'll come across.

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40