Lord, I believe, help my unbelief | When Loss Challenges Faith: The gift of trial

A memory popped up on my Facebook feed today which was a powerful moment in my Christian faith and I thought I would share it with you all today.

19961484_10155359201976855_8368485249819939238_n (2).jpg

A year ago today I was praying out loud to God on behalf of my daughter Lumina. I was asking God that she would be perfectly healthy, long lived and joyful, but also I was asking God to help her know, love and serve Jesus.

As I said my prayer Lumina scoffed loudly! Now, she's never been particularly vocal, and particularly a year ago she was very often quiet, but in that moment she was both verbal and perfectly clear. She had heard my prayers and was challenging me!

As if to say, dad, you know that a life worth living isn't clean and easy. And, it's through difficulty that we come to have the most possible from life. And often it's only through the darkness that we reach for the hope and life available in Jesus.

God Shouts to us in our Pain:

eeaba36bf4558b4b4d2917eaba8ca8be.jpg

The thing is... I believe that deep joy, appreciation, and genuine satisfaction are a result of persavering life's mess yet all I could say to Lumina was, "I know it's silly to pray for life without difficulty but it's what I want for you." I cried. We cuddled. I felt Jesus with us.

My prayer for us all today:

Mark 9:24 English Standard Version (ESV)
24 Immediately the father of the child cried out[a] and said, “I believe; help my unbelief!”'

Jesus let us have joy and peace and life but more than all these things help us remember, these are only gifts, not the giver. God let us have you, let us desire you. Lord, burn away all in us that refuses to surrender to your love, grace and mercy, for my hands cannot receive your gift of life while I clench my fists obstinately closed.

Php2.jpg

gn20180228124250.jpg

Lord thank you that you work all things for your glory and our good, thank you that you are a good Father, thank you that you stand with us in our suffering, and that you promise to wipe every tear and bring justice to every offense. Thank you that in Jesus, who lived, died and rose again, we have our ransom.

Father help me to believe and seek faithfully the heart described by the Apostle Paul.

Philippians 2:17 English Standard Version (ESV)
17 Even if I am to be poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrificial offering of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all.

#wonderfullydifficult
#grateful #noteasy #lifeabundant #praiseJesus

button_upvote-comment-resteem-follow.png

Sort:  

Hello friend, it's good to see so much love, hope and faith in a single image and with this, everything is achieved in life. Thank you for your prayer for all, blessings and wisdom for you and your family a big hug.

Gracias @yosicrespo yo queiro leer tus escribiendos, gracias

sera un gusto amigo.

Greetings friend a hug for the beautiful lumina, and thanks to the difficulties of life we ​​get the best and make us become great people, beautiful words friend.

I agree. It doesnt mean all pain is good, or even that we wish for pain, but when it comes, if we trust God, we can walk defiantly in confidence that we will overcome, and we will be stronger for it.

Hi, friend, how are you? It is very good that photography, your words are also excellent, you always have to have a lot of faith, believe in Jesus our Lord, since he will always give us a reason to smile at life, thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful publication with us , greetings to you and your wonderful family ... !!!

Your words make me smile... :)

thank you very much friend, I'm glad to know.

God at all times is present, is by your side supporting you.
He sends the hardest tests to his strongest warriors and lifts him up and makes them winners, you're a brave man.
Full blessings for the family.
Faith and faith, my friend.

Thanks. What you say is what I think about my daughter and her disease.

God loves her (john3:16). God knew her before she was born and knows her capability (psalm 139) and uses her for His glory and her good (romans 8).

That combination means He knew she would be capable of bearing this cross. As you say, God knows us and uses us as He sees fit, and so behind the veil of the world she is a powerful warrior of God.

Congratulations @infidel1258! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86