ANCHOR (⚓) – NIFES’ Daily Devotional For Today

in #christianity6 years ago

image

Date: Thursday 21st June, 2018.

Topic: An Uncertain Future

Bible Reading: Ruth 1: 14–18 (The Holy Bible, New Living Translation®. Copyright 2007 © by Tyndale House Publishers.)

  1. And again they wept together, and Orpah kissed her mother-in-law good-bye. But Ruth clung tightly to Naomi.

  2. “Look,” Naomi said to her, “your sister-in-law has gone back to her people and to her gods. You should do the same.”

  3. But Ruth replied, “Don’t ask me to leave you and turn back. Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God.

  4. Wherever you die, I will die, and there I will be buried. May the Lord punish me severely if I allow anything but death to separate us!”

  5. When Naomi saw that Ruth was determined to go with her, she said nothing more.

Word for Today: But Ruth replied, “Don’t ask me to leave you and turn back. Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God. – v. 16.

Inspiring Commentary:

Ruth was however, exceptional. She dared to embark on a journey to an uncertain future – a journey of faith. The kind earlier demonstrated by our father of faith, Abraham (Genesis 12:1). Leaving home, parents and all you have ever known to an uncertain and unknown destination can only be motivated by faith. Ruth was a woman of faith.

Don’t ask me to leave you she protested, “Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God.” She was determined to keep the promise, though the stakes were high. This is the kind of faith the Lord desires of us if our labour would ever count in eternity. Jesus said, if anyone will come after me, he must hate his father, mother, brothers and sisters and indeed even his own life. If anyone seeks to save his life he will lose it.

Today we have workers in the vineyard of the Lord that are ready to go so far, as long as suffering is not involved. May God raise for us men and women with the spirit of Ruth, ready to go all the way.

Prayer: Help me Lord to examine my heart, to know if Christ is my first priority at all times and at all cost.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

This post has been upvoted by @minibot with 11.1%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @minibot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @danoskie.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @danoskie.

This post has been upvoted by @nanobot with 9.0%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @nanobot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

You just received a 6.90% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @danoskie!
WaveSmall.gif

This post has been upvoted by @millibot with 9.9%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @millibot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

This post has been upvoted by @microbot with 9.0%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

Great post! You've earned a 21.47% upvote from @dolphinbot
Join the DolphinBot Team for Daily Payouts in Steem! Click here: http://bit.ly/dolphinbot

How Cool!

You got a 12.50% upvote from @coolbot courtesy of @danoskie!

Help us grow, delegate today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74