My Favorite Christmas Present of All-time, What's Yours?

in #christmas6 years ago (edited)

I'm old AF guys, I miss the days when Christmas was all about me and the lead up to the big day used to take forever! Now I'm so busy in adulthood that it seems to come and go faster every year..where was I going with this? Geez now I'm just sad..

Oh yeah..

Tonite my wife asked me what my favorite present that I've ever recieved was? I was going to lie to her and choose one she had gotten me before, but then I decided to shoot straight and answered truthfully..

When I was five or six I got an Optimus Prime toy by Hasbro and nearly lost my shit!

g1primerm.jpg

Transformers we're all he rage way back in the mid eighties, the TV show and the toys we're super popular! Optimus was the badass leader of the Autobots, so naturally I wanted to get him first. Most of you are aware I'm sure of "the robots in disguise" because they keep making just absolutely terrible Transformer movies still, but the old toys and show we're the shit. They were die cast metal not the plastic pieces of crap they pump out nowadays.

513944_orig.jpg

Man I still miss that toy honestly, I'm a big kid and I search eBay every so often thinking of buying an original G1 Optimus Prime to put on my desk but they're commanding big bucks now! One in decent shape starts around $500 and it'll probably be broken, still in box or with all the accessories could run up to 1k! Crazy I know but there's sentimental value there and I'd like to have one.

It's crazy the prices on all the old transformers now, I had so many but sold them in a yard sale my grandma had when I was 12 or so. I was pumped I got a buncha money that day and blew it all on junk, I don't even remember now what I got? 😞

I wish I had of kept my toys..

Anyways I'll get over this and cheer up eventually 😁

I'd love to know what your favorite Christmas present was? Is it like mine and something you wished for as a kid and finally recieved, or is it something you got as an adult perhaps from a loved one? Tell me in the comments because I love getting comments and hearing from you guys!

Hope you have a safe and happy holidays,

@goldenarms

reasons-i-loved-grumpy-cats-worst-christmas-ever.jpeg

Sort:  

Awesome man, I wish i kept all my ninja turtle toys too, but alas I also sold them all when I was younger, who would have predicted all these would have so much value one day.

Haha the first two Ninja Turtles I got were stupid Splinter and April O'Neil because the rest were sold out. That's why I grew up damaged and weird lol Why did we sell our old toys, guess we didn't figure we'd grow up to be man boys and still want them later on? 😂

Man i had a ton of ninja turtles. All the original ones too. Have no clue whatever happened to those. Also had some of the original star wars stuff my older cousins had given me probably worth a mint now

Hmmm I think mine was my Easy Bake Oven! Happy Holidays Goldenarms! :)

Can u keep a secret? Unwanted an easy bake too but never asked for one because they were for girls lol Ah..old gender roles are a thing of the last now. Maybe that's why I grew up and cook for a living now? 😁

I think that the easy bake oven was the only thing that I was given that I asked for specifically! My folks preferred to surprise us and generally they were right, the stuff we asked for would be broken or we would have gotten tired of it soon but I played with that oven off and on for years!

Oh man, I must've gotten at least one of these for Christmas one year, but I always miss my WWF rubber figurines. Does anybody remember these? I had the ring and everything. Brutus the Barber Beefcake, Junkyard Dog, the Hulkster, Macho Man, Iron Sheik, Nikolai Volkoff.....Man, I wish I hadn't gotten rid of those! They were awesome!!
)

I loved junkyard dog.

I do remeber these! So much fun, this was a great idea because you guys are reminding me of so many great childhood memories! #gettingold

I had Optimus. Loved it. Also this guy.

They had some epic battles.

Sick! I never had any Star Wars toys but had a ton of GI Joes and Micro Machines lol. So would Optimus kick his ass or would the Rancor Monster sometimes win?

It was always close, but Optimus managed to win every time, even if things looked dire.

When I see the prices for toys, cars, motorbikes etc etc I wish I'd kept them all :-)

I wonder what my 1970's NEC "laptop" might be worth?
or my 1970's calculator? What about a nokia 6110? a 5110?

This is why you should hoard everything and never throw anything out!

I still have a good portion of my original Transformers. No Optimus Prime, however.

That is what I call the right shit 😉 really cool favorite toys. Back then they did things in quality not like the plastic thing that just breaks after a day 😝 lol at my working place the toys sux, all plastic cars and no real deal.
I hope you are having a great evening and I wish you a Merry Christmas dear and have a great time with your family. Hope Santa 🎅 gives you what you wish for! 🤗

Not so fast pretty lady! What's your fav xmas gift ever?

Ohh.. So I wasn't done? 😁 lol ohh ok...
I actually had 2 favorite gifts and I was obsessed with them.. Lol
IMG_20171224_043658.jpg
Regonize this? 😉

Oh man, those things ripped!

I know Right? 😉 lol

Hockey game was also a big favorite 😉

Viewmaster! Oh my, I forgot about those 😊 Awesome Sara thanks for playing 💗

Yes viewmaster was the shit 😜🤘 lol
My pleasure dear Thanks for letting me 💖 Have a great Christmas!
Btw I actually... Have those toys at my parents house so my sisters kids plays alot with them... Lol

@goldenarms all I ever want for Christmas is Silver Bars, Silver Bars....Hear them Ring, Hear them Ring....Soon it will be Christmas Day.

Oh stokjockey, u silly bugger

I had optimus prime, he was an awesome toy.
I know what my favorite toy was and I may have to throw a quick post together about it tomorrow. I love hearing what toys people wanted when they were kids! Helps you realize why they are so messed up as adults.

I am giving away 10 Steem for the greatest #bestgift post!
I totally love this idea! Mainly because I am old as fuck too....
https://steemit.com/contest/@dadview/10-steem-givaway-my-favorite-christmas-present-of-all-time-what-s-yours

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66269.64
ETH 3568.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06