Singapore’s “urban jungle” … a natural jungle, albeit civilized – Cityscape Photography

in #cityscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry in the Cityscape Photography contest by @juliank.

[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

This photo shows one small aspect of the pleasant cityscape that characterizes Singapore. (For one thing, Singapore provided me with that excellent "internal" frame for the photo.)

Several times a week, I’d cross this pedestrian bridge, which connects the western edge of Singapore’s Chinatown to the riverside at Clarke Quay, one of Singapore’s most vibrant nightlife areas.

Avoid noise and chaos

Although my condo was about 600 meters from the riverside, I could completely avoid streets and traffic for the whole route. I could walk the entire distance on parkside pathways, through a neighbourhood parkette, across an old-time plaza, and then over this and one other pedestrian bridge.

There are not many major cities in the world in which you can manage to avoid traffic and walk unimpeded for over half a kilometer in the heart of the downtown area – through lush greenery. In Singapore, however, there are many such places.

We’ve got you covered

One more interesting point; just like the 2 pedestrian bridges I crossed over on my way to the riverside, almost all such bridges are covered … just to protect residents like me from any sudden rainstorms. 

That’s simply one minor example of how Singapore has created a very livable cityscape – and a very lovable one.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography

You have earned 5.95 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.19
Server time: 13:02:07
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 469.86/800.00
Total Photos: 51
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

awesome photografhy of jungle 😍

I miss Singapore. This was my first country I visited years ago. It's indeed livable and I even thought of applying for a job but I was a fresh grad back then.

You seem to have lived in different countries and that's sooo cool! I would also like to live in different places. :)

Yes, I've been fortunate to have lived in 6 countries, including the past half year in Thailand. And I consider myself quite fortunate to have lived in Japan, but very very very fortunate to have lived in Singapore.

It is, quite simply, the PEAK of civilization.

p.s. I'm preparing another photo post, the next one of Singapore architecture. Will post in 4 hours. Check it out, if you want to read more of my uncontrolled ravings and praisings of Singapore.

You are indeed fortunate! Not a lot have the opporunity like that. I also like Japan because of the food, culture and efficiency in everything! I also want to see more of it (my tourist visa only allows up to 14 days T_T).

And I agree, Singapore has taken city living to the next level. Thank you for the heads up. I'll surely check that out later :)

such a cool perspective.. yes true.. love those cover that protect us from the rain!

And the 5-foot walkways covering many of the sidewalks are also great.

Once during a tropical downpour, I managed to walk most of the way home, from the CBD all the way thru Chinatown, and stay dry. But when I had to walk the rest of the way up Pearl's Hill, I got completely soaked!!

p.s. I'll post another photo post praising and raving about Singapore in a few hours. Check it out.

+1 million scores more for Singapore, that didn't become a non-lieu place, where you just move from a mall to another one.
Green spaces, water and natural sounds became so important for city people.

Yep, Singapore wins first prize! It's like living in a park or a garden. Except better.

This is certainly a great sight to behold. Thanks for always showing us through Singapore. It is always a beautiful thing to follow your ethnographic photographs. I can only hope you win your major @juliank contest soon.

As you can see in the above "World of Photography" comment, I have "Total contest wins: 2." The wins were NOT first place, but I'm very pleased to have won even 2nd place.

I understand what you mean, considering that you once told me that there are other top notch entries from other reputable photographers. However, I admire your consistency and the tenacity at which you enter the contest.

I foresee a major win coming your way soon. However, don't forget me when the day arrives. Lol

I envy you a little. It's good when the government or city authorities worry a little about someone other than themselves. Good luck to you and Love.

Right. One businessman friend of mine is on the record as saying that "Singapore is the one country where the leaders actually work for the benefit of the citizens." (paraphrased by me)

By the way, I no longer live there. I moved on from Singapore last summer. Unfortunately ... :-)

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007 & @boostupvote
Resteem over 10,600+ Followers

Keep it up!
All the best!

Send 0.100 SBD/steem For resteem over 4400+ followers / send 0.200 SBD/steem resteem over 10,500+ Follwers Send your link in memo ! @boostupvote Attached !

Thank you. I've never been to Singapore, but thanking your wonderful description, I
as if walked your the entire distance, your whole route)
Oh, it's great to avoid noise and chaos!

Thanks for this post! Looks like a nit city.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83