My Steemit Challenge: Closing the past, moving on to the future

in #christian-trail7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steem-ians,

At first when I was starting this post, I started with disappointment, frustration, disbelieve that something that was thought cleard 18 years ago, yes 18 YEARS ago, was still trying to haunt me and tarnish my reputation.

I started with s disbelieve and wanted to seek for justice. Because it started when I cancelled my Maxis bill in November 2000 and took for granted , thinking everything was settled, but apparently it was not.

I fought with Maxis with frustration and wanted to sue them back in 2011 when they decided to send debt collectors to harass me daily vis SMS and phone calls; and during that time the Maxis billing collection manager called back to apologise, because I saw it at TTDI Maxis station, the account was closed and anything after that being billed is not my fault, and in 2011, to check pass records I have to pay 100 and wait for 2 weeks just to have things settled.

Of course, during that time, I refused because I specifically saw the status of the account was closed.

Fast forward to 2018, when I, maybe, finally, could acquire a home for me and my parents, thinking that harassing past in 2008 and 2011 were settled. (Yes, they have complaint records for me recorded that the harassment was inappropriate)

Unfortunately, Maxis has decided to report me to CTOS (Credit Tip-Off Service) that I am not a good pay master although my CCRIS report (please see my past post) is squeaky clean.

My name was never cleared and I kept believing it was pure misunderstanding.

Until today.

I called up the Billing collection department of Maxis after realising the bank rejected my qualification for application for a mortgage for that outstanding bill, which has mounted up to $1,000 USD (late payment charges and summon).

The really nice and helpful miss Lin was very patient with my plea and she said she will do her very best to check my records.

20 minutes later, she called me back and I found out a few crucial points:

I was a fool.

 

So how did it start?

Back in 2000, I was asked by my very close friend to join his new found company in Kuala Lumpur when he came back to recruit young programmers to start up this web development during the dot.com era.

Unfortunately this company that was founded in Singapore but branched in Malaysia, turn its back on us.

When I came back from my brother's wedding in October 2000 with the news that the company declared bankrupcy and I was left hanging with outstanding 3 months of salary.

We were fools because we did not submit to EPF (Employment Provision Fund) and so I could not demand my outstanding pay and labour law couldn't do anything.

That was step 1 of a fool

Step 2 was when we requested to establish a KL branch, trusting my good friend I applied a telephone line in our condo (with all my colleagues staying together).

My friend (who was one of the director) was in charge of settling the telephone bills and when he told me the news he told me he has settled it and I believed him.

Aparently not.

 
Why was I dragged into it? As we were setting up our "R & D branch" in the condominium for 6 months (before we found an office unit to move) it was easier for me to apply since I am residence in Malaysia, while my good friend is a foreigner.

Being innocent and trusted my friend (as we were previously colleagues for 2 years prior, and I knew him since college) because he never had a bad reputation since the early years we met.

And in November 2000, when I went to cancel my account (apparently at a post office, I always thought it was the Maxis center) that particular account actually had 3 months prior where the bill was never settled.

As the same my salary was never received.

And this outstanding was never cleared.

I was plead guilty (of all charges) without me even knowing it.

 
So what do I do now?

Angry?

Frustrated?

Felt betrayed?

Seek for justince?

 
None of the above.

I know I have been fooled for I was a fool. I have also wrongly accused Maxis (though they were really incompetent to find out records in 2011 - maybe lack of experience and record archives) and I should apologise.

And I did apologise to the nice Collection officer miss Lin (as Maxis' representative) that I have wronged them entirely.

I also know I was a fool for not checking lose ends when I closed my account due to lack of experience.

But that doesn't mean I should curse the person who was supposed to be in charge of settling the bill, my own friend who I trusted, who later had leukemia but in remission in 2002 and we lost contact ever since.

What has happened, has happened.

What is outstanding, must be settled.

In the Bible during the period of the Roman Empire when Jesus was ministering, the Pharisees tried to trick Jesus with the taxation question and was recorded in the book of Luke; and that was when I first opened the bible and read it.
(How I got into Luke, that is another story to tell)

And what Jesus' answered was the beginning of my curiosity to know more about this Jesus because how he intelligently twisted their question back to them.

And the key scripture...

He said to them, “Then render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.”
Luke 20:25

...will forever be in my head, as vivid as when I first read it.

And even though it was not supposed to be me who should be settling the debt of my friend, but it was under my name; and so, I shall render to Caesar the things that are Caesar's .

I will pay off what is owed under my name to Maxis.

Even though I have now an extra almost 1,000 USD debt to clear, but my heart is at peace. I have now closed my chapter that was outstanding 18 years ago and I can move forward.

I am now 1,000 short in my down payment, but I know

My God will supply all my needs

 
Because I did the right thing, and admit the foolish past that I have done.

(Moreover in a transparent blockchain where this post will stay in the Internet forever. haha.)

And I have no more scratched past anymore.

Perhaps this is how God teaches us in life.

If there was a wrong in the past, settle it, close it, and move forward for there is a new dawn ahead.

There is nothing to be upset about, for I am still alive and healthy. What is lost, will be replenished. It is not the end of the world.

So now I will pray, and stand firm, with fingers crossed (haha) that nothing else will hinder me and my 3.5% booking fee will not be wasted.

Maybe you have something in your past, that was wronged and was never closed properly. And I hope through this sharing it gives you a way to find your own closure.

Closure will bring peace to your soul.

Closure with the LORD with you will bring liberation in your spirit even.

I know @mellisanatasha will read and verify this is true because during the whole process while I was talking to Miss Lin, she was right beside me.

I am very thankful that God's favour and mercy was with me. He sent the nicest officer to show me the ugly truth.

With that, I am most grateful; and this is my #gratefulvibes moment.

Thank You for Your Time

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.

Sort:  

God always help his children!

Amen to that @blacklux .
He will provide and replenish. I know He will. ;)

Thank you so much for stopping by

Good and the right attitude to adopt. You have turned the negative side of the story to positive side. Everything has its good side and bad side. it very much depends on how we look at things. No matter how bad the condition you in, there is always a way out and that's the good side you looking at.

Thanks for the kind words @kokuryo . ^_^
We always have a choice.
We are made with freedom to choose.
And since it is already the past, even if it burns a big hole in my wallet, it is better to have a closure so that banks will not black list me for 1 bill that lasted 18 years.

破财挡灾.

OMG
That's some serious money.
Stay strong, never stop. You are right that the best revenge is always showing them you are never better. Jiayous !!!!

Yeah. Thanks for always being supporting @jun04035 , especially when I need to send some home to my mom and you supported the DSES lifestyle to keep my boat afloat.

No problem at all, my friend!

oh my. I can't even imagine what you're going through. I, for one, wil be the quickest to stand up for justice when it comes to myself! like I've mentioned before, I'm gifted in complaining and putting blame on others. your story has definitely inspired me to take the high road. it's much easier to do the more difficult thing when you had real life heroes doing it. it's a huge amount for me. but to trade that for peace. I'm sure you're glad you did it. keep on keeping on. when times are tough. I really believe that God will make a way. take care. and I'll be watching this space ;)

Hey @calebleejl , that exactly happened to me in 2008 and 2011, when they decided to send the Ah Longs to come after me via SMS and phone calls and even say
"I know where you are staying now" threats.

But since now I know the truth, although I still do not agree what Maxis did last time was right (hiring professional debt collectors ), hail to the programmers who finally got the archived system up and running for the billing collection department to access; plus the right officer who helped me; I decided not to waste my time fighting for something as far as 18 years back by my own instead of letting God guide and help me in the future to settle that extra debt that fell on my shoulder.

And, be wiser too.

As the proverbs warned.

Don't agree to guarantee another person's debt or put up security for someone else.
Proverbs 22:26

I know what that means now.

Because only Jesus can handle that. Not us humans.

Thanks so much for your time and your kind words @calebleejl
(Your surname is Lee, yes?)

I can't believe it's that scary. how Maxis handles things. I pray that it's finally over for you now. let go and let God. may your story be a powerful testimony for others in the future!

yes my surname is Lee :)

i hope after that complaint Maxis will do better.
Now I pray that my CTOS is clear tomorrow and I can go ahead with mortgage check with my local bank and see how it goes.

keep you in my prayers. keep us updated about the CTOS thing. would like to know about it for my own understanding as well :)

Hope these upvotes helped a bit

hope so too big bro @bitrocker2020 . Now I hope that SBD stays mooning so I can quickly settle my debt. haha...Thanks so much for stopping by bro.

OMG @littlenewthings! I lost count how many times I said "Amen" when I read your post! It was exactly what I needed to hear to finally put a closure to something that had bothered me since last week.

"Never let anyone or any issue that wronged you in the past prevent you from moving forward"

Soo sooo true..I shall write this on a sticky pad to remind myself that it's time to let go of the past and move on. Forgiveness is better than sacrifice.

I pray that your housing loan will be approved soon and you will finally be able to realise your dream. God will never fail us. We just have to learn to let go and trust Him. Upvoted!

I am really glad that this sharing has helped you to find your closure that bothered you since last week.
God has His very unique intentional ways when He allows us to face trials and challenges in our path.

It not only help us grow, but our experiences could help someone else in the future.

And I am pretty sure your uncomfortable experiences last week, will soon be a powerful testimony for others who struggles in your same season of time

Thank you so much for making time and your encouraging words @karinzdailygrind.

SOmetimes you have to do certain things in life that need to be done. Being at peace with yourself definitely outweighs the long term stress you may have put yourself through.

You are definitely right on that.
I feel no more frustration and want to seek justice for my scratched ego haha.

Closures are very important in our lives.
And sometimes it requires making hard decisions that bring peace in our mind and our soul.

Thank you so much for your visit @goldendawne

It is at last a wining situation after some failure and mistakes. It is what they say a man who learn from his mistake is wise but who repites it is a fool. So you are wise to come all your mistakes and learn from them to wealth.

You are most certainly right on that @dawitnet .

We all must admit our mistakes and learn from it. That will help us grow to be better human beings.

Big hugs to you ❤️

thanks girl girl.
BIG HUG.
How was your PS revival concert and conference?

I miss kaima steam egg ❤️😘 I miss you & I miss kaiyeh. How is kaiyeh? Is he alright?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59