Koln (Cologne) Christmas Markets! (Ulog #42)

in #christmas6 years ago


This year, we made a little plan to drive down to Aachen or Cologne (Koln) for a weekend to visit the Christmas markets in Germany. Well, the plan was to drive... and so I was hoping that there wouldn't be any snow that would make me wish that we had taken the train instead!

We eventually settled on Cologne, as the accommodation in Aachen was booking up faster and was starting to get beyond our budget. Plus, I know Cologne relatively well due to having lots of work trips there! Both towns (cities) are a decent 3 hour drive away from our home, so it was a nice single trip with no stops.

Our Chariot


As my mother was here, out little baby car wasn't up to holding all of us and luggage as well. So, we had to hire a slightly bigger car, which was a dream (in comparison to our motorised shopping cart!) to drive. I've never had such a car with so many buttons and sensors and a screen in the dash before, so it was really nice for me drive it! However, the kids (whilst liking it), really took the side of our little old car. The older one kept pointing out things (like this being bigger, and thus harder to find parking space) to keep reminding me about how much better our old car was!

Cologne Markets


We ended up doing two Christmas markets whilst we were there. The first night, we went to the Markets by the Dom (Cathedral). You can see the massive Cathedral (next to the Hauptbahnhof) in the top photo. It does look quite beautiful when it is lit up at night!


This market was really very packed... and at night, it was bitterly cold as well! The next day, we decided to go to a less packed market by the Lindt Chocolate Museum. Of course, we also took the time to visit the Chocolate Museum (which also has a working Chocolate factory!), but that is a post for a different time!


Delicious Snacks!


What is better than a stick with fried potato spirals?... well, Roasted Chestnuts and Mulled Wine were a decent close second!... but for the kids...


Marinated strawberries covered in chocolate on a Stick! Seriously, everything is better on a stick... if I could have beer on a stick, then I would!


We did also pick up some nice Christmas loot... for me, the big score was a Honey Liquor and a coulpe of bottles of Chocolate (Cocoa) beer.

Christmas Magic!


On the second day, we even got a light dusting of snow! Luckily, it was good for the day, and so the kids got to play in it for a bit... but by the time for the drive back, it was all gone! Miracles all around! Kids happy, Dad happy!

A perfect dinner


To top off a great weekend, Dusseldorf was on the way back home. Dusseldorf is home to a huge population of Japanese, and as such, there is a huge amount of really great Japanese restaurants. So, when we originally planned this trip, I made sure that we would make a stop on the way back.

I had several recommendations from Japanese friends... but they had long queues, which don't sit well with children when the weather is so cold. So, we quickly headed for a nearby Japanese grillhouse instead. I can only say, we were lucky to get the last table before they started turning away people! This place was awesome, and it will be featuring later in a @tasteem post!



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/12/17/koln-cologne-christmas-markets-ulog-42/

Sort:  

Oh my word @bengy, all those eats and drinks look amazing...plus the sights and that car must have been the cherry on the top not so! Cocoa beer sounds interesting but Honey Liqueur sounds amazing! It certainly sounded and looked liked you had a wonderful trip :)

Honey liquor is pretty good! I just had a bottle that ran out... It also had a funny name 'Bear-trap' was the literal translation.

Looks like you guys had a great time! would love to get me some gluhwein while around there... thanks for sharing have a good one!

It was great fun! I hope to have some gluwein on new year when I don't have to drive!

I love Koln. My wife and I visited there many years ago. Not at Christmas, but we love the city. We really liked the gothic cathedrals. My, how ornate and LARGE they are! It's a fabulous vacation spot.

It really is a great city... The cathedrals are really unbelievable. So huge and intricate at the same time... They really are great monuments to history and the many nameless creators and builders!

Howdy sir bengy! wow what a great trip with so many cool things to see and do! Even a chocolate factory, you can't beat it. Great photos but now you're going to have to get a newer car too. lol. upgrade the motorised shopping cart!

Ha ha... Sadly, the car was only a hire car! We had to give it back... But it was a pleasure to drive whilst we had it!

I've been to Cologne a few times as my parents had friends in Krefeld. Though it's years since my last visit.
Chocolate-covered strawberries on a stick! No wonder your daughter looks so happy!

Yes, she was pretty happy about it! Less happy a couple of hours later when she was freezing cold!

Sounds like a very successful trip @bengy! Why hasn't anyone come up with beer popsicles? Beer on a stick!

That cathedral is huge! and very beautiful; love all the Christmas lights too. And I had no idea

Dusseldorf is home to a huge population of Japanese

Funny how having kids along changes so much about when to eat, how long can we wait etc. Actually, they change just about everything, don't they? but ask any parent, and they wouldn't change a thing ...depending on the day haha

Glad the trip was a success :)

Yeah, kids are really bulldozers through your established life! But I guess, I wouldn't change... After all, they are one of my long term retirement plans!

hahaha yes they are! I've gotta say that when I was in your shoes, there were days that felt terribly long, but the years flew by. Now, my boys are in their early twenties, and it's such a pleasure (and a relief:), to see them as adults...kind, caring, and capable adults.

Enjoy all the craziness because before you know it, it's over. I still kill myself laughing, thinking of you waking up in the middle of the night with your toddler staring at you haha It's not much of a comparison, but I wake up with my kitten doing the same ... except she also licks my eyelids ...something I hope your toddler does not do :)

i love that golden chocolate tree, that is the highlight to me

It was a flowing chocolate fountain! And there were workers dipping wafers into the chocolate and handing them out! It was great!

Oh, weihnachtsmarkt! How schoen sind euer Gluhwein!

Only for my wife! Sadly, I was driving...

Leider!

Posted using Partiko Android

Leider!

Posted using Partiko Android

Strawberries on a stick, covered in chocolate? Where do I sign in? And put my name up for that beer on a stick. I wan't to be on the front seat for testing it! :-D

Nice post, @bengy!

Yep, strawberries on a stick with chocolate is totally the best thing... Although, I'm starting to wonder if beer on a stick really was a good idea or not..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55