The straight line out of town


8534323167_f2c4893d2d_k copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

The railway lines from the central train station in Edinburgh go in a straight line right under the National Gallery in the city centre. When you go see an exhibit there you hear the rumble and feel the shake of a train running under the building every 5 - 10 minutes. It's a but surreal.

I wasn't sure whether to share this shot as for me there isn't (or wasn't) much special to it other than the symmetry and the tracks running dead centre under the building ahead (the gallery).

But lately I have been looking at it a little differently. Among my many interests is gaming. I do enjoy a good video game and I like a wide range of different types of games. Recently I have been throwing myself into a came I've had for over a year but not really played with. It's called "Transport Fever" and its heaven for train nerds. I've never been a train enthusiast but I have always enjoyed city and base building games. This is like that, only you build transport networks (train, plane, boat, car) to transport passengers and cargo to various randomly create cities on a random map. In doing so the cities grow.

Anyway, I find it rather cathartic and have played a lot of it lately, which has had me looking at this photo a little differently lately. I seem to be appreciating the lines the tracks take and those metal beams that go across the lines? I know what those are for now, they hold the power lines for electric trains!

Anyway, I like the symmetry and I am slowly turning into a train geek but I am in total denial about it...


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-26T16:10:00
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 755.42/800.00
Total Photos: 65
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

love it!
lots of leading lines!

Thanks, I did think train tracks would be good for that ;)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That's a superb photo, I love how it draws you in to the focal point of the National Gallery.

Some of the train based games can be quite fascinating, I remember my boys found one where you could choose any locomotive from throughout history to drive - and you had to control the speed carefully especially for bends - approach stations at a low speed and obey all the switch lights - really in depth.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

There are some really detailed simulators out there.. the one I find most perplexing is the truck driving simulator where you drive across Europe.. in real time.. and apparently it has a cult following. People are REALLY into it!

This is a fab photo- I feel like I'm falling head first into it. Lovely lines. I'd like to visit the gallery and feel the trains running under my feet- quite an expeience! E x

Thanks! It is an experience.. At one point I though one of the priceless renaissance paintings I was admiring was going to come off the wall!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43