WHY I SEEM TO END UP IN JAIL EVERY CHRISTMAS

in #christmas8 years ago

Like many Christmas times before, I went to Jail on Christmas Eve.

I've went to jail a lot of times in my life, often on holidays.


For most of my adult life, I was a drug addict and a thief. Lie, Cheat, and Steal were the only laws I obeyed. I lived a very destructive lifestyle and make that lifestyle look enticing to others.

THIS GUY WAS BAD NEWS!

When I met @mama-pepper, I was deep into a lot of wicked stuff. She was young and naive, and didn't know what she was getting into. One day I wound up in someone's kitchen getting her name tattooed across my chest. When we returned to my truck afterwards, I asked her if she wanted to be my wife.

In those days, I never wanted a wife or children. I wanted to be loud, reckless, and party it up until death, and I hoped that death would come quickly. However, for some reason, meeting @mama-pepper began to change some of that.

Of course it would have been the biggest mistake of her life to get married to the man that I was, but it seems that Someone had a different plan.

As we began the process of getting married, we both wound up becoming believers in Jesus Christ. Since then, He has been changing me.

A friend of mine in Wisconsin has spent some decades in the Jail Ministry, and eventually asked me if I wanted to go some years back.

It was strange, because I never wanted to go their, ever, but had lived a life where I could wind up there at any given moment. I was always drunk and high, often driving and carrying, and was engaged in many illegal activities besides that. Thankfully, I never wound up really getting caught and never had to serve any time.



I know who I had become on the streets, and I would hate to think who I would have become if I had went to prison.

Now, though, when my friend asked me if I wanted to go to jail, the Lord had taken all those illegal activities and addictions from me, so there was no charge that could be laid against me any more.

Only one thing has even changed my life, and to be given the opportunity to head into Jail to share that with others was an incredible opportunity. I had found freedom, and man could no longer touch me.

I spent several years heading down to the Jail every week, and sometimes multiple days in a week. My heart really went out to those people, trapped in tiny cages with very little contact with family and friends.

One of the best things that we are able to do is to give the inmates Christmas bags each years. These are filled with homemade cookies, various sweets, oranges, apples, peanuts, and a gospel tract. You should see the faces of the men and women when the jailer opens the door to their cell and @papa-pepper and @mama-pepper are standing their with gifts for them. Yesterday, one woman even started crying.

I'm getting emotional just thinking about it.

I have never be locked in a cell at Christmas or on any other holiday. I get to spend my time with my family. However, these people just don't have that choice.

I am so blessed to be able to have that opportunity to share with others, and to reach out to the inmates year round, but especially at Christmas, to show them that they have not been forgotten. God has not forgotten about them either.

This is why I seem to end up in Jail every Christmas. It's just one way that I can enjoy my freedom, and, unfortunately, get to visit some old friends too.



To all of you out there with your family and friends, do your best to make the most of it.

Remember, not everyone has that opportunity.

Also, if you get the chance, try to make a difference in the lives of others this Christmas!

If you like my new Christmas bling, check out my post on it here.


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $27.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm blessed to know you, brother. And praise God for yanking you by the dreads and getting your attention.

And to you as well, thanks!

@papa-pepper! You and @mama-pepper are so sweet and wonderful. With this post, you have touched our hearts and brought us closer to God. And yes, He never forgets and always forgives. More blessings to you and your family.

Thanks very much for your reply @hulkbuster!

Good piece. I too am from Wisconsin... so you have more than one friend here.

Cool, I grew up right in the center of the state, which area are you in?

I am in Manitowoc now. But I lived in both the Milwaukee and Marshfield areas.

Back in the heyday of my ministry time, I seriously considered doing prison ministry work also. So this hits close to him for me, a lot of time was spent praying and deliberating on this.

I'm about an hour from a couple of the worst prisons in #Canadastan here where the facilities are regularly in the news (and not always covered up) for the shoddy shape of them, and how they treat the

human beings inside.

Yeah, it's a most peculiar opportunity, and I am glad that I can take advantage of it.

Some days I would be down there 4 or 5 days a week back in the day.

Its hard to imagine papa-pepper being a bad ass criminal... good post. Merry christmas!

It got pretty rough and nasty back in the day.... and by "it" I mean "I"...

Anyone who read this post and didn't end up going to see who dis powerful woman @mama-pepper must be, must be very good at fighting temptations. I wish I saw her or who she is but she hasn't posted yet. If you sprung @mama-pepper with blog about her, it should get much response. You post is very interesting. Going back to jail during the hols but not to be behind bars. To bring life to people behind bars

Yeah, @mama-pepper should be joining us soon, and she is amazing!

Thanks for the reply!

I am a man... I'll give you that!

Thanks @handsolo!

If I may say. The fact that you have taken steps, positive steps which help others, is enough to convince me @papa-pepper. I feel like I have gotten to know you a little from your posts and as far as I can see you've risen well above your past. None of us is perfect but not everyone recognizes their failings and makes an effort to change. I stand by my first comment my friend

Thanks @handsolo, I agree, too many never even realize where they are going wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51