My Typical Lunch This Month, Chinese Style Chinese Food. Typical Don Bei Canteen Food.

in #china7 years ago

I say Chinese style because many people come here to find that Chinese food is nothing like the Chinese food back home.

This is not exactly all the best Dalian in north eastern China has to offer but for a decent non expensive lunch during work these meals sure do the job. A restaurant like this is pretty much the same way a cafeteria looks and works in North America. They have a large selection of cooked dishes and you can choose which dishes you want to eat. So anyone can come and probably find a dish they will like.

Here we have pork meatballs, one of my favourite dishes though I have had it better at other places. Fried eggs and tomato something I can easily cook, I mean it's eggs and tomato. Vegetable fried rice which was pretty good and not something you can easily mess up. It cost 35RMB or less than $5US for everything. Quick and easy perfect for lunch hour rush.

Pork Dumplings and Hot Pumpkin Juice

Well dumplings are a classic in China. You don't have to walk far anywhere to find dumplings. On the other hand finding hot pumpkin juice isn't at all too common. The only other place I have had it was at a Korean roast duck restaurant downtown Dalian. Lot's of Koreans here so it's easy to find really good restaurants.

Another Delicious Canteen Meal

Here we have the fried rice again, the steamed rice here sucks. Also something I think translates to Winter Mellon* fried with some type of fungus called "Mu'r* which I really like as well. Winter melon isn't sweet but some how it fits in to the melon family. Kind of like a giant zucchini with a crunchier texture, it taste kind of bland by it's self but fried in spices it's up there on my favourite list.

This is pork belly and tofu. It's one of those dishes that they slow cook for hours. By far one the least healthy things I enjoy. I see other westerners pick away at the fatty bits but damn it's so good, it eat all and walk the long way home. It's salty and sweet and super tender. Nice big chunks of firm tofu was a nice touch.

Everyday it's something different. One thing about Chinese cuisine is you can eat something different everyday every meal and not eat the same thing twice for a year at least. However who does that?

Sort:  

I have always found this the most interesting thing.

American chinese is really really different from real chinese.
All the chinese from China tell me so.

Its like the difference between Taco Hell and real Mexican.


The other big thing is that China is big! Huge! And there is lots of regional deviation.

The chinese food here in the states is supposedly copied from one tiny area (which i cannot remember the name).

most chinese food is Hong Kong style and HK style is kind of to the British tastes, sorta southern China but without the super spicy touches. It's true if Taco Bell was anything like Mexican food it would have a very different menu and flavour. lol

Excellent post sir...exactly chinese food is more delicious than any types of food i think & also very nutritious fr health....

Thnxxxx fr sharing...😃😃☺☺👌👌👌✌✌

Yea, some of it can be quite healthy. They seem to get all the nutrients one needs but then smoother in oil. lol

really nice food man... it's goona be so yummy i must say😍

I loved the distinction between Chinese food in china and Chinese food "back home". The very first time I oh-so-carefully cooked Thai food for my then Thai husband, he asked me "what country is this food from?" haha.... such diversity!! I still cook Indo-Malay-Thai for my half Thai daughter here in Thailand and the ex-husband is long gone. :)

Indo-Malay food... I would never know the difference. hehe, I love Pad Thai and Goon Tod, not to sure about Malay food yet. Do share some of the foods you cook for your daughter. Sucks ur husband took off, maybe its for the best.

great post sir. it's a very delicious chinese food. i love food. thanks for @solarguy

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 37.64% upvote!
I was summoned by solarguy. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

好吃!Happy you can enjoy "real Chinese food". You will find many different flavours and dishes in China - most are not sweet like the food of Hong Kong or Shanghai. I don't like this sweet flavour. I like dongbei cai (东北菜)or xian la wei (咸辣味)this means a salt and spice taste

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84