Yes... of course...

in #classical-music5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190905_183000.jpg

So, I've had a nice month away in Australia... without my instruments! I can't tell you the sheer pleasure of boarding a plane without the overhanging threat that someone is going to take your violin away from you because it doesn't meet the little box standards of carry on luggage... despite the fact that most decent airlines have an exemption for small musical instruments like violins...

Anyway, it also means that I had no ability to look after my instruments whilst I was away either.... This summer in Netherlands was quite hot and dry... which is pretty rough on the gut strings that I use for my violins (and violas...). The strings dry out and become brittle and break (sometimes, I can oil them to keep them "alive" for a little bit longer... but I have to be careful not to drip it on the varnish or the fingerboard... so, mostly I just change the string when it is starting to get false)....

I was pretty lazy when I got back to The Netherlands as I don't have any playing work until next week... so, I only opened up my instrument cases a couple of days ago when I needed to take the violin that I have on loan to a luthier for it's once yearly check-up.... it's actually a bit of a pain in the arse as I need to travel to Amsterdam for the luthier to look over it for about 5 minutes, pronounce it healthy and then train back from Amsterdam... I spend about 90-120 minutes travelling for the appointment, but I often try to tie it in with other chores (this time, I was hoping to try out a couple of violins... but they ended up being out when I happened to get to Amsterdam...).

So, back to the story... I opened the case, and all the violins had broken E strings (then thinnest strings...). Now, normally that wouldn't be a problem, as I could just change them... but before I had left for Australia, I had lent an instrument case (a double case that can carry two violins or a viola and violin combo) to a friend... and I stupidly left all my spare strings in that case! Which meant I had no spares in the house and I would have to wait a day or two for the quickest order. In the end it isn't too bad, I was hoping to practice a bit... but I'm more than happy to have a few days of extra enforced holiday!

... however, it was a touch embarrassing to arrive at the luthier with broken strings! I do really take care of the instruments! I made a lame joke of asking if he knew how to repair a broken string, and if it was serious damange...(it's the sort of thing that novice string players ask!)... he did make a polite laugh... but I gather it was funnier in my head than it was in actual delivery!

Anyway, the strings are due to arrive tomorrow, but in the meantime my case was returned back to me today... so, I'm going to have to get back to work soon... right after I replace the strings! Speaking of which, I do have to take inventory of my strings and see what holes I have in the stock... there are some strings that are now way to old to feasibly use as replacements (in the packets, they still dry out and get brittle!).

Tomorrow's job!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

I always think that they are so beautiful but so complex, and I can imagine that’s a lot of money there ! Oh and commuting on the train give the opportunity to steem

Lol, I try really hard not to think what it is worth sitting on my back!

Yikes lotta broken strings.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup, it was a tough summer for them! But easily fixed... If I only had my spares with me!

I take it gut strings break alot easier... i was wanting to attempt to put them on my oud but i don't want the hassle.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, steel and metal are much more durable... But the warmth of naked gut is something quite unique

Whoops sounds like you forgot to string them along @bengy

Yes, they are punishing me for not taking them with me!

I love the dark brown violin. Does it help to loosen the strings a bit while in storage?

Yes, it does to some extent in that they aren't under constant tension... But they still dry out from the temperature and mostly lack of humidity. Plus, bring gut strings, they just do this anyway...

You can oil them gently to keep them in good shape longer... Or some come with a light coat of varnish... But that makes them less supple and they do sound and respond differently!

I play the piano (I'm an amateur) and there is also a problem of drying out, why the instrument starts to creak .... and I even think it's time to replace it with a synthesizer)))

Heh, yes that is a big problem as well! Our harpsichord and fortepiano need to be also looked after as the soundboard can crack which would be quite devestating for the sound...

Aww that's a bummer. Can't imagine if you were scheduled to play at an event and opening it up with broken strings with no replacement. That would be a big problem.

Haha... I'm not quite yet that lazy... although, it has happened... but these things do....

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 218 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.680 which ranks you at #1696 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 139 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90