What Song Did You Walk Down the Aisle to When You Got Married? Here is Mine - Soulful Sunday by A Panama Mama

in #christian-trail7 years ago (edited)

Last week I shared with you my favorite Bible verse and one of my favorite pictures that I have taken in Panama. Joshua 1:9 has always been a favorite verse of mine and give me comfort knowing that the Lord is always with me.

Do you like hymns?

I have a favorite hymn that I have always loved singing. When I was younger, we would have 5th Sunday singing at church and sometimes they would do requests. I would always ask for hymn #255. My most recent church in Texas also sang hymns with an actual hymnal! Thankfully I get to hear hymns as part of our homeschooling, but I still miss singing them each week.

251244_10150654635485035_555951_n.jpg

My Favorite Hymn

My favorite hymn is called "Sweet Sweet Spirit." I love it so much, I had it sung when I walked down the aisle to get married. It is very special to me for no reason in particular. I just love the way it sounds and the words it uses.

Listen

What song did you walk down the aisle to at your wedding?

If you could pick any song, which one would you walk down the aisle to? Let me know in the comments!

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Soulful Sunday will be brought to you here every Sunday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for quotes, poems, songs and verses to jump start your week.
If you have a comment, feel free to leave me a reply.
Thanks for visiting! Have a God blessed day!

Sort:  

We had a hymn sing at church today, and it was simply glorious.

My wife and I walked down the aisle to a song called, ‘I Do.’ It is a country song that walks through the emotions of committing to the one you love.

Very cool. I just love (some of) the old hymns. :) I'll have to look that song up. Sounds nice!

My brother plays piano, so he played Pachelbel's Canon for my wife to walk down the aisle in our wedding. We exited to Stevie Wonder's For Once in My Life, which is definitely a fun song. No hymns, but I can definitely appreciate their use at many weddings.

I grew up singing hymns. The hymn writers all have such incredible background stories. Fanny Crosby, Philip Bliss, William Cowper, and John Newton, just to name a few, all were brilliant lyricists. So brilliant, in fact, that many popular praise and worship songs borrow or directly copy lyrics from hymns.

As an example, Christian artist Matt Maher just released a new album this past Friday, and several of his songs are based on hymns. It's great to me to see how songs written hundreds of years ago still find relevance today, largely because they're based in biblical truth.

I play in the worship band at my church, and we've talked about writing some of our own songs. I suggested we just crack open a hymnal and we'd be all set.

Thanks for sharing.

@originalworks

Thanks for sharing this.

That is cool that your brother played the piano for your wife to walk in to! Nice! We exited to mariachis - thanks to my time doing mission work in Mexico. :) They also played at our reception. It was a lot of fun...11 years ago! :)
I think it is really interesting that a lot of modern praise has some of the same lyrics as older hymns. And some of the hymn writers do have amazing stories. I have a book with some of their stories in my library. Need to read through it sometime!
I have heard of Matt Maher, I'll have to check out the link. That's cool that you play in a worship band! Have a good one!

Sweet ! Okay so I just had the traditional Here Comes
The Bride ... :)

I walked down the stairs, as we got married in a manor house in Hawick, to "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" It was definitely one of happiest days of my life. It was a shame it didn't last.

Glad it was a happy day. My wedding was a lot of fun too!

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

All the feels! Pachebel's Canon in D, I love it! Not very original but I didn't care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65