Architecture Rotterdam #2: A look inside the Kubuswoningen - Cube Houses

in #cityscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0125 (1).jpg

Kubuswoningen: Cube Houses

Whenever a tourist asks me for directions, most often they are trying to find their way to Rotterdam's Cube Houses. I always pass these houses when I walk into town. But I never really took much notice of them. It's actually when I saw a post from @jarosalawszafran (brought to my attention by @photocircle) sharing his pictures of the Kubuswoningen, that I decided I'm not appreciative enough of the architecture directly surrounding me. You could say his post triggered me into starting this new series, of showing Rotterdam's architecture .

And you know what? When I actually took time to get a bit closer and have a decent look at this forest of houses (the impression that architect Piet Blom intended them to have), I was really awed by the place. So happy that those random tourists and even my friends here on Steemit directed me there!

page break small.png

Surroundings

Walking from my home, I cross the Willemsbrug then head into the 'Oude Haven', which means Old Harbour. As I explained in my last post (showing you the Red Apple), Rotterdam was hit very heavily by the bombardments of World War 2. In this area, some pre-war survivors are the Westermeijer (which will soon get a post of its own) and a part of this harbour.

oude haven westermeijer kubuswoningen.jpg

This is where I enter the Oude Haven after crossing the Willemsbrug. You can see the Westermeijer (white building) to the left. And the Cube Houses are to the right in the back.

When you walk through the Old Harbour, there are some information boards provided by the city. You probably can't read the letters, but in this picture it says this is the view from the Westermeijer building in 1937, so before World War 2.

gemeentearchief 1937.jpg

Picture from the city archives, from 1937

Do you see the church building with the unfinished tower in the back? EVERYTHING between the Westermeijer and that chruch, the Laurenskerk, has been destroyed. All those buildings and streets, they're not there anymore. Which is a bit sad. But on the other hand, a lot of unique architecture has taken its place by now.

oude haven kubuswoningen.jpg

This is the view standing next to the Westermeijer and looking out on the Oude Haven. Again, Cube Houses in the back. Giving you an idea of how they are located.

page break small.png

Getting in

As I said, I pass this area every time I go into town. But till now, I never went to have a look at the Cube Houses from up close. And I had no idea how nice of a place it actually is!

Normally here is where I follow the side walk to the right. I have to cross a main road then, wait for the traffic lights. Now I found out that it's possible to avoid the traffic lights and just cross the road by walking through the Cube Houses!

terras kubuswoningen.jpg

Here is where you get in. The orange flags are Kingsday decoration - I took these pictures yesterday (27th of April) when we celebrated the birthday of our king.

IMG_0127.jpg

Just keep following the sloping walkway - it leads you into the 'forest'.

Are you familiar with the work of M.C. Escher? He was a Dutch graphic artist making those sketches where you lose track of perspective, of what is up and what is down, where a building begins and ends. I was reminded of his work as I looked up at the Cube Houses and realised it's kind of difficult to see what is what.

IMG_0132.jpg

Looking up - Escher effect

page break small.png

A forest of tree-houses

I had no idea there were this many of the Cube Houses. From the 'outside' (the streets below), they don't look so many. Apparently the designer, Piet Blom, had in mind to create the impression of a village within the city. The whole area is elevated and traffic free, the diagonally placed cubical houses are sitting on poles resembling trees (a bit).

As I was walking through the place, and especially because of its quietness and the little areas with green, I really did experience the effect of being in a completely different place. Almost a bit fairytale-like.

IMG_0135.jpg

The area was very quiet. Just a few tourists looking around, same as me. I guess a side-effect of living here would be that there are always people sizing up your home ;).

IMG_0151.jpg

Little balcony area

page break small.png

Chess

There were some little shops around the place. Behind this family (all the orange due to Kingsday celebrations) you can see the entrance to the 'chess pieces museum'. We didn't go in, but the outside looked nice.

IMG_0138.jpg

I felt this picture was best for capturing the 'forest-like-feeling' of the place. The light is partly shaded by the (house)trees, there's a table below and a family having their picknick. Can you catch the vibe?

IMG_0144.jpg

The chess museum. Now I'm thinking I should have gone in and taken some close-ups of those pieces. Maybe another time.

IMG_0149.jpg

You can enjoy a game of chess right behind the museum!

IMG_0147.jpg

The museum's sign - so you know what to look for in case you're planning a visit.

page break small.png

Inside

For a fee of 3 euro's, you can have a look inside one of the houses, the Kijkkubus (look-in-cube). My Rotterdampas gave me free access. These pictures aren't the best, but I wanted to at least give you an impression of the inside of these houses. All the rooms have funny angles, and the windows are sloped down towards the street or up towards the sky.

IMG_0153.jpg

Funny angle room

IMG_0154.jpg

View on the street below.

IMG_0156.jpg

The top room of the house, with a lot of windows.

page break small.png

Getting out

If you get out at other end of the forest, it gets you to Blaak train station, to the Markthallen (getting their own post soon!), to the main library and the market square with the Laurenskerk (remember, the church from the 1937 pic) next to it.

IMG_0165.jpg

The white arch is part of Station Blaak. Where you would get off if you want to travel to the Cubic Houses by public transfer - train or metro or buss.

IMG_0163.jpg

The blue and white building in the back is Rotterdam's main library. And yes, probably deserving a post of its own too ;).


Architecture Rotterdam series

Hope you enjoyed part 2 to this series on architecture from my own home town! There's so much more I have to show you. If you visit Netherlands, don't skip Rotterdam! Thanks for you upvotes, follows and comments!

All content is created by me, and Steemit original.
Camera used: Canon G7X

DQmdQnN7LAnyvqSavjUcLV6LxKrbXSdT5iz6ctYUrPnEaC3.png

Sort:  

Holy cow! This is amazing. Would love to visit one day now that I know about Rotterdam. Congrats on the Photo Circle selection.

Thanks so much! Rotterdam has a lot worth visiting for, but you'll need to know where to look :). And feeling very honored about the selection, thanks for giving the heads up!

I haven't heard of this place before but after I saw your post, seems like it is really worth visiting! awesome post!♥

Thanks so much for your support! Also for the resteems :). Had a look at your account, looks very promising, following!

Nice write up about Kubuswoningen. I walked by it as it was closed when I was there.

I would like to invite you to join @archisteem’s project called 1001 places to remember. The team want to collect personal stories of different places by different Steemians and make it into a publication.

You can check it out here.

Hi @kimzwarch! I had a look at your project, and that sounds really cool! I was planning on doing more posts on architecture around here, so that could be a match. I typically like using more than 3 pictures though. But let me see if I can make it work. Will use the suggested tags! And thanks for the effort of going around to let me know about this opportunity :).

Great thanks, @amritadeva! Looking forward to your submission.

As for the pictures, you can use more than 3 images. The reason for 3 pictures is because the publication, we plan to keep it minimalistic and able to fit in 1001 stories, with a story on each page.

Great, thanks!

That was so great to read, thanks for sharing some cool architecture.

Thank you!! Rotterdam is full of these kind of surprises :).

Had a look at your account too, great stuff. Following!

nice design and make me dizzy

Lol. Yes it's some weird architecture! :)

Hello @amritadeva, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for the upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31